We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding personal attention”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Phoenicia Malta
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Marlborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding personal attention”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We have just returned from a holiday in Malta, split between Gozo and Valetta. We were overwhelmed by the quality of professionalism and customer care we were given by ALL the staff at the Hotel Phoenicia in Valletta. From the concierge, Sebastien who was super attentive, to all the front desk staff - Mario, Neville the Devil, Loredana , Louis and Saviour and even the chambermaids, everyone was keen to engage with us and make sure we were enjoying our stay which we did. It is a lovely hotel and has a very unique ambience that makes you feel relaxed. The view of the harbour from the pool is also fantastic. We will definitely return next year.
Matt G

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 67Mag100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Mr. Matt G,

Thank you for your glowing review! I am delighted to learn that your experience at the Hotel Phoenicia has met your expectations. Thank you for your kind comments about our team members, please rest assured that I will forward your comments to them. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,276
    638
    164
    53
    22
See reviews for
239
1,371
112
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

A truly lovely hotel in a perfect location. everything you could possibly want is available. The food was excellent in the restaurants and breakfast with a choice that will suite all but the most fussy. The era of the colonial Malta in the '30s oozes throughout and brings to mind simpler and more glamorous times. The welcome drinks from the manager was a lovely touch. I must also mention the club bar - truly world class. I can not think of anywhere better for visiting this lovely island.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear Stephen G,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We are truly delighted to learn that the Hotel, it's atmosphere and the service have been up to your expectations. I particularly wish to thank you for your comments about the Club Bar, please rest assured that you comments will be forwarded to the Club Bar staff. I hope we shall have the pleasure to welcome you back.

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We recently had a most enjoyable stay at the Phoenicia,and we were delighted to discover that the location was central to the many attractions that Valletta offered.From the moment we arrived to our final departure at 4am in the morning the welcome and courtesy extended by all the staff was second to none.After visiting many attractions during our stay it was always a pleasure to return to the hotel and enjoy the many facilities available and the ever present courtesy and attention of the staff.In short the hotel offered all the amenities that we expected and more.And we certainly hope to return for a further stay at the Phoenicia.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear Sheila T,

I’m happy to hear that your stay at the Hotel Phoenicia lived up to your expectations.
Rest assured I will certainly share your kind comments with the rest of our team.
We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Phoenicia in the future.
Kindest regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The location alone makes this hotel a real winner in my eyes and that's without all the other superb facilities that accompany being a guest at this splendid hotel.We'd just had a quiet relaxing week in Gozo and to arrive at the luxurious Phoenicia just a stone's throw from the main pedestrianised street in Valletta was my idea of heaven.As you leave the hotel,you turn left and walk around about a quarter of the ,more or less,circular bus terminal and you arrive at the old entance to the city in about 3 minutes;it's just great!

Stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and I must say the breakfasts were fully up to the standard you'd expect in a five star hotel with a hot and cold buffet and chef on hand to prepare your eggs just the way you like them.
I'm afraid I can't comment on the restaurants in the Phoenicia as,after a full week on hotel food in Gozo, I couldn't wait to get out and eat, al fresco,on the historic streets of Valletta.

My wife and I like a balcony with a view and that's exactly what we got.There are 28 rooms over 4 floors with the best views of the harbour,but only the first and second floors have full balcony,with the first floor having at least some smoking rooms.These balconies also get the afternoon/evening sun which is also high on our list of preferences-so be warned if you are not a sun lover.This was the best view that we'd ever had from a hotel.
Our room was was really nicely appointed and and kept immaculate by the excellent housekeeping staff.The pillows were fantastic and gave a great night's sleep.

The pool area is reached via a short walk through the very pretty gardens-about 2minutes.On some occassions we didn't get down to the pool until 11am and there were still plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas available.The only times I noticed a scarcity of beds was if I'd been off exploring and didn't arrive until about 4pm but even then there were beds available,just not in the best positions.
The pool isn't very large but more than adequate as it's licensed for 40 persons but I never counted more than around 16 people in it at any one time.
This area is served by a bar with a choice of drinks and food.

There was some form of entertainment every night,such as a pianist,guitar player or duo and they hold a tango night on Sunday evening.There is also a welcome evening with drinks but as this was 2 nights after we arrived,we absently minded forgot about it.

My wife and I wil definitely return to this fine hotel but next time we'll skip the week in Gozo and make for the phoenicia for the whole 2 weeks.

All the best,

Peter and Rosalind.

Room Tip: Go for a balcony room on the 1st or 2ndfloor with harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjrmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear Pjrmw,

Thank you for your positive and generous feedback. Your comments are highly appreciated. We hope you get the opportunity to stay with us again.

Kindest regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munxar
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We recently had the pleasure of staying at the Hotel Phoenicia again and what a treat it was! We have grown accustomed to the superb welcome and kindness of the Front Office staff and the excellent service in all other areas of the hotel too. My sister, who accompanied us on this particular visit, was overwhelmed by the friendliness of everyone that we met and will never forget the experience. We had delightful rooms overlooking the harbour and the comfort - as ever- was second to none! Thank you so much for our wonderful stay - we'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear Janie W,

Thank you for sharing your experience with all Tripadvisor travelers. I am delighted you and your sister have enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Phoenicia and I hope to see you soon on your next trip to Malta!

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here for the last night of our honeymoon. Luxurious suite with everything we could want including three balconies!
Walking distance into the historic area of Valetta and the waterfront. As the temperature was still really hot by the evening, we decided to eat in the hotel. A very good decision.
Pegasus restaurant was formal yet still comfortable friendly service. Beautiful food, fresh fish filleted at the table.
Although our usual choice would be a smaller boutique style hotel, this was very special and extremely good value so we’d choose this lovely hotel again next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear YorkshireHill,

I am glad that you have enjoyed you honeymoon at the hotel Phoenicia, and I wish to thank you for sharing this with other Trip Advisor readers. Congratulations on your wedding once again and I look forward to welcome you back to celebrate your first wedding anniversary.

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2013

My wife and I stay at the Phoenicia each year, and it is always such a pleasure to return to this great hotel. The reception staff, under the guidance of Neville Cardona are superb, and they always exceed what one would normally expect to make the stay memorable. The restaurants and bar are equally great, and the quality of service and food unsurpassed. We have got to know the staff so well over the years, and from housekeeping to management we are always delighted with the service. The gardens and swimming pool area are spectacular, and the detail of care throughout the building and grounds first class. My wife and I travel a great deal throughout the year - the Far East, Australia and Europe, but when we arrive at the Phoenicia, it's like coming home. A truly wonderful hotel

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the gardens, with views over the harbour are special, and corner suites spectacula...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear David S,

I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with other Trip Advisor users, we highly appreciate your kind words. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Best regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,769 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#6 of 15 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#3 of 15 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenicia Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenicia Malta

Property: The Phoenicia Malta
Address: The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenicia Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star luxury in Malta’s historic Art Deco hotel. Hotel Phoenicia, one of the leading 5 star hotels in Malta, is located at the City Gates of Valletta, Malta’s capital city and UNESCO heritage city. Just 50 meters from city gate, it is perfectly placed for discovering the historic walled city, feasting on Caravaggio’s paintings and exploring the magnificent harbours. The hotel also boast magnificent 7 acre garden. The island's central bus terminus is just meters away civing the possibility to explore the whole island by bus. A stay at the Hotel Phoenicia is an unforgettable experience. Our charming staff will ensure your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Phoenicia Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Valletta
Phoenicia Hotel Malta
Hotel Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing