We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Old Lady still has it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Phoenicia Malta
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Grand Old Lady still has it”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Never having been to Malta before we didn't know what to expect on arrival. The Hotel stands proud just outside the centre of Valetta, with a great entrance. We checked in at reception being dealt with very efficently, and with the porter taking our bags to our room. We were booked into a Classic plus on the third floor and although we weren't expecting a sea view if we craned our neck we could just about see the harbour. Well equiped with flat screen TV, safe, tea/coffee tray, the room was air conditioned and with a great size bathroom, which although looking a little tired had a great shower. The hotel is in a great position for going into the centre of Valetta, the new cruise liner terminal or spreading your wings into Malta as the bus station is just over the road, but does not impinge on the hotel. The gardens are expansive with the swimming pool and pool bar being at the end of the walk through. There are great views over the harbour and can make a great viewing area for the fireworks which seemed to be a nightly occurance whilst we were there.
We stayed bed and breakfast, can't grumble about the breakfast as there was a great choice on the buffet and plenty of hot items available. I didn't expect the sparkling wine/champagne at breakfast but very nice surprise (difficult to get used to so early in the morning ;-) We stayed and had dinner on one night which was buffet night. Again plenty of it and of a good standard, we were on the Terrace, as we were for breakfast every day. The staff were friendly and very obliging, nothing being to much trouble. The hotel made a great location and just made us wish we had stayed for 10 days not 7. We are looking forward to going back and seeing more of Malta and the hotel in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Facades999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,273
    637
    164
    53
    22
See reviews for
239
1,369
112
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Lovely old Hotel with modern rooms and Art Deco style in bar. Some great view’s from rooms, Large grounds to the rear of hotel, nice pool with amazing view.
Wonderful full breakfast buffet that will keep you going all day. Great location just outside the main entrance to Valetta.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShazCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a week's stay at this hotel. We booked a de-luxe harbour view room, which, although well-equipped, with safe, hospitality tray, flat screen TV etc, was nothing like the one shown on the website, and therefore rather disappointing. It does say that only the first and second floor rooms have balconies, but I felt that the extra charge of £261 was rather high for what was a rather ordinary room.However the hotel was very nice, the breakfast on the terrace was excellent, and the staff extremely courteous.The hotel is also in an excellent position in Valletta, convenient for all the sights, and with the buses stopping across the road.The pool area is also very pleasant, and the hotel is set in large gardens. The one drawback to this hotel however, is the service at dinner. We had booked on half board terms, as after a day spent exploring, we prefer to eat in the hotel rather than go out again. Each evening we booked a table for 8p.m., but the staff seem to have no idea in which order people arrive at the restaurant. This means that you can wait 30-40 minutes before your order is taken, whilst people who have come into the restaurant much later, are served well before you. After your order has been taken, you can wait for up to 45 minutes for the food to appear. When it did arrive, it was usually quite good, and the buffet evening was very good, as it was self-service, so no waiting around! When we paid our bill, we mentioned the poor service, and they said they would look into it, and refunded us the cost of the previous evening's bottle of wine. I think it's a great pity that the restaurant isn't better organised, because otherwise it is a very nice hotel. I think that it is now more of a 4 star standard hotel than 5, but if they improve the service at dinner, and brighten up the bedrooms somewhat, it could probably be 5 star again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PATLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feusisberg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
271 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

The hotel must have been top of its class years ago. It retains a gentle polite and friendly atmosphere but as with many hotels the restaurant could do with a shake up. The buffet is tired and expensive compared to other restaurants in Valletta.
Pleasant gardens and helpful friendly staff. e enjoyed our stay but found that the charge for Internet in the rooms is silly (free in the lounge and a free business centre which is great). Breakfast at 14.50 Euros is expensive compared to what is available round the corner.
We enjoyed the stay and would recommend it. Location for Valletta is great.
The week of independence day has a loot of loud music round the corner but it stops at about 12:30 !

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank royvocking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

This is the second time that we have stayed in this grand old hotel in Malta. This hotel offers eveything you could want for a lovely holiday in style. Our room on the 4th floor had views of the harbour and gardens plus air condtioning, tea tray, bath robes, fridge,arm chairs, good TV and comfortable beds.The staff are all charming and helpful.
One of the loveliest features of this hotel is the terrace where breakfast and dinner are served when fine , which is most of the time.The breakfast is excellent with egg dishes cooked to order.The comfortable public rooms offer free wifi with a useful business area where you can do your emails and check into flights so no need to lug the laptop out there.There is a good sized swimming pool with an area where lunch, snacks and drinks are served.Prices are much lower than in similar hotels in the Mediterannean. The city of Valleta is just a step away so is the bus station making it easy to get around.

Room Tip: Lovely views from the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

When we planned this trip we where wondering why in Valletta the range of accomodations varies in price from 3 star hotel directly to 5 stars. There are no 4 stars hotels in Valletta particularly. Phoenicia is a great choice if you´re planning on visit the city of Valletta by walking, or even if you decide to take the bus. A bus station is right acroos the street from the entrance of the hotel. It is one of the oldest hotels in Malta (we were told) and the architecture of it is beautiful. The rooms are good and the staff is friendly and really helpful. Considering we were on a business trip, it was good not to feel in a Resort with the huge hallways and gigantic swimming pools. The breakfast was really good and the view from the terrace of the restaurant was simply amazing. The only thing, WIFI was not included and it as 14 EUR for every 3 hour internet service; either way, you can come down to the lobby, where they have several tables and furniture for you to place and enjoy the music and free internet, so it was not that bad.

Room Tip: We stayed at a first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarisaMedina19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
180 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Best hotel we've stayed in on Malta, Service as one would expect in a 5*, friendly but unobtrusive. Food cannot be faulted in any respect. Breakfast on the terrace was just what was neede to start the day.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tincan06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,764 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#6 of 15 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#3 of 15 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenicia Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenicia Malta

Property: The Phoenicia Malta
Address: The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenicia Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star luxury in Malta’s historic Art Deco hotel. Hotel Phoenicia, one of the leading 5 star hotels in Malta, is located at the City Gates of Valletta, Malta’s capital city and UNESCO heritage city. Just 50 meters from city gate, it is perfectly placed for discovering the historic walled city, feasting on Caravaggio’s paintings and exploring the magnificent harbours. The hotel also boast magnificent 7 acre garden. The island's central bus terminus is just meters away civing the possibility to explore the whole island by bus. A stay at the Hotel Phoenicia is an unforgettable experience. Our charming staff will ensure your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Phoenicia Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Valletta
Phoenicia Hotel Malta
Hotel Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing