We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideally situated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Phoenicia Malta
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Edenbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Ideally situated”
Reviewed 7 October 2011

This is a superb hotel in a perfect location. If you want to go to Malta but don't want to be in the thick of the 'buckets and spades' this is the place to be. It is such a comfortable hotel, the staff are charming and the food is excellent. There is a lovely swimming pool and beautiful gardens. The city of Valletta with its culture and history is one minute's walk away. The bus station is opposite the hotel and the new bus system seems very efficient. We took an open-top bus tour of the island - we were collected from the hotel - which was an easy and interesting way to see what Malta is like.

Room Tip: Try to have a room facing the harbour - lovely view and a bit quieter than the rooms facing the town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzie490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,306
    648
    168
    53
    22
See reviews for
246
1,394
114
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (613)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We stayed for 1 week at Hotel Phoenicia and almost instantly I felt at home. It was like being in a bit of a time warp to the 1940's. The lounge is beautifully decorated in a truly authentic deco style and I loved taking my laptop down and enjoying a drink while I checked emails. I almost didn't care that there was no wireless connection in the room (there is an ethernet connection). Breakfast in the equally lovely and elegant dining room or on the adjacent terrace was something to look forward to each morning. The concierge was especially helpful and accessible. He helped us locate our luggage lost in connecting flights enroute. The location is very convenient to the walled city. Some reviews complained about the bus station but this has just recently been pushed over, away fromt he hotel so it is still quite convenient but does not detract from the hotel. As stated in other reviews the drapes and chair upholstery were a bit faded but nothing to be concerned about. We had a corner room with 2 balconies and lovely views of a cathedral.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a current bus schedule from the concierge as the bus numbers & schedules were ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dcogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff.UK
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

As it's an old hotel the rooms are rather small but comfortable.The balcony is just big enough for two and has no privacy.Many balconies overlook a busy car park.Public rooms are elegant and the pool area is in a good position at the end of the garden.For £180 per night (or more) room only I would have expected a better view and to include breakfast.I would rate this as a good 4 Star Hotel.

Room Tip: A Balcony room is worth the extra but ask for one that does not overlook the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joanslade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GB
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We arrived Sat 24.09.2011 and departed 03.10.2011 and during our time there we had excellent service. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff; everyone was friendly and efficient.
We had an Executive room; it was clean, quiet and comfortable and just wished I could have taken my bed home with me! Staff visited our room at least six times a day to carry out various tasks, last thing at night the curtains were drawn, bed turned down and a bed side light put on ready for our return.
Food was excellent as were the Restaurant staff; Sebastian the Concierge was very helpful and a sweetie in the process.
Everyone working in this hotel worked hard to make our holiday special and they certainly did that for us.
This hotel is a diamond along with the people of Malta.
For a different place to eat try Papannis Restaurant in Strait Street, Valletta, excellent service and food,

Room Tip: Executive room well worth charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

arrived in the Phoenicia Hotel on 16/10/2011 , from the time we stepped into the Lobby up to the time we left this hotel this hotel was one of the best we ( my wife and i) have stayed in during our Travels. The staff in this hotel are Professionals and it shows in the way you are treated as soon as you step inside the door, At reception on arrival we signed in the receptionist informed us that we were to get a Upgrade on the room we booked, I had booked a classic room but was upgraded to a classic Plus room, 4th floor Overlooking the Bay also the City Gates, What a view when you got up in the morning, Breakfast Execellent, Hotel Area As Safe as you could Get in any city, Police Patrol in pairs , did not see any Crime in any part on the Island that we Visited, The people of Malta were very helpful and we did not meet one Ignoramious
What Amazed me was about 3 Minutes walk from the Phoenicia is a very large Square where the locals spent their Evenings, not Unusual you say, but this Square had a Very big Bandstand + Stage Bars Cafe Bars also Places you could buy fast food if that was your Fancy, But Back to the Phoenicia we found one Drawback in the Hotel and this was the Location of the Pool, if you were bad on your feet you would find this walk from the hotel to the pool , i could not understand why the Management do not supply transport to the pool for the Handicapped, A Golf Cart would do very nicley , But other than this the hotel is Excellent, Wiil be Back. John 1418

Room Tip: rooms on the top floor are very Quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John1418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

If you want to be in a great central location for exploring Malta then this is the place to be. Right beside the bus station were you can travel to all areas of Malta very cheaply and there are plenty to see - Mosta for the dome, the city of Madina is also really worth a visit both during the day and in the evening for a very differing experience. The weather in December is also ideal for traveling. Not to hot as it can be in the summer months. The hotel is excellent it has that old world feel which is great when visiting a capital city with so much history. The breakfast was also excellent sitting on the balcony in the sun, great pool area within a lovely garden setting. Very tranquil surroundings what a change from busy noisy pool areas in so many hotels. The location is the main reason for recommending this hotel. The only downside was that the shops and restaurants close very early, this surprised us as when in Europe we are used to eating out late.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelholicDuntocher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

After receiving a particularly nasty and negative review about my own establishment and with a guest book overfowing with positive comments, I decided that it was time to write my own review of the Hotel Phoenicia since so many people write about the negatives rather than praising the positives although I think in the case of the Phoenicia, the positive reviews definitely outweigh the negatives.

I stayed at the Phoenicia for a week at the beginning of August with my sister. I love old hotels. I would much prefer to stay in a hotel with "character" than some brand new multi-story establishment. Although we passed by the other 5 Star hotel, the Excelsior, which I am sure was perfectly adequate, we didn't like the look of it as much as the Phoenicia. I am not sure that the Phoenicia is truly a 5 Star hotel, maybe 4 to 4.5 stars but we loved its proximity to the city wall and to the bus station. Although we signed up for two full day tours, we could have easily gotten around by bus on our own. The 2.60 Euro per day bus pass was such good value and the new fleet of buses are sleek and air conditioned, having just been introduced a month or so prior to our arrival.

We loved our room at the Phoenicia with its view of the port where we could see the ships in harbour that day and watch them leave. The breakfast buffet kept us going until dinner time when we would enjoy a wonderful fish or seafood dinner at one of the local restaurants. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff very accommodating. In particular, there was always someone at the concierge's desk with helpful recommendations.

We would wander down to the pool after a day of sightseeing and sit in the shade.. There were always plenty of people there and you could order cocktails and snacks from the bar. The ground were beautifully landscaped and we enjoyed the walk between the hotel and the pool.

In fact, we were so enthusiastic about the hotel that friends in London have booked a trip there in November.

We had a wonderful time in Malta and would certainly come back and stay at the Hotel Phoenicia.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mazkira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,900 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,384 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,602 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
545 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#3 of 15 in Valletta
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenicia Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenicia Malta

Property: The Phoenicia Malta
Address: The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenicia Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenicia, just re-opened after an extensive renovation programme, is one of the leading luxury hotels in Malta. Located at the City Gates of Valletta, Malta’s capital city and UNESCO heritage city, The Phoenicia is perfectly placed for discovering the historic walled city, feasting on Caravaggio’s paintings and exploring the magnificent harbours. The hotel also boast magnificent 7 acre landscaped gardens. The island's central bus terminus is just meters away giving the possibility to explore the whole island by bus. A stay at The Phoenicia is an unforgettable experience. Our charming staff will ensure your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Phoenicia Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Valletta
Phoenicia Hotel Malta
Hotel Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing