We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Recovery”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Phoenicia Malta
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Recovery”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

My family & friends stayed at The Phoenicia recently.
After I checked out & arrived at the airport to leave Malta, I discovered that I had left my camera charger & battery in the hotel room. I am most thankful that when I called up the hotel, the staff were able to arrange a taxi to return these items to me at the airport & just in time before my flight took off. I am most thankful to the hotel, especially to the gentleman staff who answered my call & arrange the taxi!
Also, I must say that Malta is an wonderful island filled with warmth & friendliness!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Cke23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear CKe 23,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hotel Phoenicia with other Trip Advisor users, I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure to be able to help you out even after your departure.
We look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,306
    648
    168
    53
    22
See reviews for
246
1,394
114
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (613)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delft, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We arrived on Saturday, 6 July, about 1 am with no reservation. Louis, the night desk clerk, arranged a room for us, had a colleague park our car, and worked with his excellent staff to secure a room for us for the week that we stayed.
The Phoenicia is one of the grand hotels of Europe. The lobby, reception area, dining area are reminders of a bygone era. The rooms in the older part of the hotel have a classic look to them. The newer rooms are sumptuous, also. The balconies overlook the harbour, and sunsets were a treat.
Breakfast is a wonder: in addition to all of the usual food served, there is a chef on hand to add a personal touch to everyone's request. The staff are always nearby to assure that the coffee and tea are to our desire, and that tables are cleared efficiently.
A walk through a well-attended garden brought us to the swimming pool. There is a bar serving drinks and food. The lounge chairs are in a shaded area. The staff provide towels.
We were in Valletta during their arts festival. We were able to see a theatre production in the hotel, as well as two concerts in various venues. We enjoyed all three experiences.
Leaving the hotel it takes just a few minutes to arrive in the heart of Valletta.
Writing this reminds me of the warm reception we received, and the care which was given to us during our stay at the Phoenicia.

Room Tip: The Phoenicia have classic rooms in the older part of the hotel and modern rooms in the newer part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Esther S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Esther S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review about your stay with at the Phoenicia. I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and I thank you for recommending us to fellow travelers, I hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kindest regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pershore, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I have stayed at The Phoenicia on many occasions over the years. In my opinion it has always been a Grand Hotel. It's position at the entrance to Valletta is second to none, you do not have to have a car as the main bus station is just one minute walk away and you can get to all parts of the Island at a very low cost. The staff at the Phoenicia are the Very Best of the Best, nothing is too much trouble for them. Whilst we have stayed at other 5 star hotels in Malta, we always return to the Phoenicia and hope it's not too long before we visit again.

Room Tip: As far as I am concerned all the rooms are of a high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michaelacallus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
I am delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay at the Phoenicia.

On behalf of all the Phoenicia Team members I would like to thank you for your lovely comments and look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel for 4 nights.

Having selected Valletta as the destination for a short break in November we chose the Phoenicia due to it's close proximity to the city.

Although we were a little nervous about some of the tripadvisor reviews we had read we needn't have worried!

The hotel interior has a classic style with plenty of charm & all areas of the hotel were kept immaculately clean at all times.

Our large corner room with large double aspect windows on the 4th floor had superb views over the grand harbour & was kept spotlessly clean throughout our stay.

The hotel offered a pleasant buffet dining experience at breakfast with a good choice & regular replenishment of food to keep it fresh, we can't comment on the evening dining as we ate out in Valletta every night of our stay.

All hotel staff were polite, friendly & efficient at all times & went out of their way to help wherever possible.

This hotel is perfectly located for exploring the spectacular city of Valletta.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveCKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
I am absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your time at the Hotel Phoenicia and that you liked the hotel and that you were happy with your room.
We are very proud of our team members and it is always pleasing to receive such kind comments as yours. I shall ensure that all of your kind comments are passed on to the team.

I hope that we do have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hotel Phoenicia in the near future.

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Out stay coincided with heavy rain so the weekend plan changed however the staff were friendly and very helpful. The food and service was excellent though the bar service was a little slow despite being quiet.

The central location is superb, however it was peaceful and relaxing within the hotel.

The facilities are limited, this however suits my approach to hotels -if you want a hotel as a centre of gravity during your visit then book a hotel, if you want a spa then visit a proper Spa!

A definite recommend for those wishing a central location within Valletta whilst maintaining a sense of calm and relaxation.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bordererxxv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and rating of the Phoenicia. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the hotel and found the location suitable for your needs.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Its a huge disappointment when turning up to a hotel expecting 5 star, you are met with a what can only be described as being given a very generous 3 star. Do not be lulled by the wonderful lobby, palm court bar area and very plush reception area. The rooms sadly let this hotel down massively. I can see that once upon a time, this hotel would have been a thriving modern 5 start hotel. It is now very tired and run down with bedroom furniture to match. The bathroom was basic - with two showers - one didn't work so clearly the answer is to install an additional one. Grime, muck and mould on the grouting, cracked tiles and chrome peeling from the sink area are amongst the many disappointing features this hotel has to offer. The flimsy shower curtain may once have been white but now sadly a hint of greying cream.
The bedroom was smaller than we expected and the furniture had seen better days - years in fact. Wicker drawers were well used and broken in places. Floor tiles were dented and cracked. Paint was peeling from the walls. Lampshades were likened to my great granny's and clearly the ledges had not seen a feather duster in quite a number of months. In the hallway, thread bare carpet seemed a fashion on every level.The bed was comfy but squeaked. Housekeeping were inclined to rustle their bin liners at around 8.00am each day and if you had managed to sleep through the noisy outside traffic - well done! Sound proofing has clearly not been invested in. And this was a superior room! We approached reception to ask if we had been given the correct room and explained the issues to be told that only floors 3 and 4 had been refurbished. Ours was no cheaper though! We explored and found a 5 star hotel in walking distance with an indoor pool, bar and facilities that a 5 start hotel guest expects and spent most of our time there- would recommend the Excelsior!
The hotel is handy for Valetta but having walked around Valetta, think long and hard before booking this hotel. There are many really lovely looking 3 star hotels in Valetta.
Staff were friendly enough and Sebastian deserves a special mention - very attentive and helpful. Facilities are sparse. One outdoor pool - a good walk away from the main hotel - no indoor pool. A gym that was very small and that is it! 5 star????? Really!

Room Tip: Look at a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chun831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This was our second time at the Phoenicia, but as our previous visit was seven years ago, we were naturally apprehensive that the hotel would not live up to our expectations. We need not have worried: the timeless quality of the hotel is wonderful to rediscover. The staff are friendly and super-efficient; nothing is too much trouble. We stayed four nights and ate in the Phoenix restaurant every night: it was a memorable experience with excellent food. The breakfasts were great and we took afternoon tea every day in the Palm Court Lounge. It could not have been better. There is an old-world charm to the hotel which we very much appreciated, but it has its feet firmly in the 21st century.
Renovations are under way in some of the bedrooms which will necessarily improve the bathroom facilities (our shower was a little tired) but the room was spotlessly clean and the chambermaids really conscientious.
This is the perfect spot for visiting Valletta: we shall definitely return!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gianlorenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
It is always great to read that our guests enjoy their stay at the hotel and find the location easily accessible. I am also glad that you found the team members to be very helpful.

I would like to thank you on behalf of all the Phoenicia team members, and look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,900 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,384 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,603 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
545 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#3 of 15 in Valletta
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenicia Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenicia Malta

Property: The Phoenicia Malta
Address: The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenicia Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenicia, just re-opened after an extensive renovation programme, is one of the leading luxury hotels in Malta. Located at the City Gates of Valletta, Malta’s capital city and UNESCO heritage city, The Phoenicia is perfectly placed for discovering the historic walled city, feasting on Caravaggio’s paintings and exploring the magnificent harbours. The hotel also boast magnificent 7 acre landscaped gardens. The island's central bus terminus is just meters away giving the possibility to explore the whole island by bus. A stay at The Phoenicia is an unforgettable experience. Our charming staff will ensure your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Phoenicia Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Valletta
Phoenicia Hotel Malta
Hotel Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing