We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, wonderful staff. Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Phoenicia Malta
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Reviewed 12 November 2012

I couldn't fault this lovely hotel. Lovely comfortable lobby area, where there is free wireless Internet. I was charmed when the local tango club came and danced on the Sunday night. Delightful.

Room comfortable and very clean. Had 2 different rooms, one with view of the harbor and another with a view of the fortifications at the back of the hotel. Both were very comfortable, decent bathrooms - shower over bath. Hair dryer, good wardrobing, can make tea in the room. Iron I think.

The staff were all wonderful, warm and friendly, efficient. Dining room is gorgeous, range of breakfast foods excellent.

Malta is a lovely friendly place to visit and I couldn't fault the Phoenician.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vincrstine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,275 - 1,281 of 2,312 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2012

for our city break we wanted a smallish 5 star hotel ,close to the major sights which gave us old fashioned standards.we were not disappointed with our choice which exceeded our expectations.we had room service for breakfast,spent our mornings mooching around in the city,lazed by the pool all afternoon[including excellent sandwiches for lunch] and dined in either the pegasus or phoenix restuarants ,whilst enjoying the ambience of the club bar pre meal.the standard of food was first class and even though I had researched restaurants in the city beforehand,felt the hotel food could not be beaten on price or standard .the service and friendliness of the staff could not be faulted ,the sun shone every day and consequently we had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: we chose the basic room which was more than adequate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank islandboy445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Stayed at the Phoenicia for a long weekend birthday treat for my wife's significant birthday and everything worked really well. Room was spotless and staff were excellent, very friendly and for a five star hotel caught the balance between professional service and the human touch, i.e. weren't too stuffy which suited us perfectly. Didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on food as was keen to eat out in Valletta but the restaurants and menus looked good. Thank you for a great holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Perfect location for exploring Valletta (we spent 2 days walking around the city, including Floriana) and just across the road from the main bus station with links all over the island. Wonderful friendly staff, food average to good with large portions (seems the standard in Malta, unfortunately we had poor service (1hr 10min wait) one evening where management under resourced kitchen/waiting staff due to a wedding function.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FatWhippet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

The Phoenicia has an excellent location, just outside the city walls of Valetta, ideal for exploring this fascinating city. It is very much an old style hotel but, generally, has adapted well to 21st century life .... wi fi etc. There is a lovely swimming pool set in pleasant gardens - green spaces are at a premium in Valetta! Our room was adequate but not exceptional - some fittings seemed a little tired - but the balcony was pleasant in the evening sun. Staff at reception were friendly and helpful but service in the main restaurant in the evening was very slow (we only tried it once so we may have been unlucky) but breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden and/or catching the evening sun seem to be the best option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marley1034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Lovely staff, large room, clean and excelent breakfast and beautiful bar.
Just outside one of the most incredible cities in the world- Valetta.... excelent concierge service.
Very accommodating to us when we had any questions or concerns about the room.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We are here for our tenth visit in six years. We love this hotel. It's central location makes exploring so easy. The hotel itself is old colonial with bang up to date services and switched on staff. Everything about this hotel encourages you to come back. The weather this November is fantastic and a day spent wandering the hotels beautiful gardens and lazing by the pool makes everything perfect. The staff are attentive but unobtrusive. The rooms vary from small but well equipped to corner rooms with balcony a which overlook the town or harbour. This is a wonderful place to blow away the winter blues...and we will be back!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jax3501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,189 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
577 reviews
2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
364 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#2 of 15 in Valletta
182 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenicia Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenicia Malta

Address: The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range: £104 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenicia Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenicia, just re-opened after an extensive renovation programme, is one of the leading luxury hotels in Malta. Located at the City Gates of Valletta, Malta’s capital city and UNESCO heritage city, The Phoenicia is perfectly placed for discovering the historic walled city, feasting on Caravaggio’s paintings and exploring the magnificent harbours. The hotel also boast magnificent 7 acre landscaped gardens. The island's central bus terminus is just meters away giving the possibility to explore the whole island by bus. A stay at The Phoenicia is an unforgettable experience. Our charming staff will ensure your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Phoenicia Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Valletta
Phoenicia Hotel Malta
Hotel Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing