We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to miss”
Review of Cafe Ranieri

Cafe Ranieri
Ranked #70 of 234 Restaurants in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Sorsele, Sweden
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not to miss”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

My daughter and I went here by chance on our first, and again on our last, evening in Valletta. We only regret we didn't go there every evening. Fabulously friendly staff and decent enough food of which I had two local variations on cooked rabbit (tastes a bit like chicken) and my daughter salmon pasta and grilled salmon (tastes a lot like salmon), all very tasty! The place itself isn't particularly luxurious, but this is more than made up for by the excellent service. Don't miss it when in Valletta!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mats N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    118
    40
    19
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex, U.K.
Level Contributor
116 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“distinctly below average”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Only went in for a spot of lunch, maybe dinner would have been better - sandwiches served with the minutest portion of salad which was tired and certainly not freshly prepared, plus coffees. Busy with tourists but sluggish and indifferent service suggested they were not really bothered about return custom.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sidleyranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

had a great time stayed in valletta for a week and found this restaurant on the third day and went every night after that..great food and staff very happy .wide menu choice with reasonable price . great place to eat also lots of locals eat there which proves it

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gasman47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good food and service with a smile”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

What more could we want, the food was excellent, very good portion sizes. We visited four times during the week we were in Valletta, Robert and all other staff were brilliant, giving good service with a smile.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a pleasure”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

For the third year in a row we visited Ranieri's. The welcome was as friendly as ever, and the food was a delight. With a choice of Pizza's, pasta's,salads, Maltese specialities and lots more there was a wide menu for all. Service was first class with the complimentary bruschetta a delicious opening to the meal. Value for money was excellent and by returning a number of times throughout the week we were able to taste a lot of the menu. Both waiters made us feel like valued customers and I am already looking forward to returning to Ranieri's on my next visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank J0hn_C621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Ranieri also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Cafe Ranieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing