We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Another World”
other travellers have booked this property
Enter a caption for your photo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter a caption for your photo
Balcony It is all about Lifestyle
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
89 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
Balcony
It is all about Lifestyle
Sunset
Kitchen and Eating
Bedroom
Balcony View
The Side balcony Architectural view
Street level view of where you want to be...
Living area
Bathroom
Eating with a view
Enjoy the Sunny side of Valletta
Sunset Balcony View
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Your chance to be here
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Valletta, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 89 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
WestMidla...
West Midlands
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Another World”
Reviewed 9 December 2011 for a stay in December 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Just got back from a week's stay in Malta. Old Theatre Lane was the ideal place to stay in Valletta. Valletta is a lovely city and we were so glad we chose to base ourselves there. The apartment has an astonishing view and is extremely well equipped. We were only able to take advantage of the balcony on a few occasions but if the weather had been slightly warmer an ideal place for a little 'aperitivo' or post prandial. Only one slight problem and I suppose in old buildings it is to be expected, the water pressure in the shower was not high enough.
Alexander was a text away if needed, which he wasn't.
A really enjoyable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View and position
Liked least: Shower
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reda, Poland
Reviewed 16 October 2011 for a stay in October 2011
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: taking care for details
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
robpfrase...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Wonderful”
Reviewed 11 September 2011 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

The location of this apartment is perfect, having amazing views across Marsamxett habour and being on the edge of Valetta town centre which is stunningly pretty. Water taxis and the Silema ferry run from a habourside stop just below the apartment meaning access to the more modern and busier Silema and St Julians is easy.

The apartment has all the modern facilities you would need but still retains the character of the older building it is housed in. Tastefully decorated it felt like a home from home (we wish!) and sitting on the balcony each morning and evening became second nature and was probably the most enjoying part of our break.

The owner, Alexander, was charming and helpful before our arrival and on departure and we couldn't have wished for a better place to base ourselves on Malta.

We can't recommend Old Theatre Lane, Valetta and Malta more highly and if we return then we wouldn't settle for staying anywhere else.

Rob & Sonia - Birmingham, England

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goochy01
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What more do you need?”
Reviewed 24 July 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a wonderful week in Valletta.
Communication with Alexander was excellent before & during our holiday and a chilled bottle of wine on arrival set the chilled out atmosphere for the week.
The apartment is in an excellent location with superb views over the harbour. I've never spent so much time on holiday sitting on a balcony watching boats, yachts, ferries!
There was only a little traffice noise during the day and quiet at night. The kitchen has everything you can think of and forget packing the hairdryer - this one is great.
A 2 minute walk up the old steps takes you into the city centre and 10 minutes from the bus station. You're spoilt for choice for buses around the Island but there are teething problems with the new buses due to a lack of drivers. Mdina took 30 minutes to reach but Cirkewwa for the Gozo ferry took 1hr 45 mins but was still worth the trip. I look forward to visiting Malta and staying at this appartment again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne123
Reading UK
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Perfect base in Valletta”
Reviewed 6 June 2011 for a stay in November 2010

We really wanted to be based in Valletta for our holiday in Malta last November, but couldn't find a hotel to our taste. This apartment was ideal for us though! I wanted to write a review when we got home, but tripadvisor told me it wasn't possible to do this for an apartment. Still, better late than never!

Old Theatre Lane is excellently located steps from very good restaurants and with easy walking to everywhere in Valletta. Don't be put off by the reputed steepness of Valletta, it's really not that bad and the hills are short. There are fantastic sea views from every window of the apartment, and a lovely balcony with a dual aspect. We enjoyed taking a glass of wine out there in the evenings.

There was everything we needed (including wifi), and the apartment has been beautifully modernised while retaining charming original features. It's well maintained, furnished and decorated. The owner was very helpful, and communication with him was excellent both before our visit and during it when there was a slight problem with the electrics. The apartment is on the third floor of the building, so would not suit the disabled or mobility impaired.

A ten minute walk to the bus station gave easy access to the whole island and the many wonderful sights to be seen. Malta is a very easy place to visit for English speakers as the close connections in the past mean that most people speak at least some English, very helpful if you need guidance about the buses, or to find the way to a historical site. The weather was perfect too!

Highly recommended, and we hope to return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 May 2011 for a stay in May 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 May 2011 for a stay in April 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Tourists Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing