We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, but not that great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Phoenicia Malta
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
uk
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great, but not that great”
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Recently stayed at this hotel by booking on the web direct. When we arrived we were given the wrong room, basically one of a lower grade than we booked and paid for in advance. When we returned to the reception to resolve the mistake, we were treated with arrogance and very little care. No one wanted to help or take responsibility. After much discussions and several staff, we decided that the effort was too much and stayed in the lower grade room, but no compensation offered. The only saving grace was a gesture from the restaurant manager who sent a bottle of wine to the room. Strange! The hotel rooms are tired, but ok. No room to put clothes out, so had to live from the suitcase all week. The cocktail bar was nice and the staff very efficient, especially shaun and ruben, but the prices were crazy. Great hotel, but is passed it's best and still tries to rely on it's past. Not a 5 stairs by any measure. Location is fine. The pool and gardens save the day as they are well looked after. If we had not paid in advance, we would have gone elsewhere at the start, but crazy as it sounds, we would more or likely go again, but never pay until you get there to ensure you get what you book. The porter told us this happens a lot and they try to get you to pay more, just to get what you had already paid for. There are definitely nicer hotels for the same price or even less, but if you want a taste of days gone by then this is the place. Just don't expect to get what they promise on all levels.

Room Tip: Don't pay in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UkVenturer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,306
    648
    168
    53
    22
See reviews for
246
1,394
114
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (613)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cark, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Just returned from a 10 night break in the Phoenicia. A place where we felt valued and looked after. Where standards are fastidiously maintained. This is a grown up hotel for people who understand the heart and soul of 5 Star service. It is a unique building, privately owned and maintained. There is a plan to update some rooms, others are already complete. It really doesn't matter which you get as all have beautiful bedding an pillows, and lovely bathrooms. We slept so soundly.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone over 40 years old, who appreciates the finer things in life. It is not really a hotel for young families, or for those with 5 star attitudes seeking a corporate 5 star experience. Better for all concerned if these people book elsewhere. It's not really hard to work out if you read the posts on Trip Advisor. Thank You, Phoenicia. You are doing all the right things. :)

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fatgnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

This was our third stay at the Phoenicia and this hotel is absolutely perfect!! The staff are really friendly and cannot do enough for you. The rooms are lovely and clean, breakfast on the terrace is great and the choice of food is first class. We absolutely love the gardens and the pool is very relaxing. All in all the Phoenicia is a fantastic hotel and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Enchanted by a first experience a few years ago, I've had the great pleasure to stay once more at the Phoenicia Hotel in Valletta for holidays. And the least that I can say is that I was not desappointed at all by this second experience.

The Phoenicia has many assets which concur to make it the perfect place to stay in Malta: location, charm, great service, delicious and varied breakfast buffet served on the terrace, magnificient garden-promenade leading to a beautifull swimming pool located at the bottom of the walls of the city, ...
The Phoenicia has the charm and elegance that suit so well in an historical city like Valletta.

The hotel is ideally located at the entrance of the old city of Valletta. From there, it is also easy to get to other spots of the island, by land or by sea: the three cities, Sielma, St Julian...

I could not recommend more this hotel !

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean-chikai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bruxelles
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We were at the Phoenicia 4 years ago and as this stay was wonderful, we were very impatient to go back there... This is what we did from 08/09 until 08/16. Once again, it was such a pleasant experience! The Phoenicia meets my definition of luxury : guests feeling very well (almost at home), in a wonderful (charming) atmosphere with incredible service and excellent breakfast on the terrace...Furthermore, the Phoenicia is perfectly located next to the Valetta city centre and its gardens and swimming pool area are enchanting.
I would like to thank all teams members who were very helpful and friendly, and especially Mister Neville from the front office (he is a Prince), Miss Sharon (a real Pearl at the front office who has very good tips for excellent restaurants and desserts in Valetta... ;-) and Mister Sebastian (incredibly efficient concierge).
In a few words, just try the Phoenicia and I am sure you will join the 'not-yet-existing' Phoenicia fans club.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank perryBruxelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

What a hotel! Ideally situated just outside the city gate and with simply oodles of quiet, understated elegance. The staff we encountered were all charming and incredibly helpful, attentive but never intrusive. Bedrooms are spacious, clean and comfortable and those with views of Marsamxett Harbour are just wonderful. The Palm Court is a splendid room with large and supremely comfortable sofas and arm chairs cleverly arranged so that there are amny opportunities for privacy in a large open space. The room is used for music (a piano one evening, a guitarist the next) and for a weekly cocktail evening for guests. The Club Bar is a beautiful cocktail lounge, its walls decorated with photographs of significant people who have visited and the whole feeling is one of being transported to a different age where civility and service matter.
The Phoenicia's swimming pool is sited at the far end of the hotel's stunning private gardens, a three or four minute walk from the hotel building, very close to the ancient bastion wall of the city. There are plenty of sunloungers and lovely views of the harbour to be had for those who choose well. A real sun trap, this area, well-served by a young staff (although prices at the bar are a little steep).
Breakfast is served on the terrace, overlooking the gardens. A splendid affair it is, too, with virtually everything one might reasonably expect to find available. There are yoghurts, cereals, fruits, pastries, breads, charcuterie, cheeses, juices, water, milk, champagne (yes, honestly!), teas and tisanes, coffee all available in a gorgeously-presented buffet. There is also a full "cooked" buffet and, just in case that wasn't enough for you, a chef is on hand to cook your omelette for you just how you like it.
The hotel has two restaurants which serve dinner: the Pegasus Brasserie is a reasonably-priced restaurant with an interesting if limited menu and a board of daily specials; the more formal fine-dining experience is provided by the Phoenix Restaurant. We enjoyed both: the Pegasus for its informality and particularly for its excellent home-made hamburgers; and the Phoenix for the outstanding cuisine, excellent, if limited, wine list and wonderful service. Carpaccio of swordfish was an unforgettable appetiser, as was foie gras brulee with pistachio brioche followed (equally-unforgettably) by braised grouper and breast of barbary duck, respectively. Wonderful!
The Phoenicia is within fifteen minutes walk of everything and everywhere in Valetta and could hardly be more convenient for visiting this amazing city and the rest of the island. Until this summer it was the case that the entire Malta bus service was run from a terminus organised around the huge Triton fountain outside the hotel: Arriva have now arrived on the islands and the terminus has moved - still within convenient walking distance - but just far enough to make the space outside the hotel less busy and feel pedestrianised. We love it and will certainly return. The hotel would be very special wherever it was situated. Being in Valetta just makes it brilliant.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CymroLlundain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Wonderful staff with a genuine pride in the hotel. Lee the concierge is great and will help you organise trips. Keith and Charles in the Club Bar make excellent cocktails (worth every penny!). The food in the main Hotel Restaurant was superb - splash out!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,900 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,384 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,603 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
545 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#3 of 15 in Valletta
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenicia Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenicia Malta

Property: The Phoenicia Malta
Address: The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenicia Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenicia, just re-opened after an extensive renovation programme, is one of the leading luxury hotels in Malta. Located at the City Gates of Valletta, Malta’s capital city and UNESCO heritage city, The Phoenicia is perfectly placed for discovering the historic walled city, feasting on Caravaggio’s paintings and exploring the magnificent harbours. The hotel also boast magnificent 7 acre landscaped gardens. The island's central bus terminus is just meters away giving the possibility to explore the whole island by bus. A stay at The Phoenicia is an unforgettable experience. Our charming staff will ensure your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Phoenicia Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Valletta
Phoenicia Hotel Malta
Hotel Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing