We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven in Malta!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Phoenicia Malta
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We have visited the Phoenicia on several occasions and it simply gets better and better. Our previous visit was our Wedding Anniversary in April and the Chef even cooked a meal for us on request!
ALL the staff we have met are friendly, courteous and willing to converse. There is a very positive feel about the entire hotel and it is quietly energetic ... things get done. It is simply one of our favourite Hotels and we will return. After the heat and bustle of Valletta it is a wonderfully peaceful, cool and quiet place to return to.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the harbours! All rooms are good though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,507 - 1,513 of 2,270 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2011

We stayed here last August 2010 (not October as I had to put below) as a family of 6 for a few days at the beginning of a 16 day holiday. In fact I'm sure I reviewed it last year, but there is no sign of my review, so here it is again. The entrance is impressive and the staff polite if not very friendly, but our rooms certainly were not 5 star and were rather delapidated & lacking in space. A large brown beetle (2.5 inches long) came out of the overflow when bathing my son, so we were a little wary of even using the shower after that. Breakfast was ok but the service offhand. The walk to the swimming pool was pleasant, but not very relaxing by the pool and you could see how in need of an update the hotel is as you walk out to the pool. We had an awful meal on the barbecue evening as they had run out of most choices. We also had a snack in the bar, which was slow, but the service was at least friendly. Its plus side is its proximity to the old city where we had some excellent meals. This is not what it purports to be and we were very disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MagIul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Fabulous property sits high on a hill overlooking the Grand Harbour. Lovely gardens and pool area. Request a harbour view. Within easy walking distance to all of Valletta's fun shops and restaurants. Great home hotel to head out for day trips to Rabat/Mdina and beaches. Fabulous buffet breakfast and wonderful service. We spent six nights at the Phoenicia and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a Harbour view on a higher-up floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank TJSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed 2 nights pre cruise (could see the ship from our room). Wonderful place - full of character. Good rooms with nice furnishings, great pool in a beautiful spot overlooking the harbour. Breakfast on the terrace was a real treat. And the service was excellent. We will return for a longer stay next time

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marypa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We stayed here for a family wedding and found it great. The hotel is in the classic old style, however the newly refurbished rooms have all the modern comforts of a brand new hotel. Whilst this wouldn't be the first choice for a family with young children, there is a great toddler pool which kept my son entertained all day. There is also a childrens play area and mini golf course which are great but do need renovation.
The staff were extremely attentive in all areas of the hotel and extremely welcoming. The weekly welcome drinks are a really nice touch, and show a real commitment from all the staff. The buffet breakfast was lovely too.
If you're planning on staying in Valletta you can't go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sinead C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We spent two nights here on our way back from a wonderful stay on Gozo which has probably coloured our judgement slightly! It is a grand hotel and a very handy location for visiting the old city of Valetta (its right next to the city gates). It's quite a formal sort of place and not our usual type of hotel but the quality was very high.

Location-wise it's right in the middle of things with the large main bus terminal literally on the doorstep and a huge car park over the road. The city has obviously grown around the hotel as I doubt such a high-end hotel would be built in this location today. Can't complain about the facilities or the service though and all the staff were all very helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoJonesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed here in July 2011 for our honeymoon which we booked very late (the day before travelling)!! We hadn't read any reviews and knew nothing about the hotel. Being in our 30's Malta had always been sold to us as an 'older' persons holiday resort! How wrong! We arrived in Malta at the Phoenicia at 12 noon and were really very pleasantly surprised with the hotel and the whole atmosphere from the moment we walked through the door. We were greeted by name by a lovely lady called Donna who congratulated us on our wedding etc and immediately made us welcome. Although the hotel is huge it was like coming home - albeit to a very splendid and grand home!!! As our room wasn't ready (i wouldn't have expected it to be arriving at lunch time) we were shown into the very large and beautiful lounge/bar area which immediately felt cool, calm and very relaxed. Just what you need as it was over 30 degrees outside and we had been up at 2am for our flight!
Whilst waiting for our room we managed to have a couple of lovely drinks - service being absolutely fantastic with nothing too much trouble - this continued throughout all of our stay and on thanking staff etc you always received a reply back of "you are welcome" which was genuine and not just an automatic response which you get in so many places.
We were absolutely bowled over by the beautiful gardens and pool area which are set a short walk away from the hotel itself - worth the walk!! It's like entering another timezone - calm, relaxing and just lovely!
Food in the hotel was fantastic and of excellent quality - breakfast is a mammoth feast in itself! Beautiful fresh fruit, pastries, breads, cooked meats etc and another separate room for traditional english breakfast...if you don't want to put on weight stay in your room!!!
On our third night we ate in the hotel restaurant and had lovely wine and food which were not overpriced and of really good quality. Had Crepes Suzette for dessert which is such a pleasant experience as the staff make them at the table, bit of a show really!! Prior to having our meal we had the absolute lovely pleasure of being invited to have a drink with the Manager - George as we were a honeymoon couple! Alongside another 2 couples we spent at least an hour chatting and drinking champagne and cocktails.What a lovely man - really very genuine and friendly and such a nice touch as we all felt really special.
The only downside to the hotel was the room was a bit outdated and i was really disappointed with the dust on the clock radio, skirting boards and dirty lounging chairs to sit on. (I am a clean freak at home!) However, saying that we had a harbour view room and the view and rest of the hotel soon made me overlook these things.
We had such a lovely time at the Phoenicia and will definitely be returning. The whole experience was just lovely and we will definitely remember our honeymoon for the whole experience start to finish.
Thanks everyone at The Phoenicia - what a lovely hotel you have. Not too commercialised and an absolute pleasure to stay at.

Room Tip: If you want modern ask for a room on the third floor - Room 215 has a fantastic harbour view though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank happygirl22711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,114 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,827 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,513 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#2 of 15 in Valletta
157 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenicia Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenicia Malta

Address: The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range: £104 - £342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenicia Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenicia, just re-opened after an extensive renovation programme, is one of the leading luxury hotels in Malta. Located at the City Gates of Valletta, Malta’s capital city and UNESCO heritage city, The Phoenicia is perfectly placed for discovering the historic walled city, feasting on Caravaggio’s paintings and exploring the magnificent harbours. The hotel also boast magnificent 7 acre landscaped gardens. The island's central bus terminus is just meters away giving the possibility to explore the whole island by bus. A stay at The Phoenicia is an unforgettable experience. Our charming staff will ensure your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Phoenicia Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Valletta
Phoenicia Hotel Malta
Hotel Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing