We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a shopping stop”
Review of 282 Coffee Garden - CLOSED

282 Coffee Garden
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good for a shopping stop”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The location is very central so it makes it the perfect stop either on your way out from or in to Valletta. They serve the normal fare which is normally served in most coffee shops - quality is nothing extraordinary but edible. I prefer staying upstairs as there are sofas and it's much more comfortable and quiet.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fairyjany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    23
    39
    24
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good place for coffee and ice cream”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This is one of several restaurants and coffee shops along Republic Street. It's a nice place to stop for coffee and ice cream and sit in the street. Upstairs in quite atmospheric, and there is a stairlift. The toilet is just about adequate but nothing to write home about (unless you write really boring letters home, but you don't do you?).

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul's Bay, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Daylight Robbery”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Just had a Ham & Cheese Pie and a Fresh Orange Juice. First I asked for some salt, the waiter took it from other patrons who were eating next to the table I was, and gave them to me. After a couple of minutes he came over, took the salt etc, to give them to other patrons. I complained as I still had no food so I couldn't have used the salt yet. He came back with the salt. Then started eating the pie. First bit was stone cold on the inside. Had to return it, wasting my break time, to wait for them to heat it in a 'microwave'. Pie was 70% pastry and 30% filling. Orange juice was served in a very small glass, un-sieved, full with seeds. The best part was when I went to pay and was asked for 5 Euros - 2.50 for the pie and 2.50 for the orange juice. Daylight robbery - cannot be put plainer than that, when compared to others shops which I recommed like Jubilee near the Courts.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Little Restaurant”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My Wife, Myself and our Son Jason have been going to this restaurant for many years. Denise who usually serves us is brilliant. Our Jason is Mentally and Physically Handicapped and Denise always talks to Jason and has a laugh with him. The food here is great with excellent service, so if you want a good meal with great service go to 282 Garden in Valleta!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MickyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“pizza lover”
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

This coffee shop has got a nice atmosphere especially upstairs.the staff can be more friendly and convenient though as I find myself dealing with grumpy waiters. But the pizza is just perfect! The crust is thin and crispy with just the right amount of tomato sauce & mozzarella and youf choice of toppings. Hygiene can improve too

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anastasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 282 Coffee Garden also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing