We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Hotel. Good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Phoenicia Malta
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Classic Hotel. Good choice”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

When we planned this trip we where wondering why in Valletta the range of accomodations varies in price from 3 star hotel directly to 5 stars. There are no 4 stars hotels in Valletta particularly. Phoenicia is a great choice if you´re planning on visit the city of Valletta by walking, or even if you decide to take the bus. A bus station is right acroos the street from the entrance of the hotel. It is one of the oldest hotels in Malta (we were told) and the architecture of it is beautiful. The rooms are good and the staff is friendly and really helpful. Considering we were on a business trip, it was good not to feel in a Resort with the huge hallways and gigantic swimming pools. The breakfast was really good and the view from the terrace of the restaurant was simply amazing. The only thing, WIFI was not included and it as 14 EUR for every 3 hour internet service; either way, you can come down to the lobby, where they have several tables and furniture for you to place and enjoy the music and free internet, so it was not that bad.

Room Tip: We stayed at a first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarisaMedina19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,293
    646
    167
    53
    22
See reviews for
243
1,387
113
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
185 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Best hotel we've stayed in on Malta, Service as one would expect in a 5*, friendly but unobtrusive. Food cannot be faulted in any respect. Breakfast on the terrace was just what was neede to start the day.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tincan06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We have just returned from a fantastic week at this hotel, the staff were very helpfull & with everyone speaking even a little English no problems with communication. The hotel is set in the what has to be the best location in Valletta straight out the gates across the road to the bus terminal with buses going all over the Island at very little cost & very regularly. Only a few minutes walk & you are in the hussle & bustle of the city no gate to walk through anymore though. The hotel is not to big like some on the Island so still feels warm & friendly, not all rooms have been updated yet but our room was stil really nice & the maids kept it spotless with clean towels etc even when we hadn't asked. One thing as others have said is the distance to the pool not great if you do have trouble walking, to be fair Malta is not a great place if this is a problem for you although saying that there stil is alot of older people there. The only reason I have not given this hotel an excellent is the upgrading is not finished otherwise I would, having said that we hope to go back so that says it all.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pipharris15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I stayed here in September 2012 for 3 nights and was pleasantly surprised at the charm of the hotel. The reception area is stunning and I stayed in a room on the third floor. The view was not very nice but despite this the room itself had everything I needed. The complimentary shower gels etc. smell divine. I had a meal in the bar area (homemade fishcakes) and they were the best I have ever tasted. The pool area is lovely with complimentary towels. The quality and standard of the hotel is very high and I would recommend it as a base to explore Valletta.

Room Tip: Quite difficult to get a room with a balcony as this is a very popular hotel. Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shazmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haydock, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Just came back from Hotel Phoenicia, in a word WONDERFUL. Arrived at hotel and was allocated a room on the 1st floor, when we thought we had booked a room with a balcony we were disappointed to find that we didn't have one. We went back to reception to ask had they got another room with a balcony Sharon said that she would try and get us something better, but we would have to wait until two o'clock. That wasn't a problem because we went to get some lunch and returned later to find that Sharon had got us a room with a balcony, we were elated because it was a really nice room with quite a decent view of the bastions and we could see the harbor. I wouldn't hesitate in returning to this hotel because the staff and the hotel itself is absolutely brilliant and you really get that special treatment both at the bars and the restaurants. All in all WONDERFUL.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed at The Phoenicia in the last week of August for one week. Gorgeous old hotel with stunning views of the harbour. We arrived at 1am to a warm welcome and friendly staff. We had paid extra for an upgraded room and were given room 417 on the forth floor. Lovely large room with a king size bed, big bathroom with bath and shower over. Great view of the harbour through large patio doors. Only gripe in the room was the windows were very dirty.

We stayed on a half board basis which gave us breakfast and €33 each a night for dinner. The food was good and plenty of choice for a weeks stay.
The pool was a perfect place for relaxing, always plenty of beds but not enough mattresses for all the beds. The bar at the pool really let the hotel down though. Everyone expects to pay more in a hotel but €2.50 for a glass of coke which was poured out of a 2litre bottle from the fridge really left me feeling ripped off. €5.50 for a beer was also far too high. In a bar in the city we paid €3.30 for a beer and vodka coke! Just outside the hotel is lots of little kiosks selling drinks. The first one sells frozen water for €0.70, take these to the pool. They last for hours!!

We had late checkout booked with Thomson which let us keep our room till 6pm. Our taxi for the airport wasn't due until 10.45pm. For €30 the hotel let us keep the room till 10.30pm which gave us a full Day to do as we please with no worries for showering in the evening. great relaxed last day.

We got sucked into the Malta sightseeing bus tour which stops outside the hotel. €15 each for all day hop on and off. Great travelling on an open top bus but the buses in the station (next to the hotel) go to all the same places for €2.60 day rider ticket. Bargain!!
There are no beaches in Valletta only rocks with ladders into the sea. Fine for myself and my husband but not really suitable for children. Over the harbour in Silema was great for snorkelling with plenty of fish to spot.
We took a trip to the blue lagoon. Stunning place but absolutely packed with people and was disappointing to see the amount of litter in and around the water.
Overall a fab holiday and hotel for couples. Not a lot to do in valetta for kids though so look elsewhere for a family holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank everyonesmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

I have been visiting this hotel since 1980 and think it is currently the best it has ever been. I genuinely consider this place to be my second home. It has been sympathetically modernised under the current ownership yet still manages to retain its charm. The staff here are second to none.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert_Temple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,845 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,354 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,544 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#3 of 15 in Valletta
535 reviews
0.2 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#6 of 15 in Valletta
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenicia Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenicia Malta

Property: The Phoenicia Malta
Address: The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenicia Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star luxury in Malta’s historic Art Deco hotel. Hotel Phoenicia, one of the leading 5 star hotels in Malta, is located at the City Gates of Valletta, Malta’s capital city and UNESCO heritage city. Just 50 meters from city gate, it is perfectly placed for discovering the historic walled city, feasting on Caravaggio’s paintings and exploring the magnificent harbours. The hotel also boast magnificent 7 acre garden. The island's central bus terminus is just meters away civing the possibility to explore the whole island by bus. A stay at the Hotel Phoenicia is an unforgettable experience. Our charming staff will ensure your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Phoenicia Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Valletta
Phoenicia Hotel Malta
Hotel Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing