We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faded Grandeur”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Phoenicia Malta
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Reviewed 20 November 2012

There is no better located hotel for a Valletta visit. Though the Excelsior is probably a nicer property the long, vertiginous hill to front door is a deal breaker for this correspondent, especially during scorching summer months. We stayed on the third floor and though the rooms have been renovated it is certainly not a five star hotel, though they don't charge five star prices either (except in the bars!). Rooms were well appointed and perfectly serviceable though no touches to make one swoon. Pegasus Brasserie was quite good, not so the dinner at the buffet which is to be avoided at all costs; multitude of better choices within 5-10 minute walk! The gardens and pool area are perfectly pleasant though, like the rest of the property, need some care and attention. We all agreed we would stay here again as long as the price was right. The "mature" average age of most of the guests made us feel quite youthful...

There is a taxi rank right outside and it is definitely cheaper to use these, as opposed to the hotel-organised ones, but be sure to check and agree upon a fare.

Room Tip: Third or fourth floor unless you get a bargain basement price for 1st or 2nd as these haven't be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank usagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,292 - 1,298 of 2,339 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2012

Very well located next to the bus terminus and Valletta generally. Excellent public areas and attentive staff, particularly the concierge. Stayed in a first floor room, which whilst comfortable, was a little tired for a 5* hotel. We had dinner in the main dining room on one occasion; the standard was good and represented reasonable value but there are a number of good restaurant in Valletta which presented more interesting culinary experiences. Breakfast was good. However, although the eggs were freshly cooked to order, we fail to understand how 5* hotels can massacre the bacon which finished up rubbery and lacking in the flavour normally associated with freshly cooked grilled bacon.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cornmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

The location of the hotel is eccellent. The staff is very helpful and the facility is superb. I also appreciated that the offered a quick breakfast facility early in the morning. I had to catch a early flight and I was pleased to start the day with a hot coffee!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annaglau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012 via mobile

Loved the location and a big thank you to all staff and especially to Sebastian who kept me company whilst waiting for my lift this morning!!
The hotel has a fantastic ambience and the whole visit was superb.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kerri_jo2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

I was really delighted with my choice of hotel in Valletta as it was very much a last minute booking. Fantastic location, comfortable room with plenty of storage space, relaxing lounge with a resident pianist and tango dancing on Sundays and above all, excellent welcoming and friendly staff for who, nothing was too much trouble. Delicious buffet breakfast too and this could be taken on the open air terrace even in November. A slightly old-fashioned feel and it would be nice if wi-fi was available in the bedrooms rather than just the lounge area but this is a minor point. I felt very safe here, will recommend to others and hope to return.

Room Tip: I was in a classic room on the second floor which didn't have a view (except over a roof top)but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sixty00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Located a few minutes’ walk from the City Gate of Valletta and the central bus terminal for the island it is difficult to imagine that there is a better-placed Hotel on Malta. The art deco architecture provides a hint of grandeur and both the standards of cleanliness and the facilities were excellent. All the things that we could want from a hotel were in evidence - friendly and most helpful staff always ready with a smile to assist in any way, spacious and well-appointed room, comfortable bed and good food (the Phoenicia boasts the most extensive breakfast menu selection that we have ever experienced)
The weather this November was fantastic and a day spent wandering the hotels beautiful gardens which are also the most spacious and well-kept that we have ever come across.

A wonderful experience to repeat and also recommend

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Really lovely place to stay. Excellent location just outside the city walls, with only a very short walk to the key restaurants and sites. Very well refurbished, with good bathrooms etc. Tasty and wide ranging breakfast
But the best point were the staff, who were universally helpful and friendly, and who gladly helped with any request, even if a little strange. Certainly amongst the very best service I have received amongst the many hundreds of hotels I have stayed in over four continents
Thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 186338GLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#6 of 15 in Valletta
4,229 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
584 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#2 of 15 in Valletta
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
366 reviews
2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,964 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenicia Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenicia Malta

Address: The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range: £119 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenicia Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenicia, just re-opened after an extensive renovation programme, is one of the leading luxury hotels in Malta. Located at the City Gates of Valletta, Malta’s capital city and UNESCO heritage city, The Phoenicia is perfectly placed for discovering the historic walled city, feasting on Caravaggio’s paintings and exploring the magnificent harbours. The hotel also boast magnificent 7 acre landscaped gardens. The island's central bus terminus is just meters away giving the possibility to explore the whole island by bus. A stay at The Phoenicia is an unforgettable experience. Our charming staff will ensure your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Phoenicia Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Valletta
Phoenicia Hotel Malta
Hotel Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing