We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Phoenicia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Phoenicia
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thank you”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

We have spent a great week at the beautiful Hotel Phoenicia and would like to thank the staff for always being there to help, nothing was too much trouble. The cleanliness, comfort & the food & wine were excellent . Special thanks to Frieda & Francis, may Valletta keep winning the Cup.!
Will definitely stay here again our next visit, thank you.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor & happy with our room, we faced the bust terminal but got used to any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margaret186342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,258
    635
    164
    53
    21
See reviews for
235
1,358
111
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

When we arrived around midday our room wasn’t quite ready, so we were offered free coffee in the Palm Court Lounge, a lovely large room with a central bar, perfect to soothe us after a very early start to our journey to Malta. After a short wait we were told the room was ready and that our luggage was on the way up. Room 317, a deluxe harbour view room, did not disappoint. It was clean, nicely decorated, comfortable and had a lovely view over Marsamxett Harbour.
The hotel is quite grand, but has charming, welcoming feel. The restaurant and bar are really nice rooms, and the walk down through the gardens to the pool very pleasant. Valletta is virtually next to the hotel, and everything in the city is within easy walking distance. We found some very good restaurants, and lots of friendly Maltese.
Breakfast at the hotel couldn’t be faulted, with a very good selection of hot and cold food, including eggs cooked to order.
Throughout our stay we found every member of staff to be attentive, helpful, friendly and focussed on the needs of the guests. All in all, we were very pleased with The Phoenecia, and we will certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Offthetouristtrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

My husband and I have wanted to go to Malta since we met in 1998. We finally
managed to find the perfect location at Hotel Phoenicia. The hotel itself was
perfect for us as we enjoy the architecture of the art deco era and the history
that goes with it.

The hotel is beautiful, the Palm Court Lounge is an amazing
place to have a drink and relax. The 7.5 acre garden is so beautiful culminating
with a relaxing pool overlooking the harbour.

The staff and facilities at the hotel were fantastic. The hotel has a
hairdressers and a beauty therapy room. I had a very relaxing massage with Rita
who was friendly and knowledgeable. The food was also of a high standard.

My husband wanted milk for his tea and the housekeeping staff got him a litre
carton of milk to put in the in-room fridge, just one of the little special
touches that housekeeping ensured made us feel special.

All-in-all it was a great relaxing holiday which was located just outside the city walls and within
perfect distance of everything. I loved Malta and I LOVED the Phoenicia. Well
done staff!!

I probably would not have booked this if I had not found it on lowcostholidays. They were a great website to use for booking, with competitve prices. A**** all around!!

Thanks Phonecia, the people of Malta and lowcostholidays! Would definitely book with them again and would definitely go back to Malta!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephchallis66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kraków
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 4 days at the beginning of May.
Undoubtedly, Phoenicia has a unique atmosphere and has a lot to offer to its guests, but I move on a wheelchair, so I will focus on this aspect of my stay there. The hotel has no accessible rooms, however, when I was making the reservation, I was assured by the receptionist that if I don't mind using a bathtub (which I didn't), the bathroom is spacious and comfortable, so I booked a superior balcony room and, in order to be better prepared, as the room was not fully accessible, I asked by e-mail specifically about the width of the door to the bathroom before my arrival there to bring my narrowest wheelchair just in case. I got reply with assurance that it was wide enough (without specific dimension which should probably flash a warning light in my head, but I had no more time to extract the details).
The entrance to the hotel has three steps and a very professionally and aesthetically looking wheelchair lift at one side of them. I started to be a little worried when instead of using the lift, they pushed me with significant effort up a steep ramp (also too narrow) under the idle chair lift. Of course, when we arrived in the room, the door to the bathroom turned out to be too narrow (and I am rather a skinny person using an average wheelchair). They tried to show ma another room but the doors were all similar. When I demanded a solution, they reluctantly supplied their own wheelchair (they were embarassed because it was extremely old and quite demolished but narrow enough to get through the door) for me to use in the room (which was very cramped even for a healthy person) and the bathroom (which was indeed quite bright and spacious with its own separate balcony), I used my wheelchair outside.
I do not know how it is possible that a 5-star hotel in a EU country does not have a single wheelchair accessible room. I travel quite a bit, and understand that in some remote places and at some small hotels that may be the case, and I make a conscious informed choice deciding to go and stay there. But in the case of Phoenicia I was totally mislead and feel disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JurekKrakow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

We checked in here rather begrudgingly because everywhere else was full and we weren't sure if we could justify the price of the room. We had seen other hotels claiming to be 4 star and were really dissappointed, so didn't hold out much hope for 1 extra star...
We loved it here!! The staff were attentive, friendly, so helpful. Though a little dated, and dare I say it, not London/New York 5 star, this hotel was a real treat. Enjoyed meandering through the grounds, fun crazy golf!, nice pool, lovely rooms (we stayed on two seperate occasions and the second time our room was 100% lovelier. Room 100!), fab breakfast in a gorgeous big airy dining room, beautiful views and BRILLIANT location. This place really helped make our well-needed, long overdue 4 day break away as perfect as it was. From going around looking at other accomodation options, I can tell you, save yourself the time and just book in here. It's worth the little extra (which if you look on expedia isnt that much more). You will not be dissappointed. Enjoy!!!! :)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012 via mobile

What a great hotel, we are so pleased we stayed here. We had read good reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not left disappointed. Check in was good, rooms were good, the hotel bar was great and served great cocktails. Location was excellent in the heart of Valietta which was great for exploring the city

I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone who wants a classy good value hotel in the heart of the city, offering great service and great surroundings.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank clare1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

Thanks for a really nice stay in your hotel the 10th-17th of april 2012.room 104. Our 4th stay since 2010 and hopefully there will be more stays. The reason why we are returning time after time is the staff in the hotel. They are very nice and helpful and they take their time to speak to you. The beds have very good sleeping quality.it´s clean, It´s good situated next to the bus stop. The breakfast ist great. Nice veranda to sit at during summertime. The garden and the pool area is nice and the pool is heated ,all year round :). Perfect for us . We also try to recomend this hotel to family members and to friends. Best Regards Marie & Peter.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarieandPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#4 of 14 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,703 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 14 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#6 of 14 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#3 of 14 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Phoenicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Phoenicia

Property: Hotel Phoenicia
Address: The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Phoenicia 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star luxury in Malta’s historic Art Deco hotel. Hotel Phoenicia, one of the leading 5 star hotels in Malta, is located at the City Gates of Valletta, Malta’s capital city and UNESCO heritage city. Just 50 meters from city gate, it is perfectly placed for discovering the historic walled city, feasting on Caravaggio’s paintings and exploring the magnificent harbours. The hotel also boast magnificent 7 acre garden. The island's central bus terminus is just meters away civing the possibility to explore the whole island by bus. A stay at the Hotel Phoenicia is an unforgettable experience. Our charming staff will ensure your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Phoenicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Valletta
Phoenicia Hotel Malta
Hotel Phoenicia Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing