We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury with style”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Phoenicia Malta
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Reviewed 29 July 2011

My wife and I spent 3 nights here in July and would definitely recommend it. Check-in was efficient and the room comfortable and clean. We'd opted for sea view room which did indeed have a spectacular view of the harbour but was rather on the small side. Location is great, right next to the bus station (noise not a problem on "our" side of the hotel) and only 100 metres or so from the gate into the walled city itself. Buffet style breakfasts were great; even "champagne" was available and included. Meals can be taken outside on the patio which is pleasant but a little spoilt by the glass wind break. Dinner in the bistro was reasonable quality but the bench seating is far from ideal. The pool area is adequate but not enticing, we gave it a miss. Over-all a very convenient and satisfactory choice and we'd be happy to return.....soon!

Room Tip: Opt for the quieter sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Munro-Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,547 - 1,553 of 2,270 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2011

Hotel with history of the time when people had different values, helpful staff, great restaurant, rooms good but maybe a little tired. Reminds one of the good old fashioned values which count for little with many people nowadays.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snoopybrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

if you want good old fashioned elegance and service look no further than the Phoenecia.
We sayed for 4 nights in July. Room was basic but clean. Harbour view was fantastic.
Breakfast was excellent, good choice and fresh. The maitre d and chef at breakfast, both deserve a special mention as theh both made you feel special and as though you were regular guests although we had not stopped there before.
Dined once in the brasserie. Food really good with excellent service. Bar likewise calm and relaxed wih a colonial style that could not be bettered.
If you are looking for a modern non-descript modern hotel don't bother with the Phoenecia. if however you wish to transport yourself into a bygone era of elegance and service then you won't be disappointed

Room Tip: Go for the harbour view it is worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fussyhotelguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We have just returned from two weeks at the excellent Hotel Phoenicia.I have never left a review before but thought I must on this occasion. The transfer from the airport was a short trip (but there is no aircraft noise at all once in Valletta) and as we were the first to be dropped off many of the other passengers cast envious looks at us as we entered the hotel, and well they might.
It is a charming hotel with staff to match, we had a room on the second floor which is apparently yet to be refurbished. The room was absolutely fine anyway and the house keeping throughout the hotel was second to none. Breakfast was a delight, including Champagne for those who wanted it!, sitting on the open terrace before wandering down to the pool area through the attractive gardens which again was excellent. There were always available sunbeds so none of the ritual towel laying which I hate.The food was very good at the hotel but there are also plenty of restaurants within easy reach if you want to stretch your legs. The city gates and the bus terminus are a short level walk from the Phoenicia as are many of the historic and beautiful buildings of Valletta. As I say all the staff of the Phoenicia are a credit to the hotel but I must mention Sebastian on Concierge for whom nothing was too much trouble and any request for help and advice was always met with a smile.We look forward to going back to Malta again and we will be staying at the Phoenicia when we do.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jamessmith1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

The Phoenicia is one of those rare old hotels still permeated by a sense of its past and retaining a degree of under-stated elegance. This is particularly evident in the graceful Palm Court Lounge and Club Bar festooned with sepia photographs and where, thankfully, all has not been sacrificed on the alter of technology and 5 star bling! The pool is set in acres of delightful gardens with a panoramic view of the harbour, providing a welcome retreat from frenetic Valletta together with most excellent home made lemonade and sangria. The staff at all levels are 100% efficient and attentive but at the same time discreet and welcoming. A very high standard of entertainment was provided by a pianist in the lounge and we can highly recommend the Sunday evening barbecue held on the terrace, where there was a superb selection of food on offer accompanied unobtrusively by two talented young guitarists and a display of fireworks across the harbour. A delicious congratulatory cake appeared in our room on our wedding anniversary.
At the instigation of some other trip-advisor members we specifically requested a room which had NOT been refurbished. Room 201 is timelessly beautiful with 2 balconies and a slightly shabby-chic colonial feel to it with its old-style wicker furniture and marble floor. (The bedding being some of the best we have ever slept in). We were slightly concerned at some of the contemporary furniture and floral wallpaper we saw in the pictures of re-furbished rooms on the hotel web-site, and which appeared to be devoid of character. We consider this a big mistake and can only hope that some of the rooms will be left un-touched by the soul-destroying hand of modernity.
The Phoenicia is not cheap but, unlike some other hotels we have stayed in, it is worth every penny. We could not fault it and great credit is due to the Manager, Mr Azzopardi and his team.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank brambleyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

just got back.I have got to say what a great hotel.and what fantastic staff.
great location,great food. Will stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SANELV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We got the advice for Hotel Phoenicia from our local travel agency which was picked as the best offer. The pictures from cataloges were not lying and the hotel is indeed as nice as it looks from outside. We stood there for five days with breakfast. Food was very good and even if we are not used to "English" breakfast as Germans the food was very rich in assortments like fruits, corn flakes, different kinds of bread and of course warm typical english breakfast food like omlettes, baked beans and so on.
We also had some cocktails which was very tasty too.
What we will keep in memory is the outstanding service at the hotel. All requests and wishes were taken with a smile and realized at once. The warm and kind personal really made us feeling like beeing at home.
Our accomodation was a basic room because we traveld a lot on Malta. The room was tidy and clean. The basic rooms seem to be located near the bus station but the overall noise at night was not loud because of doubled windows to the small balconies.
One small negative thing was the playground for kids which really isn't a playground but just some litte plastic houses which give the impression of beeing abandoned. Compared to German playgrounds it's not suiteable for children. They can have more fun at the nice pool anyway.
We can definitly recommend the hotel to all other tourists. Thanks for the nice days!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MichiBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,113 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,823 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,513 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#2 of 15 in Valletta
157 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenicia Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenicia Malta

Address: The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range: £107 - £345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenicia Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenicia, just re-opened after an extensive renovation programme, is one of the leading luxury hotels in Malta. Located at the City Gates of Valletta, Malta’s capital city and UNESCO heritage city, The Phoenicia is perfectly placed for discovering the historic walled city, feasting on Caravaggio’s paintings and exploring the magnificent harbours. The hotel also boast magnificent 7 acre landscaped gardens. The island's central bus terminus is just meters away giving the possibility to explore the whole island by bus. A stay at The Phoenicia is an unforgettable experience. Our charming staff will ensure your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Phoenicia Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Valletta
Phoenicia Hotel Malta
Hotel Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing