We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb in every way!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Phoenicia Malta
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Reviewed 24 December 2012

We have just returned from a fabulous festive break at the Phoenicia. The welcome received at Reception and service provided throughout the Hotel were second to none. We felt we were given V.I.P. treatment at all times. Our room was superb with beautiful harbour views and lovely décor. As the Hotel is so well located, we thoroughly enjoyed being able to wander effortlessly into Valletta to sightsee and finish Christmas shopping! We really appreciated too the various Christmas events that the Hotel had organised for guests, like the Carol Concert and the Wine-Lecture/Tasting. The excellent standard of the Hotel's two restaurants also made decisions about where to eat very easy!

Room Tip: All the rooms have their own qualities, so one is spoilt for choice it seems!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,200 - 1,206 of 2,265 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2012

We stayed for a lovely few dayside Dec. lovely hotel, great service and a brilliant location for the sights of Valetta, with the bus station on the doorstep (literally). Touring from here was really easy, and the evening piano bar entertainment unobtrusive and classy!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RichW123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

My last visit to the Phoenicia was probably my 7th or 8th and I am always impressed with the experience. The initial welcome at reception, standard service and facilities are maintained at a consistencty good standard that attracts me to keep coming back!

Room Tip: Don't take the ones I prefer!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GemmaandAntony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Hotel has a great structure - but it needs a thorough top to bottom internal refurbishment. I suspect it gets good ratings because people forgive its flaws as 'character'. But the reality is that the rooms are at best 'dated', at worst 'shabby'. Dare one say even a might dirty, too. Best advice is don't inspect the beds or their pillows too closely! I had to change rooms twice because the beds just weren't pleasant.

Room Tip: ASk to see your actual room before accepting the key! Otherwise, if you can't accept it, you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MikieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Just returned (11 Dec 12) from the Phoenicia having stayed for one week. This was my tenth visit to the hotel so that speaks for itself. I will not repeat what other reviewers say about the location.
I report a major change in the role of the two restaurants which guide books and tour operator brochures have not yet amended. The large Phoenix restaurant where breakfast is served is now the informal restaurant in the evening with the smaller Pegasus Brasserie at the front of the hotel, being used for formal fine dining. Beakfasts are aequate but beware if you are dining alone, as I was. The chefs station is now in a side room and on three occasions in my week my table had been cleared when I returned to my table with my cooked breakfast. This was in spite of me leaving clues that I was still there. There were apologises of course but that is not five star treatment.
Not wishing to be too critical but this time I noticed that a substantial number of the small lamp shaded in the Phoenix were at all angles and it really looked less than five star.
The staff are generally very friendly and helpful and I shall return again next year.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TerryStaffordEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Wonderful atmosphere in a Hotel that has a convenient location very close to Valletta center. Personnel is always kind and very helpful. One of the best Hotel where to stay in the South of Europe that has all modern conforts, in an old and fascinating setting.

Marco Spagnoli (Italy)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank marco_spagnoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

I stayed at the Phoenicia from 4th December 2012 to 6th December 2012. I was in Valletta for 2 nights on business.

The hotel is a converted building and I think the original conversion was some time ago. That said, I think the rooms have charm and the bathrooms whilst a little old were perfectly serviceable.

All that said, this hotel is not about it's rooms (btw the bed, linen and pillows were very comfortable), it is about the big bar area and the side Club Bar. The main bar is a huge circular room with the bar in the middle and the old thick brick wall on one side. The Club Bar is a small whisky bar with leather chairs and sofas.

I got a corporate room rate of EUR 100 per night incl breakfast. Which I felt was a good price.

Would recommend for inexpensive business travel.

Room Tip: The higher, the quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MatLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,103 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,822 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,511 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#2 of 15 in Valletta
156 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenicia Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenicia Malta

Address: The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range: £106 - £346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenicia Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenicia, just re-opened after an extensive renovation programme, is one of the leading luxury hotels in Malta. Located at the City Gates of Valletta, Malta’s capital city and UNESCO heritage city, The Phoenicia is perfectly placed for discovering the historic walled city, feasting on Caravaggio’s paintings and exploring the magnificent harbours. The hotel also boast magnificent 7 acre landscaped gardens. The island's central bus terminus is just meters away giving the possibility to explore the whole island by bus. A stay at The Phoenicia is an unforgettable experience. Our charming staff will ensure your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Phoenicia Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Valletta
Phoenicia Hotel Malta
Hotel Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing