We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'll look forward to staying again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Phoenicia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Phoenicia
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I'll look forward to staying again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

This is a very comfortable hotel, particulaly to be recommended for its extensive gardens, once you've solved the puzzle of how to reach them. (It involves a secret staircase and a long gloomy corridor—ask the concierge for help.) The rooms are well-equipped, the hotel facilites are good, and the staff are helpful and efficient.

Room Tip: Rooms over the verandah bar may be noisy in the evening if there is a wedding reception on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fleccia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,256
    636
    164
    53
    21
See reviews for
235
1,357
111
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

This hotel suits all, a place where you are looked after from the time you arrive until you have to leave. All the staff are a joy treating you with great care and attention. All your needs catered for wonderful food rooms, location, gardens and pool. We will be back and hope others join us and make the most of this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I was at the Phoenicia Hotel on their honeymoon and it was the best hotel of the whole trip.
They treated us very well, the place is perfect, ancient, great view and, last but not least, it is perfectly connected with the rest of the island.
The restaurant offers local and international cuisine of excellent quality at affordable prices. I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to make any kind of trip to Malta!

Room Tip: rooms on pool side are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank franc0sax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, Kent UK
Level Contributor
277 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

My daughter and I have just returned from a four night stay at this grand hotel. The Hotel is in an excellent position for exploring Valletta and the Island. From the moment we arrived we found all the staff friendly and extremely helpful.
We had booked a Harbour View room. We were disappointed with our first room as the view was over the large Valletta car park with harbour views in the far distance. Before unpacking I returned to reception and was promised a move to another room the next day. The second room (415) was fairly small but well furnished with a good bathroom. I think most of the rooms are the same size. This second room had a lovely view out of the rear of the hotel over Marsamxett Harbour. There was no balcony - rooms on the first and second floors have small balconies. We didn't feel the rooms were large enough to sit and relax in. They were great for sleeping - comfortable beds and very quiet.
There's a lovely lounge - didn't like the piano entertainment on one evening - and a club bar which is very colonial in style.
We only ate breakfast in the hotel. There was a good choice of hot and cold foods.
Neville on reception and Saviour, the Concierge, gave us some excellent recommendations for dinner - Ambrosia, Malata, Palazzo Preca and Gianni. I will review them separately.
The hotel has a nice garden and good pool with lovely views.
Overall it was a great stay and we would recommend the hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel away from the road and bus station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Speges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here last week for three nights and enjoyed our stay.

Our room was large and had plenty of room to relax. The location is perfect, right outside the city walls and everything in Valetta is within walking distance.

The pool is nice but quite a walk from the main hotel building.

We did not use any of the bars or restaurants.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

Having lived in Malta for a number of years way back when I had always wanted to stay at this hotel. The Grandness is somewhat faded but this seems to be being sorted by some well need paint. It is spotlessly clean and very reminisant of bygone times inside the main areas. Rooms clean reasonably spacious with excellent service. I would however make the point that its position means the rooms facing Vallettas main gate entrance are VERY noisy due to traffic and people.

Room Tip: avoid rooms facing towards the main route into Valletta, unless you like to wake up early
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djjwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

This has got to be the best hotel in malta

breakfast best ever especially the hot buffet and omelets
Pheonix restaurant food good
pegasus brasserie food excelant the fillet steak and kobe beef is to die for cooked to perfection
weather you want it rare or well done and everything inbetween
on the wholeI would recomend this hotel to anyone who likes comfort and class room 421 is good with good views of the harbour well worth the extra paid for harbour view

there was a double wedding on on saturday but did not cause much inconveiance to the to us as guests . the gardens are well maintained and paths swept daily to a very high standered

thankyou once again to all at the phoenicia and we will be back soon

Room Tip: pay the extra for harbour view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#4 of 13 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,620 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 13 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#3 of 13 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#5 of 13 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palazzo Consiglia
Palazzo Consiglia
#7 of 13 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Phoenicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Phoenicia

Property: Hotel Phoenicia
Address: The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Phoenicia 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star luxury in Malta’s historic Art Deco hotel. Hotel Phoenicia, one of the leading 5 star hotels in Malta, is located at the City Gates of Valletta, Malta’s capital city and UNESCO heritage city. Just 50 meters from city gate, it is perfectly placed for discovering the historic walled city, feasting on Caravaggio’s paintings and exploring the magnificent harbours. The hotel also boast magnificent 7 acre garden. The island's central bus terminus is just meters away civing the possibility to explore the whole island by bus. A stay at the Hotel Phoenicia is an unforgettable experience. Our charming staff will ensure your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Phoenicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Valletta
Phoenicia Hotel Malta
Hotel Phoenicia Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing