We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Hotel - A must to visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Phoenicia Malta
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We arrived Sat 24.09.2011 and departed 03.10.2011 and during our time there we had excellent service. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff; everyone was friendly and efficient.
We had an Executive room; it was clean, quiet and comfortable and just wished I could have taken my bed home with me! Staff visited our room at least six times a day to carry out various tasks, last thing at night the curtains were drawn, bed turned down and a bed side light put on ready for our return.
Food was excellent as were the Restaurant staff; Sebastian the Concierge was very helpful and a sweetie in the process.
Everyone working in this hotel worked hard to make our holiday special and they certainly did that for us.
This hotel is a diamond along with the people of Malta.
For a different place to eat try Papannis Restaurant in Strait Street, Valletta, excellent service and food,

Room Tip: Executive room well worth charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,495 - 1,501 of 2,270 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2011

arrived in the Phoenicia Hotel on 16/10/2011 , from the time we stepped into the Lobby up to the time we left this hotel this hotel was one of the best we ( my wife and i) have stayed in during our Travels. The staff in this hotel are Professionals and it shows in the way you are treated as soon as you step inside the door, At reception on arrival we signed in the receptionist informed us that we were to get a Upgrade on the room we booked, I had booked a classic room but was upgraded to a classic Plus room, 4th floor Overlooking the Bay also the City Gates, What a view when you got up in the morning, Breakfast Execellent, Hotel Area As Safe as you could Get in any city, Police Patrol in pairs , did not see any Crime in any part on the Island that we Visited, The people of Malta were very helpful and we did not meet one Ignoramious
What Amazed me was about 3 Minutes walk from the Phoenicia is a very large Square where the locals spent their Evenings, not Unusual you say, but this Square had a Very big Bandstand + Stage Bars Cafe Bars also Places you could buy fast food if that was your Fancy, But Back to the Phoenicia we found one Drawback in the Hotel and this was the Location of the Pool, if you were bad on your feet you would find this walk from the hotel to the pool , i could not understand why the Management do not supply transport to the pool for the Handicapped, A Golf Cart would do very nicley , But other than this the hotel is Excellent, Wiil be Back. John 1418

Room Tip: rooms on the top floor are very Quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John1418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

If you want to be in a great central location for exploring Malta then this is the place to be. Right beside the bus station were you can travel to all areas of Malta very cheaply and there are plenty to see - Mosta for the dome, the city of Madina is also really worth a visit both during the day and in the evening for a very differing experience. The weather in December is also ideal for traveling. Not to hot as it can be in the summer months. The hotel is excellent it has that old world feel which is great when visiting a capital city with so much history. The breakfast was also excellent sitting on the balcony in the sun, great pool area within a lovely garden setting. Very tranquil surroundings what a change from busy noisy pool areas in so many hotels. The location is the main reason for recommending this hotel. The only downside was that the shops and restaurants close very early, this surprised us as when in Europe we are used to eating out late.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelholicDuntocher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

After receiving a particularly nasty and negative review about my own establishment and with a guest book overfowing with positive comments, I decided that it was time to write my own review of the Hotel Phoenicia since so many people write about the negatives rather than praising the positives although I think in the case of the Phoenicia, the positive reviews definitely outweigh the negatives.

I stayed at the Phoenicia for a week at the beginning of August with my sister. I love old hotels. I would much prefer to stay in a hotel with "character" than some brand new multi-story establishment. Although we passed by the other 5 Star hotel, the Excelsior, which I am sure was perfectly adequate, we didn't like the look of it as much as the Phoenicia. I am not sure that the Phoenicia is truly a 5 Star hotel, maybe 4 to 4.5 stars but we loved its proximity to the city wall and to the bus station. Although we signed up for two full day tours, we could have easily gotten around by bus on our own. The 2.60 Euro per day bus pass was such good value and the new fleet of buses are sleek and air conditioned, having just been introduced a month or so prior to our arrival.

We loved our room at the Phoenicia with its view of the port where we could see the ships in harbour that day and watch them leave. The breakfast buffet kept us going until dinner time when we would enjoy a wonderful fish or seafood dinner at one of the local restaurants. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff very accommodating. In particular, there was always someone at the concierge's desk with helpful recommendations.

We would wander down to the pool after a day of sightseeing and sit in the shade.. There were always plenty of people there and you could order cocktails and snacks from the bar. The ground were beautifully landscaped and we enjoyed the walk between the hotel and the pool.

In fact, we were so enthusiastic about the hotel that friends in London have booked a trip there in November.

We had a wonderful time in Malta and would certainly come back and stay at the Hotel Phoenicia.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mazkira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Hotel Phoenicia is a luxurious old hotel very well located in Malta. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are missing some modern mod-cons but nothing too important. There are plenty of excellent restaurants etc. in Valletta.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finbarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

This is an excellent hotel for those who, like us, want a comfortable hotel very close to all the places to visit in the historic city of Valletta. Everywhere within the city was within walking distance. A room with a harbour view and a balcony is very desirable and only the rooms on the first and second floors have balconies. The swimming pool is a walk through the gardens but is ideal for relaxation with a good poolside cafe. The main hotel restaurant was good and there are many good places to eat in Valletta - our favourite was Malata Restaurant in Palace Square which was exceptionally good. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and the concierge staff were able to arrange anything including an excellent driver Tony Cutajar who took us on a trip round the island. The Phoenicia is well suited to the older traveller which suited us just fine.

Room Tip: Harbour facing with a balcony so on floors 1 or 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itinerant2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

After having read the almost ubiquitously superb reviews of the Hotel Phoenicia online, we decided it was the place for us and booked a four night stay in a balcony room. When we first arrived at the hotel, we were impressed by the frontage and the grand, airy interior which exudes art-deco glamour. As we were early for checking in, the receptionist kindly phoned up to make sure our room was serviced quickly so we could get in as soon as possible and the concierge looked after our bags whilst we ambled into Valetta, grabbed some lunch and then had a drink in the hotel bar. So far, so good- just what you’d expect from a 5 star hotel charging about £120 per night (room only) for a balcony room.


When we were given the keys to our room, however, the charade of the sophisticated frontage and lobby became clear. We were given a room on the first floor which is the only floor in the hotel where smoking is permitted, despite the fact that at no point were we asked if we’d like a smoking or non-smoking room. To describe the room as basic would be an understatement. Of course, we had all of the furniture that we needed but it was all old and tired; the beaten-up old armchair was particularly comical! Our balcony was just big enough for a coffee table and two chairs and offered us a generous view of a busy dual carriageway and five-aside football pitch in the near distance with the harbour off to the right and the grand dome of Mosta church in the middle distance. Had we been paying £80 or £100 per night for our room, this all would have been absolutely fine but I can not understand how the £120 per night (room only) could possibly be justified.


What was perhaps most shocking, however, was the state of our bathroom. For a five star hotel, charging £120 per night for room only, the bathroom was an absolute disgrace. The shower was a little nozzle poking out of the wall over the bath with a flimsy white curtain around. I don’t think expecting a separate shower cubicle with a solid door and power shower head is unreasonable given the amount of money the hotel charges. The bottom of the bath was stained brown and the yellow non-slip matt that was provided wasn’t really an appealing alternative.
The grouting around the bath and in the corners of the shelf was desperately in need of redoing as it had gone black or just come away altogether. Another major issue was that there was no window or extractor fan in the bathroom which meant that morning showers left everything in the bathroom covered with a layer of water and meant that towels took an absolute age to get dry. This is not to say that the bathroom was dirty. In fact, the housekeeping staff did a great job of keeping the room clean but the whole place really needed the attention of a good handyman for a few days.
Again, my issue isn’t that the bathroom was like this per se- my issue was the fact that if I am paying £120 per night for room only, I expect everything to be of an excellent standard, and it simply was not.

Another issue that we had with the hotel was that the housekeeping staff begin their rounds of guest rooms at about 8.00am. This means two things. Firstly, if you didn’t hang your ‘do not disturb’ sign on the handle, you could expect a knock at about 8.30am asking if you want your room doing. Secondly, even if you did leave the sign on the handle, the noise of several housekeeping staff chatting and laughing in the corridor at 8.00am will rouse you from your bed anyway. Whilst being up and about at this time may not be an issue for business guests or travellers who get up and explore early, for those who like a bit of a lie in, it is annoying to say the least.

On the plus side, the pool area of the hotel is absolutely stunning and never busy for such a large hotel. We sat around the pool for three afternoons whilst we were there and there were never more than six people in the pool at any one time. Similarly, the landscaped gardens are stunning with plenty of hidden benches and tables to sit and have a drink. It’s just a shame that the gardens close at sunset.

The location of this hotel so close to the bus terminus and within thirty seconds walk of the main gate to Valetta is perfect for exploring Valetta and Malta as a whole. I’d particularly recommend heading out on the number 51/52/53 bus to Rabat to have a wander around the ancient city of Mdina.

Room Tip: Make sure you're not on the first floor, which is the smoking floor. Try and get a room facing V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bunnytwoshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,114 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,827 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,513 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#2 of 15 in Valletta
157 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenicia Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenicia Malta

Address: The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range: £104 - £342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenicia Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenicia, just re-opened after an extensive renovation programme, is one of the leading luxury hotels in Malta. Located at the City Gates of Valletta, Malta’s capital city and UNESCO heritage city, The Phoenicia is perfectly placed for discovering the historic walled city, feasting on Caravaggio’s paintings and exploring the magnificent harbours. The hotel also boast magnificent 7 acre landscaped gardens. The island's central bus terminus is just meters away giving the possibility to explore the whole island by bus. A stay at The Phoenicia is an unforgettable experience. Our charming staff will ensure your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Phoenicia Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Valletta
Phoenicia Hotel Malta
Hotel Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing