We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Phoenicia Malta
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Madrid, Spain
1 review
“Very good value!”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at Phoenicia. The staff were very helpful and friendly.
It has perfect location since it is located withing a walking distance from the city centre.
The beds are very comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter_Nr_Uno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hotel Phoenicia with other Trip Advisor users. I am happy to learn that you have had a pleasant stay.

We look forward to welcome you back to the Phoenicia in the near future.

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,292
    644
    167
    53
    22
See reviews for
243
1,385
113
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (606)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
502 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Hardly the 5star comfort of a modern hotel but Phoenicia retains a charm and character from the past. Excellent location for visiting Valletta. Rooms modernised but with tv as you proudly owned in 1990, plastic shower curtain that sticks to you. Wonderful big washbasin and bidet too. Pity there was no heating in the bathroom in November.
Breakfast buffet very good. Oriental neighbours seemed delighted to fill their bags for the day.
Have stayed here several times and this was the first time we visited the gardens and pool area. Wonderful pool area- will be back in summer to benefit from this.
WiFi expensive at 5€ an hour.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear Michael C,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at the Hotel Phoenicia. I am glad to learn that you have enjoyed your stay over all.
Your comments and feedback are highly appreciated and will be taken as a learning opportunity which will enable us to improve our quality and service.
We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards
Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tripoli, Libya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

this hotel is NOT a 5 stars hotel, better 3,5 to be nice.....
my room, being a smoker, is in the parallel world of the first floor. I can see nothing from my window but verybody can see what I do considering that there are the anti-light curtains but no the light curtains. so I have to stay in the dark if I don't want that the people of the noble foors look inside.
than:
1. the shower hose is ful of rust and the pipe inside broken. water everywhere but not in the pipe;
2. treasury box never worked: 2 days ago they told me was a problem of battery... still waiting.
3. waiting always for the extra water you must receive: better ask for.
4. old doors with key weighing 1 kg
5. when they knck at the door, it seems an attack wih heavy weapons
6. room service: they don't know the difference between a jag and a thermos....
7. the moquette at the floow is old but old but old and dirty!
8. the trash bin never washed and of course they don't put plastic bag inside....

5 stars, yes of course.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Camminante2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunbridge Wells
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This is a lovely hotel - such a change from the places that you normally stay on business trips. It is visually very pleasing and has great staff. I thought the complementary drinks at 6.30 were a good way to meet people and find out about Malta. One thing that could be updated is the lighting in the rooms. I had to ask for a router to get wireless broadband in my room but that was not a problem. I'd definitely go back, on both business and pleasure.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shug100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Shug100,

Thank you for sharing your experience by writing a Trip Advisor review. We highly appreciate your comments. We thank you for recommending us to other travelers, and look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford on Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Our first visit to Malta, so cannot compare with the past. However, we were very pleased with all aspects of our stay at the Phoenicia. Booked as a package with Thomsons, standard room with half board.

Our room on 2nd floor faced out over Floriana (opposite side to Valletta) and the setting sun. Clean, good size (for "standard"), and no smells or noise! Food was very good for both Breakfast and Dinner. Table d'hote selection (included for us) in Phoenix restaurant changed daily and was always very good, in quality and quantity. The a la carte allowance (for use in either restaurant) was generous (being equivalent value) but we actually preferred the Table d'hote, generally.

All the staff were helpful and friendly. In particular, Carmen (Phoenix restaurant) deserves a special mention.

Probably not the best time of year to judge the hotel gardens but they are extensive with further good views and a nice walk in themselves. Pool area was quiet being somewhat off-season but would be a good spot on a hot sunny day.

The location of the hotel is perfect - both for Valletta and for buses to the rest of the island. Buses were excellent, routes, frequency and value. Much to see within walking distance of hotel in all directions.

More of a city break/historic attractions tour for us than a "sun holiday" so all in all a lovely week. Very likely to return to Malta and to the Phoenicia hotel, in particular.

Worth mentioning that there is a significant amount of building work going on currently - in prep for European City of Culture 2018, I believe. Spoils some of the photo opportunities but otherwise wasn't over-intrusive.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you so much for such a glowing review, I am so delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay at the Hotel. We highly appreciate your comments especially the comments about our team members.

We look forward to your next visit to the Phoenicia in the near future.

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Went back again from last year and I have to mark it a 3, staff do all they can to help but this is not a 5 star hotel no matter how nice the lounge area with piano and bar looks
The best rooms are on levels 3 and 4 I wouldnt bother staying anywhere else
We again stayed in the same room and the bathroom window was still broken and taped shut
My partner is a vegetarian and asked for a cheese and tom sandwich from room service only to be told "we have a set menu" now this isnt 5 star surely !!!!
You must also watch out for inconsistent charges for the room bill at the end of the stay, one member of staff charged for milk another one didnt ???
Best thing about this hotel is the Pegasus Restaurant this has come on leaps and bounds and Charles the head waiter is fantastic !!!
Oh told pool was heated so trotted down and it is a bit of a walk to the pool and it was freezing cold , was then told "oh it takes 2 days to heat up" ?? again is this 5 star ??
Location is great for bus station and Valletta you cant get a hotel closer than this one
Will stay elsewhere next time though
But Charles you are a credit mate

Room Tip: rooms on 3rd and 4th floors only !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tractorfactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

There are good points about this hotel. Its location next to the city gate, The staff are all obliging and very helpful.The breakfast is excellent consisting of a buffet with fresh fruit and good pastry plus cooked food if required The general areas are well furnished and comfortable.
Unfortunately the once pleasant roundabout with magnificent fountain has been changed into a bus-station with fast food sheds frequented by unemployed which you have to pass to get to the city.
Our first room given was over the kitchen with cooking smells and when we complained we were given another room facing the city entrance on the first floor. This was quite small with basic furniture and overlooked a derelict building and the messy refuse area for bottles tins and cardboard. The rooms with odd numbers face outwards and even inwards over the flat roofed area so as others have said better rooms are on floors 3 and 4
We ate in the main restaurant in the evening on three occasions twice was fine the 3rd night was awful so did not eat in there again but Pegasus was fine.
I have had much better rooms in 3 star hotels but the hotel would not rate 5 stars in the UK

Room Tip: Go for an odd number room on floor 3 or 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you for having shared your experience at the Phoenicia with other Trip Advisor users. I am sorry to learn that we have been unable to fully meet your expectations during your stay.

The square outside the hotel with the Triton Fountain is once again being used to accommodate some of the busses. We appreciate that the kiosks do look rather shabby, in the project of embellishment for Valletta which should be started relatively soon the square should become a pedestrian area and the kiosks removed. However these are things over which the hotel has no control as it is being organized by the local authorities.

We highly appreciate your comments about our team members and about our food and beverage outlets. We value your feedback and I assure you that it is taken as a learning opportunity in order to improve our guests’ experience.

I hope we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Phoenicia in the future.

Best regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,838 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,350 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,542 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#3 of 15 in Valletta
533 reviews
0.2 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#6 of 15 in Valletta
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenicia Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenicia Malta

Property: The Phoenicia Malta
Address: The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenicia Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star luxury in Malta’s historic Art Deco hotel. Hotel Phoenicia, one of the leading 5 star hotels in Malta, is located at the City Gates of Valletta, Malta’s capital city and UNESCO heritage city. Just 50 meters from city gate, it is perfectly placed for discovering the historic walled city, feasting on Caravaggio’s paintings and exploring the magnificent harbours. The hotel also boast magnificent 7 acre garden. The island's central bus terminus is just meters away civing the possibility to explore the whole island by bus. A stay at the Hotel Phoenicia is an unforgettable experience. Our charming staff will ensure your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Phoenicia Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Valletta
Phoenicia Hotel Malta
Hotel Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing