We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Phoenicia Malta
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“loved this place”
Reviewed 20 June 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights in May and loved being here. I was on a group tour of the ancient monuments of Malta. This is a big, colonial-period hotel with large public rooms. My room was also large and comfortable, with feather pillows on the bed. The bathroom, while older, was large and worked great. The hotel is just outside the old gate of Malta, currently undergoing renovation, so it's easy to walk straight into the old city. The breakfast is very good. My only complaint was that the night I arrived the dining room was offering only an expensive Malta-food buffet, much too much money for what I felt like eating. There was no a-la- carte that night. And the other restaurant in the hotel is expensive. There is a swimming pool, but it is a very long walk away thru the garden -- I got halfway there and turned around and came back. A friend traveling with me had a less happy experience with his room. He was in the other wing, and there were elevator problems and air-conditioning problems. But my experience was wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,316
    655
    168
    53
    22
See reviews for
248
1,406
114
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (618)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

This was our second visit to the Phoenicia in two years, and it didn't disappoint.

The staff were friendly, courteous and helpful - nothing was too much trouble.

We stayed in room 200 on the 2nd floor - it was light and airy, well furnished and with the luxury of two balconies, being on the corner of the building. One balcony gave us a superb view of the harbour, and the other looked out on the garden walk at the side of the hotel. The room was equipped with air conditioning, a well stocked mini bar and a free, simple, easy to operate safety deposit box. There was a TV receiving up to 19 English speaking channels, a hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. The en suite bathroom had a powerful shower and a bath. Toiletries were kept replenished throughout the week. The beds in this hotel are enormous - plenty of room to stretch out. On our last visit we had a room on the fourth floor, and with the exception of it not having a balcony it was equally well appointed.

The gardens are well tended and in full bloom at the time of our visit.

The pool area is excellent - there are toilets and changing facilities which are clean and airy. The pool was spotless, and there's a small paddling pool for children (although none in evidence at the time of our visit). The pool bar/restaurant served snacks and drinks throughout the day and complimentary towels were available for guests' use - a nice touch.

The pool looks out over the harbour, which gives a panoramic view of the boats and yachts coming and going throughout the day.

The hotel is well placed for exploring, being just outside the City Gates next to the bus station. This might present a slight problem for some, as the road is a bustling thoroughfare, and there is some traffic noise in spite of the double glazing. We didnt find this a problem, but for some it may be. If this was the case - better to ask for a room at the back of the hotel overlooking the pool area which is much quieter.

A nice touch was an invitation to join the Hotel Manager for drinks midweek, which gave guests a chance to chat with and meet the people who make it all happen (or not - it wasn't compulsory and guests who wished to were able just to relax and enjoy a drink and some canapes).

All in all, it's hard to fault this Hotel unless you're being very picky - it's not the most modern, but having done modern and more characterful alike in Malta, I'd plump for the Phoenicia every time.

Particular mention goes to Elena who was very informative and helpful during our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden and pool will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Scotchontherocks88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

A very pleasant hotel in a great location with attentive staff. The hotel is well located so it's only a short walk to the town or to the harbour. It also has some nice gardens to wander in.

Room Tip: HAving visited I would say there is little to choose between the upper and lower floors, they are al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BadgersFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

My second visit to the Hotel Phoenicia. This is an elegant hotel with old world charm. The staff are excellent, friendly and always happy to help. My room was immaculate and serviiced twice a day!
The gardens and the pool area are lovely, Breakfast on the terrace in the glorious sunshine was
a highlight. I must give a special mention to The Concierge he was friendly, attentive and very helpful, a real asset to the hotel.
A great stay!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cassie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

This was our second visit to Malta and the Hotel Phoenicia. Completed just after ths second world war, the Hotel Phonenicia stands out as an elegant, charming and slightly quirky establishment. We chose to visit for 5 nights in mid May, when the temperature and crowds (few) are at their best. We were given room 301, which has a nice view over towards Grand Harbour. By co-incidence we stayed in room 401 last year, the room above. The room was quite large, with separate bathroom, toilet, bidet and sink. There is ample cupboard space, a mini-bar, kettle, TV, and safe. The bed was two singles pushed together (we have a similar superking araingement at home) and the pillows were the softest I have ever slept on. Breakfast is an extensive buffet, including traditional British items along with continental meats, cheeses, and cerials. You could also have a bucks fizz if you so wished! The bar area is very art deco and on weekend nights a group of local people would turn up and dance the Tango, for their own enjoyment. The pool area is very secluded and sheltered, and we would retire here for a couple of hours in the afternoon (from about 4 - 5 pm). Evening meals were taken in the main Phoenix dining room, where the service was generally good, with the occaisional wait (but heh, we werent going anywhere). We were half board and the 3 course menu choises were a little restricted (although one can choose from the a'lacart up to 33euros) One evening meal was taken in the other fine dinning room - the Pegasus. Unfortunately there was a wedding party for over a hundred going on in the ballroom downstairs and service did suffer for some of the diners (fortunately not for us). The hotel is ideally situated next to the main gate into Valletta and for the bus station. At night the area is very quite and we could wander around the (very safe) streets after dinner, virtually alone. This is not for party and club lovers, but if you wish for peace and quiet and spectacular architecture and atmosphere, then it certainly is. If we go again (which we are seriously considering) we would probably not choose half board, as there are numerous eating venues within easy walking distance, which then gives the flexability to eat where you want. The food in both the resteraunts by the way was excellent. Finally, the whole experience is underpinned by the staff, who without exception were courteous, friendly, professional and just very good at their jobs. Finally, finally, the Manager's cocktail party on the Wednesday night followed by the Maltese Buffett Dinner was very good value and a very enjoyable night.

Room Tip: For a slightly smaller, old fashioned room, but with a balcony and spectacular views of Marsamxett H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Phillip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

This hotel has many different great qualities. The hotel has an old-world charm to it but it is also very clean and our room was very good quality on the third floor. The gardens are beautiful between the pool and the hotel. Most of all, the staff achieve the perfect balance of being friendly and attentive without being over the top. It was the little touches that made it particularly special, from the staff handing out melon to guests by the pool to the complementary breakfast waiting in the lobby for guests leaving on early morning flights. Great location in Malta - easy to visit other parts of the island as well as a lovely location in Valletta itself. Highly recommend also the restaurant near the hotel called 'Rampila'.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Lambert, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

This hotel is fantastic, perfectly located (just before entering the city walls), spacious rooms, splendid views.

The staff is really friendly and will do anything they can do to accomodate you.

There's really nothing bad to say about this hotel.

However, please note that the room rate was incorrect when doing the check-in. They have fixed it on the check-out bill.

Apart this detail, I strongly recomend it to everyone !

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisgausl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,965 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,427 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,680 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#3 of 15 in Valletta
122 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenicia Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenicia Malta

Property: The Phoenicia Malta
Address: The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenicia Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenicia, just re-opened after an extensive renovation programme, is one of the leading luxury hotels in Malta. Located at the City Gates of Valletta, Malta’s capital city and UNESCO heritage city, The Phoenicia is perfectly placed for discovering the historic walled city, feasting on Caravaggio’s paintings and exploring the magnificent harbours. The hotel also boast magnificent 7 acre landscaped gardens. The island's central bus terminus is just meters away giving the possibility to explore the whole island by bus. A stay at The Phoenicia is an unforgettable experience. Our charming staff will ensure your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Phoenicia Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Valletta
Phoenicia Hotel Malta
Hotel Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing