We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Suited us perfectly”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Phoenicia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Phoenicia
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Suited us perfectly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

Our first visit to Malta. We booked a 6 night B&B stay quite late (about two weeks before) for mid September and the only rooms remaining available were executive on 4th floor or a suite. We went for the Executive. 4th floor room which was modern and 'businesslike', suited us fine, quite spacious and very comfortable. No balcony on 4th floor and sideways view of harbour area. NB neither of Valetta's two harbours is pretty, so consider carefully whether its worth the extra money for the view. What might be worth the extra money, although we can't comment on the quality of rooms on other floors, is a room on the garden side with a balcony that catches the afternoon/evening sun.
We arrived after midnight, late check in was no problem, night porter took us and our bags to room.
Breakfast served until 10.30, excellent range. Club bar very 'colonial', excellent bar staff. Breakfast and bar have outside space on the 'terrace' , although growth of trees in the garden means that most of the harbour view is obscured.
Pool area a bit tired now, but a good sized pool. Although hotel was nearly full, we managed to find a couple of sunbeds each day mid afternoon as we went to pool for a couple of hours after a morning sightseeing and lunch out. I think I counted about 80 sunbeds total.
Excellent location for on foot sightseeing of Valetta and conveniently just outside City Gate by bus station....we agree with other reviewers that we were not troubled by bus noise.
We ate in the Pegasus Brasserie one night and in the Phoenix Restaurant on the buffet night....see separate reviews. Our experience in Valetta generally was that restaurant service is slow, and other guests told us that table service in the Phoenix was slow for dinner, and we found that it wasn't speedy in the Brasserie! We found all the hotel staff ( including in the Brasserie) charming and keen to please.
We will return to the Phoenicia on our next visit to Malta and use it as a base for exploring a bit further afield ( probably by bus!) on this small island.

Room Tip: Talk to the reservations staff on the 0800 freefone line from the UK and see what they can offer you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank racecoursedonut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,257
    635
    164
    53
    21
See reviews for
235
1,357
111
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

Recently stayed at this grand hotel-Sept 2012. Lovely- staff all excellent nothing too much trouble,food fresh,tasty and imaginative,room could have been bigger but beautifully equipped.Location spot on right outside wonderful Valletta. A/C buses to anywhere on island right outside door. Can't wait to go back and wouldn,t stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Balcony and harbour view are worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynn233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

Enjoyed our stay even though room was a bit small.The staff really make this hotel a great experience,being extremely helpfull,in particular Krista(Front desk).One week in Malta was not enough especially with all the local information which she provided.
We plan to return with other family members in the near future.
Tony n Toni.Western Australia

Room Tip: Make sure your balcony actually faces the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

This was our third visit to Malta and we chose the Phoenicia owing to its prime location in Valletta and its reviews. We have previously stayed in the Radisson Blu Resort in St Julian's and the Corinthia Hotel St George's Bay both of which were excellent hotels in their own right. So the question is how to compare and review three very good hotels. The answer I think lies in your personal preferences. The Radisson and Corinthia are larger hotels with excellent facilities (large swimming areas, extensive public areas/entertainment and dining options. Their forte is that they cater for everyone including the children and if thats what you are looking for then they are fine but they often feel impersonal and clinical, lacking in atmosphere. The Phoenicia, however is a colonial hotel built late thirties with a strong Deco styling and caters mainly for an adult clientele focusing on personal service, comfortable facilities, low key entertainment (piano/jazz) performers and good quality food both at breakfast and evening meal. There is no rush and you can get sun loungers around the pool at any time of the day. We had a fourth floor room (deluxe twin room with harbour view) which had all the facilities you would expect and an excellent view of the harbour (the lack of a separate shower was the only downside). The bedroom floors and corridors were carpetted which meant for peace and quiet at all times especially bed-time. All in all the longer we stayed the more we liked it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlackMirror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Never having been to Malta before we didn't know what to expect on arrival. The Hotel stands proud just outside the centre of Valetta, with a great entrance. We checked in at reception being dealt with very efficently, and with the porter taking our bags to our room. We were booked into a Classic plus on the third floor and although we weren't expecting a sea view if we craned our neck we could just about see the harbour. Well equiped with flat screen TV, safe, tea/coffee tray, the room was air conditioned and with a great size bathroom, which although looking a little tired had a great shower. The hotel is in a great position for going into the centre of Valetta, the new cruise liner terminal or spreading your wings into Malta as the bus station is just over the road, but does not impinge on the hotel. The gardens are expansive with the swimming pool and pool bar being at the end of the walk through. There are great views over the harbour and can make a great viewing area for the fireworks which seemed to be a nightly occurance whilst we were there.
We stayed bed and breakfast, can't grumble about the breakfast as there was a great choice on the buffet and plenty of hot items available. I didn't expect the sparkling wine/champagne at breakfast but very nice surprise (difficult to get used to so early in the morning ;-) We stayed and had dinner on one night which was buffet night. Again plenty of it and of a good standard, we were on the Terrace, as we were for breakfast every day. The staff were friendly and very obliging, nothing being to much trouble. The hotel made a great location and just made us wish we had stayed for 10 days not 7. We are looking forward to going back and seeing more of Malta and the hotel in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Facades999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Lovely old Hotel with modern rooms and Art Deco style in bar. Some great view’s from rooms, Large grounds to the rear of hotel, nice pool with amazing view.
Wonderful full breakfast buffet that will keep you going all day. Great location just outside the main entrance to Valetta.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShazCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a week's stay at this hotel. We booked a de-luxe harbour view room, which, although well-equipped, with safe, hospitality tray, flat screen TV etc, was nothing like the one shown on the website, and therefore rather disappointing. It does say that only the first and second floor rooms have balconies, but I felt that the extra charge of £261 was rather high for what was a rather ordinary room.However the hotel was very nice, the breakfast on the terrace was excellent, and the staff extremely courteous.The hotel is also in an excellent position in Valletta, convenient for all the sights, and with the buses stopping across the road.The pool area is also very pleasant, and the hotel is set in large gardens. The one drawback to this hotel however, is the service at dinner. We had booked on half board terms, as after a day spent exploring, we prefer to eat in the hotel rather than go out again. Each evening we booked a table for 8p.m., but the staff seem to have no idea in which order people arrive at the restaurant. This means that you can wait 30-40 minutes before your order is taken, whilst people who have come into the restaurant much later, are served well before you. After your order has been taken, you can wait for up to 45 minutes for the food to appear. When it did arrive, it was usually quite good, and the buffet evening was very good, as it was self-service, so no waiting around! When we paid our bill, we mentioned the poor service, and they said they would look into it, and refunded us the cost of the previous evening's bottle of wine. I think it's a great pity that the restaurant isn't better organised, because otherwise it is a very nice hotel. I think that it is now more of a 4 star standard hotel than 5, but if they improve the service at dinner, and brighten up the bedrooms somewhat, it could probably be 5 star again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PATLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#4 of 14 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,697 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 14 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#6 of 14 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#3 of 14 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Phoenicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Phoenicia

Property: Hotel Phoenicia
Address: The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Phoenicia 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star luxury in Malta’s historic Art Deco hotel. Hotel Phoenicia, one of the leading 5 star hotels in Malta, is located at the City Gates of Valletta, Malta’s capital city and UNESCO heritage city. Just 50 meters from city gate, it is perfectly placed for discovering the historic walled city, feasting on Caravaggio’s paintings and exploring the magnificent harbours. The hotel also boast magnificent 7 acre garden. The island's central bus terminus is just meters away civing the possibility to explore the whole island by bus. A stay at the Hotel Phoenicia is an unforgettable experience. Our charming staff will ensure your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Phoenicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Valletta
Phoenicia Hotel Malta
Hotel Phoenicia Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing