We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Phoenicia Malta
Nearby Hotels
US$489
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$262
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$247
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$323
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Osborne Hotel(Valletta)
US$230
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
British Hotel(Valletta)
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$287
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$248
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Falconeria(Valletta)
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$258
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Ellul(Valletta)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
The Coleridge(Valletta)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,409)
Filter reviews
2,409 results
Traveller rating
1,460
691
180
55
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,460
691
180
55
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub barthe palm courtphoenix restaurantthe businfinity poolgrand old ladyold world charmpublic roomselegant hotelmain restaurantold stylecity gatea harbour view roomstar hotelbuilding workmain gatewithout exception
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
916 - 921 of 2,409 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our executive room stay, with Lloyd Loom furniture, and even a balconied, open view from the bathroom, completely un-overlooked! The upgrade to 30 euros pp per night extra to include dinner was well worth-while, and we were very happy with the set menu offer. Ideal location with access to anywhere from the bus station across the road. Ask at reception for the history of the hotel during war-time, and 1960s alterations.

Room Tip: The ambience of a well-run hotel with classic, and period fittings, was just what I hoped for. Late afternoon sun on the balconies was a joy.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Penny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear Penny T,

I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for such a glowing review. I am glad that you have found the hotel ambiance, the location and the restaurant to your liking.

I do hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards

Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This is an excellent hotel in a great position. First discovered Malta in 2009 and stayed in a Hotel just down the hill from the Phoenicia and were somewhat disappointed. In Oct 2012 returned to Malta and stayed in the Phoenicia and had a wonderful time. Booked to return July 1st this year and looking forward to a relaxing time with great service in a splendid location.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Safari065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear Safari065,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Phoenicia with other Trip Advisor users. I am glad to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and highly appreciate your recomendation.

We look forward to welcome you back in July.

Best Regards

Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Old palace great location 4-5 star hotel but with very small rooms. A bit overpriced but if you choose Valletta is very convenient and nice. Breakfast was good and staff very nice. The view from some of the hotel rooms is really nice. Would go there again

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
4  Thank Paako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Paako,

Thank you for your kind comments following your recent visit, I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel especially the location, breakfast and the team. We all look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best Regards

Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We very much enjoyed our 6-day stay. Position is superb for Valetta and buses. Facilities excellent with enormous Palm Court lounge which is most relaxing after a heavy days sightseeing. Staff helpful and friendly. The slightly old-fashioned atmosphere suited us well. We were lucky enough to get one of the 4 window tables for breakfast on one morning!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank aged_snapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear aged_snapper,

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review about your recent stay with us. I hope that we do have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hotel Phoenicia in the near future.

Best Regards

helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We arrived on a very cold, wet windy evening, which Mediterranean hotels are not built for but we were supplied with a plug in radiator and the room was soon cosy and comfortable. The hotel is in a perfect location by the entrance to Valletta and near the bus terminus from which the entire island can be easily visited and after a day sightseeing it was lovely to have only a road to cross to arrive at the hotel. Despite being close to roads the room was very quiet. The tea and coffee and toiletries were topped up every day. Breakfast is plentiful and varied and eggs are cooked to order.
We were pleased to have chosen to stay in this hotel, as the others we saw were less attractive and not ideally situated.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor overlooking the garden and harbour
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christine Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Christine Bob P,

Thank you for your kind words about your stay at the Phoenicia. I am glad to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and found our services and location to your satisfaction.

We hope we shall have the pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best Regards

Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews