We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Phoenicia Malta
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Osborne Hotel(Valletta)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Castille Hotel(Valletta)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Falconeria(Valletta)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
British Hotel(Valletta)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Ellul(Valletta)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,407)
Filter reviews
2,407 results
Traveller rating
1,458
691
180
55
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,458
691
180
55
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub barthe palm courtphoenix restaurantthe businfinity poolgrand old ladyold world charmpublic roomselegant hotelmain restaurantold stylecity gatea harbour view roomstar hotelbuilding workmain gatewithout exception
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,431 - 1,436 of 2,407 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2012

This was our 14th visit and we were not disappointed. There has been some changes since last year which are for the better. The Pegasus bistro is now a fine dining experience. The food was first class as was the food on the terrace.

The staff are the kindest and most helpful people I have ever met and I have stayed in many 4/5 star hotels.

It is just so nice not to stay in a large chain hotel. The Phoenicia is unique. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Rooms on 1st and 2nd floor have balcony's so if you like to sit out choose one of these although they have not been refurbished yet.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Triangle81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

The facilities were lovely, breakfast on the terrace was a delight, and our room was kept immaculate throughout our time at the hotel. Most of all we were delighted by the friendliness of all the staff, whether chambermaids, restaurant staff or at the front desk, who were unfailingly polite, pleasant and helpful. The location was excellent for access into Valletta and the bus station but felt like a haven of peace despite its location. I could not recommend the hotel more highly

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

If you only like modern then this fantastic hotel is not for you. We spent ten nights at this hotel and found it very enjoyable. We had a room on the 3rd floor which faced the main entrance and overlooked the bus station (no noise at all). The windows are double glazed plus an extra set of double glazing on the inside & fully air conditioned. This 5star hotel was built in the 1920s/30s with finances from Lady Strickland & based on the Raffles hotel Singapore. The staff were very friendly & well turned out. The room was cleaned every day & the towels along with the bedding changed everyday if requied. Yes you have to walk to the swimming pool (approx. 5mins) but through beautiful gardens. At approx. 1900hrs every night the staff go round and turn down the bed covers, close the curtains & leave a light on in your room, ready for your to go back to have agood nights sleep. As for Valletta they have pulled down the old main gateway (what a shame) along with the arches & they are putting up a modern (what they call a gateway) & office block which has spoilt the whole outlook to this very ancient city. None of the residence liked what was going on especially the buses (run by Arriva) as they have lost their old yellow buses & now have the old London bendy buses painted in Arriva colours (turquoise blue). They say you only get what you pay for & yes the drinks were priced higher than outside but this is a 5 star hotel after all. It does not stop you going out & purchasing cold drinks from the venders near the bus station.

Room Tip: Rooms above the second floor seem to be kept for none smokers which is good as we cannot stand going into a room after smokers have been in.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IANLYNNES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Very good hotel and excellent service. The pool area needs work - tiles are discoloured, dirty and cracked in places - the whole pool area should be re-tiled. The pool changing rooms and loos also look dirty and loo seats are not correctly fitted. Minibar prices annoy hotel guests - 4.50 Euro for a small bottle of water is too expensive especially when guests cannot drink the contaminated tap water.

Room Tip: Room 232 is a large corner room with 3 balconies. It faces the bus station but double doors onto the balcony stop all noise.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ChickenHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

I would like to thank you for staying at the Hotel Phoenicia and for taking time to write a review about your experience on TripAdvisor.

It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you found most of our services to your satisfaction.

With reference your comments about the water; I would like to point out that the water is not contaminated in any way and is safe to drink. We do not recommend drinking tap water as it is very heavy and is stored in holding tanks. However I can assure you that it is safe and is used by guests for tea and coffee in the room.

With regards to your comments about the pool area, I have already informed the relevant Heads of Department about your comments and action has already been taken to improve the pool bathrooms.

Your feedback and ratings are much appreciated and will only ensure that we strive even harder in our efforts to enhance our standards of quality and services.

On behalf of all our staff, I sincerely hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Malta.

Best Regards

Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Stayed here for a few days following a stay in St. Julian's Bay. I had a room on the 4th floor (an Executive). Quite a small room, but adequate for my needs (may be a bit of squeeze for a couple). No balcony, but a partial view of the bay to the left and the bus terminus to the right, with the car park immediately below. Good sized wardrobe (big enough to store your suitcase in too). Use of 2 bathrobes. In-room safe and mini-bar are incorporated into part of the wardrobe. The mini-bar is very sensitive and reception can tell if you open the door to the fridge. I left the seal intact and didn't bother with the fridge content. Complimentary bottle of still mineral water provided each day. The hotel echoes a by-gone era, with a feel of 1920's art deco here and there. A very comfortable lobby bar with deep, comfy sofas and armchairs to enjoy a drink and a tasty snack. Leading on from the bar is the restaurant / breakfast room. There is free access to 2 computers in a business room behind reception. Apart from an occasional snack in the bar, I didn't eat in the restaurants here, as I ate out in town. To access the garden / pool area, you have to go downstairs (past the old ballroom). A circular patio area with fountain gives way to a narrow path leading into the gardens and down to the pool. There are a few seats dotted along the path to sit and read or enjoy the shade. The pool is small and is serviced by a pool bar offering drinks and snacks. Not nearly enough room to accommodate all the guests here should they wish to sit poolside and take in the sun. What loungers and parasols there were, were all spoken for. The hotel was very busy during my stay, the gardens and grounds accommodating a basketball team party and 2 weddings / receptions for 3 nights in a row. Although the music in the grounds kicked in during the evening, it largely seemed to fizzle out around 10.30pm, and wasn't too intrusive. Luckily the air-con drowned out most of the outside noise (apart from the beeping and tooting of horns from the buses in the bus terminal!) Extremely well located for a stroll into Valletta - just 5 minutes from the city gate entrance. There was a good mix of young and old staying in the hotel. I enjoyed my stay and found it very relaxing.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tosca1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews