We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food very reasonably priced with wonderful service”
Review of Guze Bistro

Guze Bistro
Ranked #10 of 242 Restaurants in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$53
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: g u z é in the heart of Malta's capital Valletta serves local dishes with a twist. You will be dining in a 400-year-old historical building built by the Knights of St John.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food very reasonably priced with wonderful service”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We visited this restaurant twice during our stay and both times had a great meal. The service was attentive without being overbearing - indeed after commenting on the food the chef took the time to come to the table and chat to us.
It was without doubt the best restaurant we visited during our stay in Malta.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank superlion1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,656 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,249
    295
    75
    20
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Quite simply one of the best meals I've eaten.
We turned up without a booking and were happy to be immediately seated (although it is small, so a booking is probably recommended). Lovely atmospheric interior, and excellent service.
The amuse-bouche and mains were outstanding (I had the lamb shanks and my boyfriend had the fillet of aged beef with truffle), and the dessert was one of the best I've had - simple fresh figs with caramelised vanilla sugar and a glass of dessert wine.
The owner and waiter were both very friendly and professional, and my only regret is that we were in Valletta only one night and couldn't return to try more of the menu!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MJK1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food in a lovely setting”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Guze produces beautiful food (at reasonable prices) in a lovely intimate setting. I would suggest booking in advance as there aren't a huge amount of covers and it was fully booked even on the a Monday evening.

My pork cooked three ways (pork belly, cheek and loin) was perfectly presented and tasted amazing. My boyfriends streak looked equally as good and was huge! For pudding I opted for panna cotta, which although, had a perfect consistency to it and was wonderfully creamy, I was rather jealous of my boyfriend baked walnut cheesecake!

Service was very attentive and overall a great experience. Would definitely go back and recommend

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gemmag350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We picked this restaurant as it was the No. 1 in Valletta and it was easy to see why. The general ambiance is lovely and pretty unique for the area and the food easily lived up to expectations. I had a heavy cold and after 10 minutes asked if we could move table because of the slight draft from an air-conditioning fan. Despite having already started our meal, this was cheerfully arranged without any problem. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Valerchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Soooooooo good!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

During our 10 day stay in Malta - Valetta, we have visited all the top rated restaurants and this was one of our favourites that we went to twice during our short stay. Prawn risotto has to be one of the best meals I have ever had! We tried all the appetizers and different types of mains and were just so impressed with the food, the friendly service and just the overall experience. Restaurant is charming and beautifully decorated and it's the first place I will go back to if I get a chance to go back to Valetta!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paula_dubrovnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Guze Bistro also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Guze Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing