We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old World Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Phoenicia Malta
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Old World Charm”
Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights in late May. Provided with room on 3rd floor facing the front of the hotel. Nicely decorated large room. Bed was very comfortable to sleep in. Ate in the restaurant for breakfast and lunch and the food was of good quality and very tasty and well presented. Wi-Fi only worked in the lounge behind reception which was a bit of a pain. It should have been available in the bedrooms. Pool is nice and plenty of sun loungers. Overall, very pleasant stay and Valleta is fantastic, especially St Johns Cathedral. Medina is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notuslimited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,268
    636
    164
    53
    22
See reviews for
238
1,366
112
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (599)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Not having visited Malta before I have nothing to compare the Phoenicia to. The old world charm of the hotel is very pleasant and the staff are very attentive. Some visitors may be tempted to compare this hotel with 5* Hotels in Las Vegas which would be unfair as this hotel has the style associated with more established hotels around the world.

We will certainly stay there next time we visit Malta which just about says it all. The swimming pool is reached by a 1 to 200 meters walk from the hotel. but we don't choose to swim so nothing lost there.

Breakfast is what you make of it I have cereals fresh fruit and toast some people have a full English fry up so you takes your choice from a wide range of food on offer that is much more than some Hotels that I have visited.

All in all our stay was good value for the money although I do agree with the comments about the noisy air conditioning as I had to turn it off at night due to it keeping me awake.

Walk into town approx. 300meters to find lots of places to eat, but you don't have to go out of the hotel to eat if you prefer stopping in.

Room Tip: be specific about your needs when checking in
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Englisheric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

this is the best hotel I have stayed in in malta and unless things change i will not stay anywhere else when I am in malta
reason 1) I like to be treated well when on holiday you get this from the moment you arrive
2)the breakfast is fantastic
3) I stayed on a half board basis the food in the phoenix was good but the veg could have been a little bit hotter. I did have four of my seven meals in the pegasus brasserie which was wonderful ,as a steak lover I don't think I have had such a well cooked fillet steak for quite a few years I also tried the cobi beef which was also perfectagain the veg could have been hotter The best of all came for dessert which I had four times was the creape sussette flambed at the table john on 3 occasions and once by charles I will not say which is best as they were both good but different flavours one more toffee and the other more buttery but both excelent
Thankyou to both above mentioned and also svetlana she was such a gem and always smilling
I will not say much about the position of the hotel as this has been well covered by others

the garden and the pool are a little way from the hotel but it is well worth the walk and if you have problems there are benches for you to rest on the way so don't be put off as the pool is wonderful

we stayed here 13th to 20th may in a harbour view room it was better than lats year in a classic plus as there was more wardrobe space
view was ok we had room 421 which overlooked the garden and was above the hotel terrace

thankyou once again toall staff and i cant wait until we are back

Room Tip: go for higher floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosie104360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south shields
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Stayed as a couple 21--28May
Had not realised that the pool,gardens and relaxing area were so far away from the hotel. As we have minor walking difficulties it was too far to go to check if there were any beds and shady areas available. The pool area is not protected at all and can be searing even in May.
As we had a room wthout a balcony, transpires that there was no where in the immediate vacinity of the hotel to sit and relax outside, so we just stayed in the room. Air conditioning was noisy and not cold enough during the night.
Food was not good enough for a 5 star hotel and expensive .
However the staff were very good in all departments.

There was no where nearby to eat out at night and Valletta is dead then.
Sliema and St Julians better for that but requires a noisy crowded bus journey

I would think twice about returning to This hotel because of problems relaxing outside and poor food quality even though the staff are first rate!

Room Tip: Room with balcony should be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 303liz303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Beautiful hotel at the gates of Valetta. Old world service and comfort are the mark of this classy hotel. The staff are welcoming and friendly and nothing is too much for them. The buffet breakfast is fresh and plentiful; dipsomaniacs can even have champagne at no extra charge! The hotel restaurant was good but over priced however the Pegasus Bistro also in the hotel was outstanding. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would stay there again, the best hotel bed I have ever slept in! On the down side I had booked a deluxe room with harbor view based on the room picture on the website but he actual room was not at all as lavish as the picture and the harbor view was in part only mostly car park. I requested a refurbished room but he furniture was tired and the shower fitting was very poor indeed. Despite that this was one of the most relaxing hotels I have ever stayed in, I loved it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This is a very comfortable hotel, particulaly to be recommended for its extensive gardens, once you've solved the puzzle of how to reach them. (It involves a secret staircase and a long gloomy corridor—ask the concierge for help.) The rooms are well-equipped, the hotel facilites are good, and the staff are helpful and efficient.

Room Tip: Rooms over the verandah bar may be noisy in the evening if there is a wedding reception on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fleccia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

This hotel suits all, a place where you are looked after from the time you arrive until you have to leave. All the staff are a joy treating you with great care and attention. All your needs catered for wonderful food rooms, location, gardens and pool. We will be back and hope others join us and make the most of this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,761 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#6 of 15 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#3 of 15 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenicia Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenicia Malta

Property: The Phoenicia Malta
Address: The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenicia Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star luxury in Malta’s historic Art Deco hotel. Hotel Phoenicia, one of the leading 5 star hotels in Malta, is located at the City Gates of Valletta, Malta’s capital city and UNESCO heritage city. Just 50 meters from city gate, it is perfectly placed for discovering the historic walled city, feasting on Caravaggio’s paintings and exploring the magnificent harbours. The hotel also boast magnificent 7 acre garden. The island's central bus terminus is just meters away civing the possibility to explore the whole island by bus. A stay at the Hotel Phoenicia is an unforgettable experience. Our charming staff will ensure your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Phoenicia Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Valletta
Phoenicia Hotel Malta
Hotel Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing