We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Phoenicia Malta
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Well appointed and well located it deserves its official 5 star rating. Evening meals in the Phoenix restaurant were superb with attentive staff and plenty of room between the tables. The buffet breakfasts in the same location were comprehensive with the option of freshly cooked hot dishes. The Palm Court bar and food relaxed and good with a piano player most evenings. Room service prompt with good food.
Staff throughout were efficient, helpful, attentive and polite.
We were on the third floor looking north west over Marsamxett Harbour and the hotel gardens. Room more than adequate in size with a good sized bathroom. Clean, tidy and well looked after (being picky there was the odd paint spot on the carpet). We may have had very quiet neighbours but there was almost no noise and even the sound of hall doors closing was limited.
Not hot enough to require the aircon but a notice suggested that it turned itself off if sensors detected no movement in room or that a window was open; this might be a problem during the night or if trying to cool a room in the evening while occupants in the restaurant.
Ideal location just outside the main entrance to Valletta old city and about 4 minutes walk to the bus terminal.
Pool and bar not tried (bit chilly) but looked welcoming and reached by a surprisingly long walk through the gardens.
Nothing adverse to say at all, and we are looking to return again next year.
AndrewD

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cavalier31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear AndrewD,

I thank you for such positive a feedback. I was extremely pleased to read your full satisfaction regarding our high level of service. I look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Phoenicia.

Best Regards

Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

826 - 832 of 2,340 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

I booked this hotel based on the majority of reviews. If you are planning to stay in Valletta then look no further. Ideally situated close to the main bus terminal makes travelling around the island very easy. A daily ticket for unlimited travel costs 1.50 euro per person, not quite as much fun now the old yellow buses have gone! The hotel us spotlessly clean, all staff friendly and helpful and could not fault the standard of our room, even down to small details as having enough plugs and in the right place! We had room 202 with a balcony and lovely views over the harbour. We chose to pay for breakfast at 15 euro per person. It was worth every penny. Usual choices of cereals, pastries cold meats, cheese etc. also beautifully cooked bacon, sausages and eggs cooked to order. The grounds of the hotel are lovely, the pool area has obviously recently been refurbished and has a great view of the harbour. We didn't eat in the main restaurant so can't comment but had a couple of meals in the club bar, excellent service, reasonably priced and good quality ( wonderful cocktails too! ) I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear jan054,

I am really delighted to read your comments and that you enjoyed your stay and the service provided by the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kindest regards

Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

My mother and I stayed at the phoenicia for an easter break and were so pleased with the choice. it was convenient to walk into Valetta, room was very comfortable and airy. We enjoyed also some of the hotel's restaurants on days that were rainy. We didn't really get the chance to explore the hotel's gardens and pool but these looked great particularly later in the season. It's worth pre-ordering breakfast at the time of booking. Free wifi throughout the building.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Rachel Z,

We are happy to hear you particularly enjoyed the location and found everything you needed close to the hotel. We’d love to welcome you back soon,

Kindest regards.

Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Situated just outside of the walls of the old city, with convenient parking this hotel is ideal for exploring Valetta. The public rooms are an extraordinary flourish of Art Deco grandeur with some excellent clubby feel restaurants and bars - well worth a visit even if you aren't staying.

As to the rooms themselves after the public areas in all honesty they're a bit of a leg down not bad.. But not exactly inspired. The corridors can be a little noisy as well. All in all a good choice for the city - as long as you don't intend to spend lots of time in the room.

Stayed: April 2014
3  Thank Squaremeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Squaremeal,

Thank you for sharing your experience with all Tripadvisor readers. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Phoenicia. Your feedback is important to us as it helps us improve our guests' experience.
I hope you get the opportunity to stay with us again.

Best Regards

Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

A wonderful hotel with friendly, helpful staff. Immaculate rooms and they are a good size. The food was amazing cannot fault the place. Would definitely recommed all my friends and family. The hotel location is good, close to city centre and short walk to the water front.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Hannah C,

I am delighted that your stay at the Phoenicia lived up to your expectations. I thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor and for your recommendation to other Trip Advisor users.

I look forward to welcome you back to the Phoenicia in the future.

Best regards

Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Decided a Maltese Easter break was due so booked to come away for a week. Staff as usual were very welcoming, many remembering who we were which makes you feel special. Room on second floor was fine as usual, just a shame weather wasn't better - only saw the sun one day out of seven. Enjoyed the coach trip to see the various Easter exhibitions and once again loved the presentation by Dr Timmy Gambin on the Great Seige. Had a delicious Sunday Easter meal in the Phoenix restaurant and enjoyed watching the dancing the other night. We never tire of the city of Valletta as there us so much to see and do. Don't worry we will be back later this year God willing!

Room Tip: The standard room is absolutely fine. We have stayed in all types here and love the standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PaulNJSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Paulnjsmith,

I’m very pleased to note that your stay at the Phoenicia, once again, lived up to your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards

Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We did pay for a suite which added to the pleasure of our stay. Great views from all three, yes three balconies. We were lucky with the weather for early April, which I know helps. The staff were friendly and helpful, the hotel is in a fabulous position and beautifully kept.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Hazel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Hazel B,

Thank you for sharing your experience with all Tripadvisor travelers. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Phoenicia. On behalf of the Management and staff, we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards

Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,232 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
584 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#2 of 15 in Valletta
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
366 reviews
2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,966 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenicia Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenicia Malta

Address: The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range: £119 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenicia Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenicia, just re-opened after an extensive renovation programme, is one of the leading luxury hotels in Malta. Located at the City Gates of Valletta, Malta’s capital city and UNESCO heritage city, The Phoenicia is perfectly placed for discovering the historic walled city, feasting on Caravaggio’s paintings and exploring the magnificent harbours. The hotel also boast magnificent 7 acre landscaped gardens. The island's central bus terminus is just meters away giving the possibility to explore the whole island by bus. A stay at The Phoenicia is an unforgettable experience. Our charming staff will ensure your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Phoenicia Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Valletta
Phoenicia Hotel Malta
Hotel Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing