We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Phoenicia Malta
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This was our first time in Malta and we are very pleased we chose the Phoenecia. Maybe we were more fortunate than some of the other recent reviewers because although we did not have a balcony, we did have a harbour view room (third floor) with great views and, even more, a really excellent bathroom with its own window and a slightly different view of the fortifications around the city. The room was quite large, about 11 by 15 feet - with a lot of spare space either side of the 6 foot wide (!) bed. We liked the double shower option in the bath-tub (hand held and the fixed wall mounted shower, both with a rapid supply of hot water), the provision of a non-slip rubber mat in the bath and the spring-loaded washing line for drying 'undies'. The towels and the towelling dressing gowns were good as well. Compared to many 'continental' hotels it was a big surprise for us Brits to find a kettle and tea, coffee and milk supplies and also three-pin British power sockets! The room and bed were comfortable, with two easy chairs and lots of pillows. The TV took a long time to warm up but did have a large number of UK and US English language channels. We were particularly pleased to find that the windows (double glazed) in both the bedroom and bathroom were easy to open to allow fresh air to enter. The room temperature (without having to use the a/c - cool or warm) was easy to maintain at a sensible level, despite it being the end of November. Most of all we appreciated the room being really quiet, the unobtrusive but efficient staff and the very jolly atmosphere in the Club Bar, thanks to Pierre, the very genial barman. A final word of thanks goes to Mr Neville Juan Cardona: in all my many years of travelling around the world I have never before met a front office manager who, immediately I mentioned using the hotel's business centre to do our on-line airline check-in, volunteered to do it for for us - and, after swinging his computer screen around to let me choose our seats, produced the boarding cards two minutes later. I was most impressed! We will be back!

Room Tip: It seems to be right to say that the higher floors (3 and 4) are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RobfromKensington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell fellow travellers about your experience at the Hotel Phoenicia. The team and I were happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and found the accommodation suitable for your needs. We also highly appreciate your comments about our team members and will make sure that these comments are passed on to them.
Thank you for recommending our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards

Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

890 - 896 of 2,311 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

We enjoyed our stay at The Phoenicia. It's in a great location, close to Valletta and handy for the bus station. Our room was a good size and the 5ft bed very comfortable. The bathroom was a bit tired but not really worthy of complaint. Although the chrome taps etc. had seen better days, the glass shower screen was quite new and everywhere was clean. The food at breakfast was very good and very plentiful - even included sparkling wine should you want it! We had dinner in the bar and in the main restaurant and found the food very good. The staff in the main, were attentive and happy to please. I agree it's not a modern 5 star but I think to call it 4 star would do the restaurant and staff a disservice. We would be happy to return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Thank you for your kind comments following your recent visit at the Phoenicia, I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel especially the location, restaurant and our team members.

We all look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best wishes

Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Great location, nice sized airy room with comfortable bed and good sized bathroom ,if a little dated. the staff very friendly and helpful;relaxing main bar area with free wifi; the Club bar cosy and great for pre dinner drinks really enjoyed our 5 night stay -not at all worried by that old TV

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philbyLondon_Nice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Many thanks for the kind words you have shared with us on TripAdvisor. I am very pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay at the Phoenicia.

We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel could be wonderful. It has a lot of character but there are many small things which have to be improved:

- the AC does not work. It was very warm in the room so we didn't sleep very well. We mentioned it twice to the reception but they were not really interested and offered nothing to improve the situation.
- the bathroom is very old. A little rusty and we saw some mold. Furthermore there are 2 separate tabs in the sink.
- the minibar was never restocked. We stayed there 4 nights.
- the food was horrible and you never got the food as it was described on the menu. E.g. the toasted Sandwich was cold, the cheese plate came without the bread sticks, instead of bacon they served ham, my drink was served with whipped cream instead of milk. And a simple thing like a toast took almost an hour.
- the music in the bar was very loud so that it was impossible to have a conversation.
- the porridge I ordered for breakfast was burnt.

If they improve the service and food and do some renovations I am sure this can become a lovely hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
4  Thank Happy_Dog1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This was a first trip to Malta arranged to coincide with my 60th birthday. I travelled with family but took a double room for single occupancy so had plenty of space...
The welcome was warm and friendly, I was delighted to find a birthday card and lovely chocolate cake in my room, everyone gave us good advice. Harbour view so lovely.
I'd like to mention Doris on housekeeper duties, Jonathan, Sebastian and Francis on concierge, Carmen and Antony in the Phoenix plus Charles Azzopardi the general manager as going beyond regular service.
Location is ideal. Everything is either within walking distance or reached by bus from outside the hotel. Valletta is a safe and friendly city with lovely views, cosy restaurants, historic sites...
I can't imagine a better hotel for a first visit to Malta, and I would love to return one day.

Room Tip: Get a harbour view, and 3rd and 4th floors are non smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cantabile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review about your recent stay with us. I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We highly appreciate your comments about our team members and will ensure that your comments are forwarded to them.

I thank you for recommending us to fellow travelers, I hope to welcome you back very soon

Best Regards
Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at Phoenicia. The staff were very helpful and friendly.
It has perfect location since it is located withing a walking distance from the city centre.
The beds are very comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrotter_Nr_Uno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hotel Phoenicia with other Trip Advisor users. I am happy to learn that you have had a pleasant stay.

We look forward to welcome you back to the Phoenicia in the near future.

Best Regards

Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Hardly the 5star comfort of a modern hotel but Phoenicia retains a charm and character from the past. Excellent location for visiting Valletta. Rooms modernised but with tv as you proudly owned in 1990, plastic shower curtain that sticks to you. Wonderful big washbasin and bidet too. Pity there was no heating in the bathroom in November.
Breakfast buffet very good. Oriental neighbours seemed delighted to fill their bags for the day.
Have stayed here several times and this was the first time we visited the gardens and pool area. Wonderful pool area- will be back in summer to benefit from this.
WiFi expensive at 5€ an hour.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Dear Michael C,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at the Hotel Phoenicia. I am glad to learn that you have enjoyed your stay over all.
Your comments and feedback are highly appreciated and will be taken as a learning opportunity which will enable us to improve our quality and service.
We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards
Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,182 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
576 reviews
2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
364 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#2 of 15 in Valletta
180 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenicia Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenicia Malta

Address: The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range: £102 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenicia Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenicia, just re-opened after an extensive renovation programme, is one of the leading luxury hotels in Malta. Located at the City Gates of Valletta, Malta’s capital city and UNESCO heritage city, The Phoenicia is perfectly placed for discovering the historic walled city, feasting on Caravaggio’s paintings and exploring the magnificent harbours. The hotel also boast magnificent 7 acre landscaped gardens. The island's central bus terminus is just meters away giving the possibility to explore the whole island by bus. A stay at The Phoenicia is an unforgettable experience. Our charming staff will ensure your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Phoenicia Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Valletta
Phoenicia Hotel Malta
Hotel Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing