We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Phoenicia Malta
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The Phoenicia is located within a three minute walk of the main gate to Valletta. It is in a perfect location for those not comfortable driving in Malta. All of the main sights and many excellent restaurants are no more than a 10-15 minute walk from the hotel.

The hotel service is exceptional. We dealt with three different concierges who secured reservations at excellent restaurants and hard to book locations such as the Hypogeum (normal wait 2-3 weeks per the guide books). The stall is uniformly excellent and friendly. The morning we left at 415 AM, without being asked, the staff prepared coffee, juice and pastries.

This is an old-world experience in a very positive sense. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Fourth floor harbor view rooms are the best. The views of the harbor are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BillAJXN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear BillAJXN,

It was great to read your feedback, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that you felt the team made you feel at home. I will surely share your comments with the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Malta in the future

Best Regards
Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

780 - 786 of 2,263 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

Why have I stayed some 14/15 times at the Phoenicia.Because it is simply the best hotel in Malta.The aim of management and staff is to make a guests' stay a most enjoyable and memorable experience.And in this they succeed admirablyFrom the General Manager to the most recent appointee the welcome is warm,sincere and genuine.My hotel is like a second home and I can pay it no higher compliment.I shall continue to return for as long as I can.

Room Tip: My preferences are for rooms overlooking the harbours or down into Il-Furjana.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank countms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Countms,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Hotel Phoenicia. We highly appreciate your kind words. We are happy to welcome you back to the hotel and and are counting down to your next visit.

Best Regards

Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

First class hotel, nothing is too much trouble for the staff, full of surprises, the swimming pool was only "discovered" on the last evening, to late to enjoy the heated outdoor pool. Proper freshly squeezed orange juice at breakfast, yes, the real stuff, not concentrate or pasturised, makes all the difference, lots of little touches that go the extra mile, very nice, recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Mr. Gary E.

Many thanks for leaving a review following your recent stay at the hotel. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you loved our location and our service.
We look forward to you returning soon.

Kindest regards

Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Staying at the Phoenicia Hotel is very much like taking a time capsule back to the colonial era when the sun never set on the British Empire. A lot of features you see around hark back to that age of grandeur and style and if the walls could speak they would probably play back Pathe News reruns of those bygone times. Even just for this, sleeping here is an amazing experience in itself.

Through the years there have surely been numerous upgrades and enhancements, but the character is all still there. If anything, now its richness is more enhanced with a warm patina that just cannot be manufactured or added from a designer's mood board.

If I had to nitpick two relatively small, almost microscopic flaws they would be the somewhat dated stainless steel hand-grabs on the bathtub and the poor internet connection. I have to stress that these were the experience in our room, so maybe it's not the same in others. You do have a wired internet connection which is adequate for working on a laptop, but that was the bare minimum ten to twelve years ago. Today I want super fast wifi on my bed without any hassles to connect from my phone.

Other than that, no other hotel in Malta even comes close to the refined status, heritage and superb location of this one.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Pizzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Pizzi,

Thank you for sharing such lovely comments about the Phoenicia. I am very pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We highly appreciate our guest's comments and I am pleased to inform you that we are currently installing WIFI throughout the hotel.

We do hope we shall have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Phoenicia.

Best Regards

Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Once again my wife and I experienced the grandeur of the Pheonicia Hotel, combined with the exceptional service given by all the staff members. The room and service was exceptional, especially having experienced booking difficulties with Thomas Cook. The management went to great lengths to ensure a special stay and we look forward to booking directly with the hotel for our next stay. The Pheonicia offers the excellence of days gone by combined with todays needs.

Room Tip: Evening entertainment for the older guest would encourage more use of the central lounge and greate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear David L,

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review about your recent stay with us.
I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and I thank you for recommending us to fellow travelers.

I look forward to welcome you back very soon

Kindest regards.

Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Ideally located for Valletta and bus station. Excellent hotel with beautiful clean linen and towels. Well decorated room with good facilities. Staff very helpful and friendly. Breakfasts excellent with wide choice. Deserving of its 5 star Maltese rating.

Room Tip: Third floor and above for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Mary T,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor, we highly appreciate your comments.

We do hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Phoenicia.

Best Regards

Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

From the moment our taxi pulled up outside the Colonial entrance we received excellent service. The staff were extremely helpful, sorting out trips for us, the best way to get to a certain place, booking taxis etc. Our room had a lovely harbour view and was spacious and clean albeit a little warm as the aircon was still in winter mode.
The hotel is perfectly situated to get into Valleta, just minutes to walk it or get one of the hop on hop off tours. The hotel can get you a reduced rate on these buses s well.
Breakfast was a feast if you wanted it to be, everything imaginable was there & if not they would get it for you.

Excellent throughly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheFloodys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear TheFloodys,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us at the hotel and it is particularly rewarding for us to receive such positive feedback.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards

Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,103 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,820 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,508 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#2 of 15 in Valletta
154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenicia Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenicia Malta

Address: The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range: £106 - £344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenicia Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenicia, just re-opened after an extensive renovation programme, is one of the leading luxury hotels in Malta. Located at the City Gates of Valletta, Malta’s capital city and UNESCO heritage city, The Phoenicia is perfectly placed for discovering the historic walled city, feasting on Caravaggio’s paintings and exploring the magnificent harbours. The hotel also boast magnificent 7 acre landscaped gardens. The island's central bus terminus is just meters away giving the possibility to explore the whole island by bus. A stay at The Phoenicia is an unforgettable experience. Our charming staff will ensure your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Phoenicia Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Valletta
Phoenicia Hotel Malta
Hotel Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing