We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stately- but in past tence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Phoenicia Malta
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Visiting the restaurant for dinners and Sunday breakfast quite often..The Hotel itself tells a story about past greatness, but the lack og maintenance and upgrading to modern standards are evident.
The restaurant yesterday,Easterday 2012, was a big disappointment.
Full but not crowded, nothing relly worked:
-Dirty tablecloths,
-Lack of plates and glasses
-Burning!! toaster
-lack of refill , cold buffet
-SLOPPY -- waiters
All in all- NOT WORTH €18,50-- this time

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Helge M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,428 - 1,434 of 2,314 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2012

Perfect location for visiting Valletta and beyond. Hotel staff were very professional and helpful in coordinating local sightseeing tours, providing information on various topics. Room was good, view of the gardens and harbour fantastic, and breakfast buffet excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for harbour views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DEK007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Located just outside the main city gate of Valletta, the hotel staff sparkles as much as do the marble floors! The breakfast service prepares you well for a day of either business or touring after a night on a comfortable mattress and a warm shower in the large and nicely appointed bathrooms. While the carpet is a bit tired, the warm wood details throughout the hotel more than compensate. The cable tv includes a few curious choices such as channels carrying classic American movies but not CNN; no big deal, however. The wired internet is relatively slow and expensive; sadly, no wireless is available in the guestrooms. Nonetheless, we'll definitely be back at the Phoenicia in two years.

Room Tip: The "classic" room is a bit small, but PERFECTLY adequate. Others had commented on street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DwainChicagoIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

This hotel is living on its past, and most of the hotel is old and needs updating. The staff are excellent especially Sebastian the concierge, he organised two excellent restaurants for us The Rampila about 8 minutes walk from the Phoenicia, and also Giannini beside Hastings Gardens which has fabulous views over the harbour. The Pegasus Brasserie in the Phoenicia is very very overrated it is trying and failing to be up market! The Phoenix restaurant is very good the ala carte is well cooked and presented. The majority of the hotel is rather old and sad, the rooms have been uprated but only superficially ie furniture is new but bathrooms are careworn and need money spent on them. The Palm court is very pleasant with good seating and excellent service. The staff are very helpful and friendly but reception is poor, conflicting reasons why the air con was switched off, including "it is only partially summer" whatever that means. The Location is excellent for access to the city of Valletta and buses to all parts from outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Phoenicia for a total of 8 days in Feb/Mar, 2012 and enjoyed it tremendously. As others have said, the hotel has wonderful old-fashioned style with modern amenities. The lobby lounge has a very nice atmosphere, and the dining room (which is also where breakfast is served) is very handsome, as is the entire hotel, for that matter. We had an excellent superior room with balcony, which was very comfortable although being on the front of the hotel, one could hear some traffic noise during the day. However, that dies down completely in the evening and overnight, so it wasn't a problem.
Breakfast was of excellent quality, including eggs cooked nicely to order and a very fine assortment of anything you might possibly want for breakfast. Without exception, the staff were all very pleasant and helpful. The location is great: just outside the old city wall and very close to the bus loop, where you can catch buses to anywhere in Malta. We would be delighted to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AT_Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

This hotel is in a great location for those wanting to spend time visiting Valletta as well as the rest of Malta. It's just a few mins walk from the historic city, with all the shops, museums and restaurants. We hired a car, and the small but free car park was ideal (but for those taking pulic transport the bus station is next door).

We were lucky enough to have one of the renovated deluxe rooms with harbour view (i've read reviews about the non-renovated ones!). The beds were fantastic, but otherwise the rooms weren't anything special and the bathroom had certainly missed out on the renovation - very tired and rusty! The shower screen had a 2m gap at the bottom, so the bathroom flooded each time we had a shower. I pointed this out and the plastic at the bottom was replaced, still leaving the same gap! We ended up using folded towels to plug it.

We ate in the restaurant a couple of times which we found to be relatively expensive and nothing special. The service was pretty poor...one evening we must have been offered the food for at least 10 other tables (our food similarly went on its travels)...getting the correct food to the table that ordered it is such a basic of restaurant organisation! Better to go to restaurants a few mins walk away in the old town (e.g. Palazzo Preca)

Breakfast choice was ok, though the food wasn't of a great standard (e.g. tinned fruit) and the chef cooking the eggs seemed incapable of not cremating everything. The food was not replenished very frequently and so you always ended up asking for something (bread, milk, juice) which took a while coming.

We were left with the feeling that the management just didn't care enough and were just living off the 5 star grading and the hotel's past rather than working hard to provide the service to deserve it. This hotel certainly isn't anything special.

That said, we had got a good deal and, weather permitting, spent a lot of time out and about. The Palm Court was a lovely space to sit in, whether to use the wifi (only place in the hotel with access) or to have afternoon tea.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MPL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Utmost convenience of location, in the heart of Valletta. Old-world charm of a bygone era coupled with the latest mod-cons. It doesn't get much better. This hotel exudes elegance. The decor is refined, understated but still grand. The red carpet at the entrance sets the tone that is carried throughout. The service is polished.and professional, refined over decades of providing only the best. Sipping a glass of champagne while listening to a performance on a grand-piano in the Lobby / Lounge will forever be a special memory for me. The pool area overlooking the harbor is great for relaxation, as is a walk through the oasis of manicured, gorgeous gardens. The rooms are recently renovated and tastefully decorated. The Business Centre is well-equipped, all the technology you need. But ultimately this hotel is about history, tradition, the genteel refinement of a gentler, bygone (alas) age. I loved it!

Room Tip: Request a room with a harbor-view on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JustInCase_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
577 reviews
2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
364 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#2 of 15 in Valletta
182 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenicia Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenicia Malta

Address: The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range: £105 - £290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenicia Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenicia, just re-opened after an extensive renovation programme, is one of the leading luxury hotels in Malta. Located at the City Gates of Valletta, Malta’s capital city and UNESCO heritage city, The Phoenicia is perfectly placed for discovering the historic walled city, feasting on Caravaggio’s paintings and exploring the magnificent harbours. The hotel also boast magnificent 7 acre landscaped gardens. The island's central bus terminus is just meters away giving the possibility to explore the whole island by bus. A stay at The Phoenicia is an unforgettable experience. Our charming staff will ensure your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Phoenicia Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Valletta
Phoenicia Hotel Malta
Hotel Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing