We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Phoenicia Malta
Nearby Hotels
US$285
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$273
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Falconeria(Valletta)
US$280
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$264
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$264
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palazzo Consiglia(Valletta)
US$241
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$297
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Castille Hotel(Valletta)
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Osborne Hotel(Valletta)
US$251
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Ellul(Valletta)
US$362
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$349
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,432)
Filter reviews
2,432 results
Traveller rating
1,477
695
182
55
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,477
695
182
55
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub barthe palm courtphoenix restaurantthe businfinity poolgrand old ladyold world charmpublic roomselegant hotelmain restaurantold stylecity gatea harbour view roomstar hotelbuilding workmain gatewithout exception
Filter
Updating list...
1,498 - 1,503 of 2,432 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2012

The hotel has a charm which many modern hotels lack. Rooms were clean with very comfortable beds and pillows.The grounds were kept tidy and the pool area was large enough,with plenty of room for sun beds, even though it is a fair walk from hotel through the gardens. The breakfasts were probably the best we have had in Europe with everything you could possibly want. The staff were very proffesional and friendly. We had no complaints at all for a weeks break from our party of 6 to celebrate a birthday. If I go back to Malta this is where I would stay!!!

Room Tip: All rooms looked ok to us , we had the standard ones
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Good quality hotel but definitely worth upgrading to a harbour view room as road noise is a bother in lower grade rooms. Friendly, helpful staff and just a hop, skip and jump from the city which is lovely even with most of it currently undergoing renovation/development.

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms a must
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DiVol31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights in May 2012 in Room 104 which is a Superior room with balcony but NOT refurbished as are the top 2 floors. Also noted that 1st floor is a smoking floor although we had not been told this (but we did not detect any smell of smoke in our room). Do not bother to upgrade to a balcony room unless you can be assured of a garden or harbour view as we had a view of a road, 2 car parks and an artificial sport pitch. The bedroom was a good size and reasonably furnished other than the old style CRT TV - not even wide screen - of 20 years vintage and this is a 5 star hotel? Bed very comfortable although pillows very soft and no alternatives available. The bathroom was large but seriously in need of updating. On arrival in the room the air conditioning would not worked but was fixed quickly following a maintenance visit. The next morning we found that the bracket of the old-style shower was loose and could really only be used as a handheld. This was reported and fixed although still remained essentially an old-fashioned low pressure handheld with a wall bracket. Having sorted out the shower we then discovered that the toilet - not 5 star. Having stopped the water spraying over the floor we realised that the toilet was leaking from the base. This too was reported and fixed. So we can only assume that housekeeping liaison with maintenance is poor as when we reported issues they were fixed straight away. Other than this we thought the housekeeping was good. Overall the hotel was well-staffed with pleasant, helpful and efficient staff. Restaurant service was good with excellent levels of staff attention. Tables cleared and laid swiftly. We had the Sunday night buffet which was excellent and coincided twice with the local tango club night which was great. Club bar was comfortable and hospitable and there was entertainment on several nights. Location was perfect if you want to explore the old city as we did and catch a bus to other sights and the hop on hop off tourist bus stops opposite the hotel. We would certainly stay here again but be very careful about which room we book.

Room Tip: As stated in my review be careful about any rooms not on the 3rd or 4th floors.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Citytraveller08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

The Phoenicia is a lovely hotel with a taste of old fashioned luxury. It is excellently placed for experiencing the city of Valletta and exploring further afield as it is right next to the bus station. Service is very good, the bars and restaurants all offer top class service and the tucked away outdoor pool is wonderful. Just a word of warning - do not book this hotel through You Travel. We did and You Travel had failed to pay the hotel for our accommodation, which had been paid in full 3 months previously. Eventually following a number of phone calls the bill was paid two days into our stay but an apology from You Travel was not forthcoming. Please take my advice and do not use You Travel ever - hopefully Hotel Phoenicia will also cease to deal with them in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank julia15w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

The Phoenicia fully deserves its star rating.
The staff are excellently trained....The customer definitely comes first here and nothing is too much trouble.
We were their for our 10th anniversary and had a fabulous time. Try the brasseries.....Wonderful food...Good wine list....Wonderful service and the crepe suzette Mmmmmmmm.
The grounds are lovely and peacefull with lots of little seating areas away from it all. Hard to believe you are less than one minute from the bus station and the walled city of Valletta.
Thanks for a great stay....Ticks all our boxes and one to return to!
Ian & Alison

Room Tip: Corner suite fabulous but it is over the bar so you may here entertainment over the weekend or if there is a function on.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imarobertson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews