We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Old Lady”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Phoenicia Malta
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Our first time in Malta and we were not disappointed by the choice of Hotel. From the outside it is a rather imposing building and you would be forgiven if you thought it looked like it needed a coat of paint. Quite wrong. It sits in its own magnificent grounds and gardens, well manicured and perfectly laid out for all the relaxing activities one needs when on holiday.
Just outside the main gates into the old city of Valetta it is ideally positioned next to the main bus circle for the island which operates an efficient and low cost public transport system.
Once inside the grandeur becomes apparent, with spacious public areas, superb bar and dining room.
We were on a short break for 4 nights and stayed in a classic room which was spotless and had a very spacious bedroom and bathroom with all you could need.
The hotel staff could not have been more welcoming and assisted the group of frinds we were with with any advice on tours and sightseeing etc. I suspect this hotel has regular guests who return year after year as the service and standard is second to none.
With being an old building the rooms and public areas have a sense of space and grandeur unfortunately long gone in some of our new builds
Quite simply this is step above the normal chain type of hotel. The friendliness of the staff and their professionalism only compliments what is a great place to stay.
I would without reservation recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RJT52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,223 - 1,229 of 2,339 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2013

I couldn't imagine a better location, especially if you do not want to drive. It is right outside the main bus terminal, but don't worry, there's very limited noise and smell. The bus system is excellent for seeing Malta's main attractions and you are situated right at the city gate of Valletta.

The service is especially warm and efficient and while you can splurge on luxury rooms, there are also several smaller rooms available for very reasonable prices, especially during the off season. Don't be alarmed by the rack rate; you should be able to get a deal, especially during the off season. The bed and linens were wonderfully comfortable, though somebody wanting to gripe would note the scratchy, thin towels and that the television was old with terrible sound and a mediocre picture. But how long are you going to spend using the towels or watching television?

I did not eat at the restaurant (you can get much cheaper meals at the kiosks that sell to bus commuters or at the various cafes inside Valletta) so I can't comment on that, although it appears to be very popular among locals for a fancy afternoon tea.

My only warning is that in my room, there was a very high, roughly 40 centimeter/14 inch step into the bath/shower, that would obviously not work for anybody with physical limitations or a poor sense of balance. Just in case this is common to the other rooms, it would probably be a good idea to advise them beforehand if you or anybody traveling with you would have a problem. The hotel is otherwise reasonably accessible to anybody with a wheelchair or who has difficulty walking, far better than any other hotels I noticed in Valletta.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amfeeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

This was our first trip to Malta and we stayed here for four nights. The hotel is excellently located, close to the central bus station, from where you can go to all sights in Malta, and quiet at the same time. The hotel building is very beautiful, with an exceptionally elegant and relaxed atmosphere, and a huge and comfortable lobby and dining hall in the classical old English style. All the staff were very friendly and helped us in all respects. Our room was very nice and well heated (which we enjoyed in the rather cold and windy season at the beginning of February) and the breakfast offered a huge choice of delicious dishes. On the whole a very good price-performance ratio !

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JOachim_E_13187375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Stayed here for a week. Cannot fault this place.

We chose half board and this worked out amazing value. The restaurant was superb. Champagne breakfasts, excellent service, wonderful evening meals. Even the Valentines 5 course meal was included in the half board deal (normally £75 per person).

Beautiful large room. Wonderful location.

Cannot recomment this place highly enough.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Qualia1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

This was our first visit to Malta and we were joining old friends who live in France. They chose the hotel and we were very happy with their choice. This lovely old building is spacious, with grand reception rooms and wonderful position for seeing the sights. The staff were friendly and helpful, several telling us that they had worked there for many years - a good sign of a happy ship. We will return.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We stayed at the Phoenicia for 5 nights over a rather wet and cold February week-end and simply could not have been better looked after. Absolutely marvellous service from impeccably trained staff who were also some of the friendliest and most welcoming I can remember anywhere. The hotel is traditional but also perfectly relaxed. Our classic room was good value at the low season rates and both restaurants were excellent and excellent value. Of course it's an old-style building with the inevitable need for ongoing maintenance, rather than some brand new concrete and glass monstrosity, but that's part of its huge charm. And it is perfectly positioned for sight-seeing in what is a quite fantastic destination for history, art and archaeology. We would love to go back.

Room Tip: Try to get a deal on a room with a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Davidwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

This majestic hotel sits atop the Mediterranean with breathtaking views. Rooms are spacious and clean with comfortable bedding and pleasing decor. It is conveniently located next to the bus terminal which is a common mode of transport around the island, but, believe me, this is not your typical bus depot hotel. Additionally, it is an easy walk into the heart of town. Staff are exceedingly helpful, even responding to an e-mail that I sent ahead of my trip when it was their day off. They can assist you in securing precious tickets to Hypogeum as well as providing recommendations and making other arrangements for your visit. I was here during Carnival and it was a prime location for watching the action, especially since the dance competitions took place just across the street.

Room Tip: Splurge on a Deluxe Ocean View room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhonda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,230 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
584 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#2 of 15 in Valletta
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
366 reviews
2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,966 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenicia Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenicia Malta

Address: The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range: £119 - £309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenicia Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenicia, just re-opened after an extensive renovation programme, is one of the leading luxury hotels in Malta. Located at the City Gates of Valletta, Malta’s capital city and UNESCO heritage city, The Phoenicia is perfectly placed for discovering the historic walled city, feasting on Caravaggio’s paintings and exploring the magnificent harbours. The hotel also boast magnificent 7 acre landscaped gardens. The island's central bus terminus is just meters away giving the possibility to explore the whole island by bus. A stay at The Phoenicia is an unforgettable experience. Our charming staff will ensure your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Phoenicia Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Valletta
Phoenicia Hotel Malta
Hotel Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing