We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Phoenicia Malta
Nearby Hotels
US$254
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Ellul(Valletta)
US$364
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Castille Hotel(Valletta)
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Falconeria(Valletta)
US$282
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$264
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Osborne Hotel(Valletta)
US$241
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$196
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$301
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Palazzo Consiglia(Valletta)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Palais Le Brun(Valletta)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,430)
Filter reviews
2,430 results
Traveller rating
1,476
695
181
55
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,476
695
181
55
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub barthe palm courtphoenix restaurantthe businfinity poolgrand old ladyold world charmpublic roomselegant hotelmain restaurantold stylecity gatea harbour view roomstar hotelbuilding workmain gatewithout exception
Filter
Updating list...
1,145 - 1,150 of 2,430 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2013

My wife and I stay at the Phoenicia each year, and it is always such a pleasure to return to this great hotel. The reception staff, under the guidance of Neville Cardona are superb, and they always exceed what one would normally expect to make the stay memorable. The restaurants and bar are equally great, and the quality of service and food unsurpassed. We have got to know the staff so well over the years, and from housekeeping to management we are always delighted with the service. The gardens and swimming pool area are spectacular, and the detail of care throughout the building and grounds first class. My wife and I travel a great deal throughout the year - the Far East, Australia and Europe, but when we arrive at the Phoenicia, it's like coming home. A truly wonderful hotel

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the gardens, with views over the harbour are special, and corner suites spectacular. All rooms are furnished to the highest specification.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear David S,

I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with other Trip Advisor users, we highly appreciate your kind words. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Best regards

Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed here for four nights and had a great time. We had a suite which was very spacious, the lounge was very large and had two balconies and one off the bed room that faced the harbour. The bedroom was also very nice, well kept, equipt and a comfy bed.

The communal areas of the hotel were the highlight, the Palm lounge was a great place to relax, have a coffee and use the wi-fi and the bar and roof terrace area were another highlight and a great way to start and end the night with a drink.

The pool and surrounding bar / refreshments area were great and very relaxing and the pool itself was excellent.

The location of the hotel is was ideal too as only a few hundred yards from the centre as the hotel is on the edge of the city wall

I plan to visit Malta again some day as I would like to explore Gozo and Comino but definitley would base my self at the Phoenicia again as the hotel was one of the highlights of our trip.

Note we ate at the Phoneix hotel but I will review that separately.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear Alan222,

Thank you so much for such lovely comments, we’re so pleased you enjoyed the style and ambience of the hotel. We hope you’ll have a chance to enjoy the hotel again.

Kindest regards.

Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Fabulous. All things are perfect. Breakfast is delicious. Club bar has various things to offer. Pool are is stunning. You couldn't ask for more on a holiday. With the bus terminal area just next door you can hop on a bus and go wherever you want to go.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Midgeymoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear Midgeymoo1,

Thank you for sharing your comments with Trip Advisor readers. I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the future.

Best Regards

Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Phoenicia is an excellent destination to discover La Valetta. Everything is there: good taste, quality, cleanliness and exquisite personnel. Without mentionning the beauty of the garden and the swimming pool facing the harbour.
Only one missing point: no free wifi in the room which is quite surprising for such quality hotel.
Overall a great situation and finally a not so bad quality price ratio!!! (breakfast too expensive)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristineGabriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear ChristineGabriel,

Thank you for writing such a glowing review of your recent stay with us! Your wonderful comments are greatly appreciated and will serve as a wonderful motivator for our team. Sorry to hear you had a few minor issues, we will surely use your feedback as a learning opportunity.
We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Phoenicia!

Best Regards

Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This Hotel is more than perfect:) If we stay the next time at Malta we will only book the Phoenicia Hotel! 5 Stars are not enough... Great Pool-Area, nice Bar, very good Restaurant and perfect and total friendly Personal!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Ingo B,

Thank you for writing such a glowing review of your recent stay with us! Your wonderful comments are greatly appreciated and will serve as a wonderful motivator for our team.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Phoenicia.

Kind regards.

Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews