We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Old Style Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Phoenicia Malta
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Good location. Spacious public rooms. Good staff. Comfortable room. OK breakfast but not great. Other meals pretty good. Service sometimes a bit slow in Palm Court Lounge. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Room Tip: View of Valetta Harbour needed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Mark O,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Phoenicia with other Trip Advisor users.

Your comments are much appreciated and will only ensure that we strive even harder in our efforts to enhance our standards of quality and services.

I hope we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel in the future.

Best Regards

Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

848 - 854 of 2,345 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

To start I am not going to criticise anyone. Every member of staff we met was welcoming, polite and helpful and the Hotel oozes British Colonialist style, which is not surprising; given its history.
My comments are more to do about those little things that one expects in a 5 star hotel and which were unfortunately missing.
Only one set of cutlery at breakfast, no butter knife etc. One had to go looking for any extra cutlery.
No tea pots, a pot of hot water and tea bags with which one made one’s own tea and had to go looking for a dish in which to discard one’s tea bag.
The room we occupied was ‘tired’. The carpet was stained, a bedside light did not function and the pedal bin in the bathroom should have been scrapped some time ago along with the filthy toilet brush.
So, wonderful old building, wonderful staff but not 5 stars.
We live on the islands of Malta and know what to expect

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Mick C,

I would like to thank you for staying at the Hotel Phoenicia and for taking time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. I am glad to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We highly appreciate your feedback, please rest assured that it has been taken on board. I have already informed the relevant Heads of Department about your comments and I am confident that action will be taken to improve our guests' experience.

I would like to thank you for taking the time to bring these matters to my attention. I truly hope that we may have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Hotel Phoenicia in the future.

Best Regards

Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Had a week here in March and cannot fault the place. Staff were without exception helpful and friendly. Biggest plus though has to be location, a gentle stroll into Valetta with a great choice of attractions. Super little theatre in the St John Cavalier arts centre highly recommended.The Bus Station could not be any closer. If exploring the island, a 1.50 euro ticket gives all day travel and the bus services are excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Robedith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Roberdith,

I am so grateful that you took the time to share your experience with others. Thank you for choosing us and for recommending us to fellow travelers. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Phoenicia in the future.

Best Regards

Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

What a fantastic hotel.Stayed for a week from 17th March and thoroughly enjoyed every minute.We were given a very warm welcome when we arrived and without us knowing a note was made of the fact that it was my husbands Birthday and on returning to our room on the day a birthday cake & card was waiting for him! Such a lovely thought - Thank You- it made his day.

The concierge (Sebastian ?) was very helpful in recommending a lovely restaurant and was available to answer any questions we might have.

What can I say about the breakfast - you could not wish for anything more.The choice was amazing - catering for all needs from Fruit & yogurt - cereal - pastries - continental -to a full English which was available in a separate room and with the choice of eggs - omelettes all freshly cooked.The waiting staff were always friendly and greeted you with a smile.

The room was spacious and immaculately cleaned and serviced daily - nice flat screen TV ( although after a day sightseeing we were so tired we didn't watch much! ) The bed was so comfortable and the pillows the most comfortable I have ever had in a hotel.

Bathroom was a good size - with plenty of hot water & towels - maybe could do with a little updating (shower) but was fine for us.

Tea & Coffee was always replenished daily and was good to have a Safe in the room.

We had a wonderful stay - the staff here are obviously proud of their Hotel - it shows in their enthusiasm and the fact that they go out of their way to make your stay a memorable one. We have fallen in love with Malta - and the Hotel Phoenicia and will definitely be returning.

Stayed: March 2014
4  Thank Rosemarie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Rosemarie P,

I am absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your time at the Hotel Phoenicia and that you liked the hotel and that you were happy with your room. I am especially pleased that you found our breakfast up to your expectations.
We are very proud of our staff and it is always pleasing to receive such kind comments as yours. We constantly endeavour to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is always satisfying to hear that these efforts are noticed. I shall ensure that all of your kind comments are passed on to the team and that their service is duly rewarded.
I hope that we do have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hotel Phoenicia in the near future.
Yours sincerely,
Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The location is unsurpassed and was chosen in part to avoid steep ascents and descents into the old town. The common areas are elegant, well maintained and the beds are very comfortable. It is full of charm and atmosphere which you cannot find in a modern hotel. If you really set out to find things to criticise or improve upon you may find one or two but these are totally outweighed by the uniqueness of the place and the thoughtful and friendly staff who are striving to make your stay a really good one. I would definitely book there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank uji963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear uji963,

Thank you for your kind comments following your recent visit, I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel especially the location and the team. We all look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards

Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The Phoenicia is located within a three minute walk of the main gate to Valletta. It is in a perfect location for those not comfortable driving in Malta. All of the main sights and many excellent restaurants are no more than a 10-15 minute walk from the hotel.

The hotel service is exceptional. We dealt with three different concierges who secured reservations at excellent restaurants and hard to book locations such as the Hypogeum (normal wait 2-3 weeks per the guide books). The stall is uniformly excellent and friendly. The morning we left at 415 AM, without being asked, the staff prepared coffee, juice and pastries.

This is an old-world experience in a very positive sense. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Fourth floor harbor view rooms are the best. The views of the harbor are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BillAJXN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear BillAJXN,

It was great to read your feedback, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that you felt the team made you feel at home. I will surely share your comments with the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Malta in the future

Best Regards
Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Why have I stayed some 14/15 times at the Phoenicia.Because it is simply the best hotel in Malta.The aim of management and staff is to make a guests' stay a most enjoyable and memorable experience.And in this they succeed admirablyFrom the General Manager to the most recent appointee the welcome is warm,sincere and genuine.My hotel is like a second home and I can pay it no higher compliment.I shall continue to return for as long as I can.

Room Tip: My preferences are for rooms overlooking the harbours or down into Il-Furjana.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank countms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Countms,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Hotel Phoenicia. We highly appreciate your kind words. We are happy to welcome you back to the hotel and and are counting down to your next visit.

Best Regards

Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,234 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
587 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#2 of 15 in Valletta
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
367 reviews
2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,971 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenicia Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenicia Malta

Address: The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range: £117 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenicia Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenicia, just re-opened after an extensive renovation programme, is one of the leading luxury hotels in Malta. Located at the City Gates of Valletta, Malta’s capital city and UNESCO heritage city, The Phoenicia is perfectly placed for discovering the historic walled city, feasting on Caravaggio’s paintings and exploring the magnificent harbours. The hotel also boast magnificent 7 acre landscaped gardens. The island's central bus terminus is just meters away giving the possibility to explore the whole island by bus. A stay at The Phoenicia is an unforgettable experience. Our charming staff will ensure your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Phoenicia Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Valletta
Phoenicia Hotel Malta
Hotel Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing