We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful hotel in a wonderful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Phoenicia Malta
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delightful hotel in a wonderful location”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our first visit to Malta and chose The Phoenicia because of its excellent location. Arriving with piano music playing in the foyer, friendly, helpful staff quickly taking us to our room which was delightful, with balcony overlooking a harbour. The atmosphere in the hotel was relaxed, with excellent service. We enjoyed swimming and relaxing by the pool before exploring Valletta literally on the doorstep. The stay was far too short and would very much like to return.

Room Tip: We paid extra for a good view and it was worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Margaret T,

Thank you for sharing your experience with all Tripadvisor travelers. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Phoenicia and I hope to see you again soon for a longer stay.

Kind regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,293
    646
    167
    53
    22
See reviews for
243
1,387
113
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My family and I spend a week at the Phoenicia Valletta from 7th - 14th April. It was wonderful. we had two rooms next to each other. It was a special trip kind of in memory of my Dad who spent time in Malta while doing his National Service.
The hotel was clean. The room was cleaned each day and the head housekeeper asked us each day if we were happy with how clean our rooms were.
The staff were all friendly and warm. We had help from them to organise a trip to Gozo and suggestions for places to visit.
The breakfasts were brilliant and the furnishings and decoration was first class.
The staff serving breakfast were happy and quick to refill coffee and tea.
The swimming pool area was lovely and quiet and clean. Food and drinks were great.
View from there was fantastic.
There is absolutely nothing bad to say about this Hotel or this location or this holiday.
Even the weather was lovely!
We had our children with us aged 13 and 16. They loved it too.

Room Tip: Our rooms were on the third floor. The view was not of the harbour but we could see wonderful church...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridget B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Bridget B,

Thank you so much for your great comments on the staff and service, your support of the hotel is hugely appreciated. We look forward to continuing to welcome you back to Hotel Phoenicia for more exceptional experiences.

Best regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

As the base for our visit to Malta it was an excellent location. The hotel is fine, price a little more than we would like to have paid and the level of service from all the staff encountered was excellent.

Positives:
The pool and our early morning swims, the wine on Thursday evening although we felt it was a softening event for the buffet (not accepted). Really friendly and helpful staff.
Negatives:
Rooms look good but carpets splattered with paint. For this price would expect a breakfast included even though prefer to take breakfast in small cafes.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NETraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear NETraveller1,

Thank you for sharing your experience with all Tripadvisor travelers. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Phoenicia. Your feedback is highly appreciated and will help us improve on our standards of quality and service.

I hope to see you again soon

Kind regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We had a most enjoyable stay at the Phoenicia. The staff are helpful, friendly and efficient. Helena, the customer relations manager is excellent. The rooms are large and clean. They have a safe, mini-bar, and facilities to make tea of coffee. Beds very comfortable with plenty of pillows. The breakfast was excellent, with many hot and cold options, as well as the many products of the local baker.The hotel has extensive grounds with plenty of trees to provide shade on hot days. They also grow their own vegetables. There are two restaurants and an excellent bar. The hotel is perfectly placed to walk into Valletta(just around the corner). The bus station is 800yards away, with services all over Malta. A weekly ticket is €6.50, a bargain. We both thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Phoenicia and are looking forward to our next visit

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 811VernonB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear 811VernonB,

We are happy you chose the Hotel Phoenicia for your recent trip tp Malta and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your lovely comments about our team and we all look forward to welcoming you back when you’re next in Malta.

Kindest regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The Hotel is ideally situated for those seeking both the history and architecture of Malta, and in particular Valletta. 7 acres of gardens provide a haven in a bustling city We could not fault the services provided by the hotel, the staff being not only very efficient, but also extremely friendly!
Built in the 1940's, the hotel itself has a fine pedigree and the staff take a genuine interest in their guests.
Cannot fault this hotel!

Room Tip: Valletta is undergoing rennovation so quieter side overlooks gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank till55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear till55,

Thank you so much for your great comments on the staff and service, your support of the hotel is hugely appreciated and we look forward to continuing to welcome you back to Hotel Phoenicia for more exceptional experiences.

Kindest regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Located just outside Valletta city walls right next to bus station - handy for getting round island and only 6euro 50 for a 7 day unlimited use ticket! Hotel clean although some areas seem dated and worn. Staff pleasant and helpful. Pleasant gardens but a bit of a walk to the pool, good views when you get here. Despite being in town and close to bus station the rooms were quiet and a good size and the beds comfortable, only down side the air conditioning was actually air heating, controlled centrally and set at 25c for the Maltese winter! much too hot for us so had to have it turned off and a fan provided along with having the window open constantly. We stayed B&B - the buffet style breakfast was OK although would have preferred to have a pot of coffee rather than someone coming round refilling the cup and would have liked to choose where we sat rather than being seated. Didn't eat in restaurant in the evenings as there are loads of good cafes in town but did have some sandwiches in the Palm Court lounge which were good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Joan R,

Thank you for your kind comments following your recent visit, I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and the location. We all look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards

Helena.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford England
Level Contributor
107 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I have reviewed this hotel previously and as recently as October 2013, so this one can be short.
Stayed for a week very recently and had one of the newly refurbished rooms on the 3rd floor. Very comfortable with a double bed. Has bathrobes, slippers, trouser press, safe, and plenty of towels with an abundance of different size pillows.
Had my evening meal in the Phoenix Restaurant which was adequate. My only comment which applies to almost any hotel these days is that the amount of vegetables provided would not satisfy a child. There was the token carrot or green bean etc.
In an excellent location, yards from the bus station and right opposite the hop on/hop off bus stop. Don't let the close proximity to the bus station put you off, rooms are well soundproofed. Also the weekl;y bus pass ticket price has been reduced to 6Eurs, obtainable from the kiosk at the bus station - one minute from the hotel

Will be back in October

Room Tip: Room 327 is a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryStaffordEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear TerryStaffordEngland,

Thank you for writing such a lovely review of your recent stay with us. Your comments are greatly appreciated and will serve as a wonderful motivator for our team.
Sorry to hear you had a few minor issues, we will surely use your feedback as a learning opportunity.
We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Phoenicia.

Kind regards
Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,846 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,355 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,546 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#3 of 15 in Valletta
535 reviews
0.2 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#6 of 15 in Valletta
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenicia Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenicia Malta

Property: The Phoenicia Malta
Address: The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenicia Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star luxury in Malta’s historic Art Deco hotel. Hotel Phoenicia, one of the leading 5 star hotels in Malta, is located at the City Gates of Valletta, Malta’s capital city and UNESCO heritage city. Just 50 meters from city gate, it is perfectly placed for discovering the historic walled city, feasting on Caravaggio’s paintings and exploring the magnificent harbours. The hotel also boast magnificent 7 acre garden. The island's central bus terminus is just meters away civing the possibility to explore the whole island by bus. A stay at the Hotel Phoenicia is an unforgettable experience. Our charming staff will ensure your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Phoenicia Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Valletta
Phoenicia Hotel Malta
Hotel Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing