We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'A great hotel experience'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Phoenicia Malta
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Worthing, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“'A great hotel experience'”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

A very grand hotel located in the heart of Valetta so very close to the shops, tourist attactions and the harbour. The main bus termius which has great connections to other towns such as Silema is less than 5 minutes walk from the hotel.

All of the staff right from the front desk to the concierge, cleaning staff and the resturant personel were friendly, courteous and professional and delivered first class service and were always willing to go the extra mile to help us.

The standard of food for breakfast (choice of continental and/or full English buffet) and on the one occaision that we had dinner/buffet was outstanding.

Room was clean and spacious and although our room was standard we had an adequate number of 'personal touches' such as slippers, dressing gowns, large flat screen tv plus free and good quality internet connection throught the hotel.

In summary we would have no hesitation coming back to this hotel based on this experience and there were no negatives for us at all.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norton G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Norton G,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts on your recent stay with us. I was really happy that you enjoyed your stay and we met your expectations in terms of facilities and specially the service we provided.

We look forward to welcome you again to the Phoenicia.

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,270
    636
    164
    53
    22
See reviews for
238
1,367
112
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (599)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile


Top location, grounds, pool, staff, breakfast. Comfortable bed in a fair sized room. Would use again.

This is so close to Valetta which is a city jewel in itself, you are spoiled for choice for stunning destinations within level walking.

Then we have the proximity to the bus station about 4 minutes away. Just buy a one day ticket for €1.50 which lasts for any buses all day. Unbelievable.

Dined just one meal here and was the Sunday buffet. More choice than you could shake a spoon at.

Used the services of the knowledgable concierge to book a harbour cruise which was cheaper than we could have done it - and door to door service!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear bandp2,

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review, I am so grateful that you took the time to share your experience with others.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to the Phoenicia!

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

If you want to be in the centre of things rather than lazing on a pool-side sun-lounger then Hotel Phoenicia is the place to stay. It has been described as 'old-style colonial' and, certainly, it is very grand, outside and in. According to taste, visitors might find the décor somewhat overwhelming, but the public spaces are cool and very roomy. We had booked a 'Harbour View' room and would certainly recommend that. Such an upgrade (actually on Floor 4) with commanding views across Grand Harbour and, because of its corner aspect in the building, across Pieta Creek too. Make sure that the internal sliding windows are firmly closed when you want air conditioning otherwise it will not work no matter what you do with the switch.
Room service of every description was available, but, on half-board we dined in the Phoenix Restaurant where the service was efficient and friendly. A huge choice buffet breakfast, however, tended to be a bit of a scrum and the service was not so slick.
We enjoyed several conversations with the knowledgeable front-of-house staff and a problem we had with the afore-mentioned air-conditioning switch was solved immediately.
Hotel Phoenicia is very good, but not perfect and during our stay let itself down with a few minor aberrations. Its location made up for those easily: no distance at all to Valletta's main gate; only yards to the central bus station from where visitors can travel the island, efficiently, comfortably and at little cost. We like Malta very much and Hotel Phoenicia could very well accommodate us on a return visit.

Room Tip: Corner rooms on the higher floors allow cooling air flow during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OldiePlymouth_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear OldiePlymouth_UK,

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review about your recent stay with us.

I hope that we do have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hotel Phoenicia in the near future.

Kindest regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

This is my third time at this hotel, we where welcomed liked one of the family by all of the staff it was as though we had not been away. Each day they could remember our preferences as well as a wonderful warm greeting.
All the public rooms spotless the same as the bedroom. We arranged via the hotel to visit the Hypergeum and they suggested going to Temples first and using a private taxi - so glad we did it all added to the experience. Next thing we know a message had been left for us from reception about the Spring Show that we had been asking about it gave us the opening
Times both days this is what you call service, thanks.
We tried the buffet nights on three occasions the Maltese ones on a Thursday and a Sunday night, the range of food very good on all occasions and gave you a good taster of Maltese food.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Janice W,

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor review, It was great to read your comments, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel again.

We look forward to your next visit to the Phoenicia.

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is a lovely old-fashioned large hotel, lots of space in public rooms and bedrooms and very friendly, helpful staff. The location is excellent for strolling in to Valletta where there are loads of sights to see and no parking closer than the hotel! Being close to the bus station is like having taxi available but much cheaper (weekly ticket is excellent value). Buses are frequent and Valletta is the central terminus.
Breakfasts are great with lots of choice. We chose b&b but opted in on the first night, food was stylish and tasty. The Maltese buffet evening on Thursday night allowed us to try local dishes, that was good too.
We would recommend this hotel and expect to return.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms provide ashtrays, if I had thought I would have asked for a nonsmoking room, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerryandlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Gerryandlinda,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts on your recent stay with us. I am really happy that you enjoyed your stay and we met your expectations.

I look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We went into the Phoenicia this afternoon, hoping for a cream tea in luxurious surroundings after a tiring day in Valletta. We arrived at 4pm, afternoon tea is served from 3pm until 5pm. Not today though. We were informed that no further orders would be taken for cream teas due to a lack of scones. We asked how long it would be before scones were ready (assuming that they are one of the quickest things to bake!). One hour. Disappointed we ordered a sandwich and tea. At 4.30 we noticed that scones were being served (but not our sandwich). No attempt by anyone to come across and mention that scones were now available. At 4.45 our sandwiches arrived. Perfectly edible, but not a cream tea! Not a great impression of a high grade hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot
Level Contributor
121 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

A fabulous hotel, gracious and comfortable with very attentive and friendly staff. I don't have a bad word to say about my 4 night stay in May 2014. Breakfast, if ordered on arrival, is only €14.50 and was amazing, a great start to the day. The hotel is situated at the city gate of Valetta, a minute's walk away. The bus terminal (very easy to use) and taxi rank is next door. The hop on, hop off sightseeing buses stop right outside. It's worth having a room with a harbour view which is spectacular and ever changing. Watch the sun set and rise as it bathes the island in a warm hue is a pleasure. There are no inflated 5* prices for food or drink and relaxing in the Palm Lounge with a very large, cool glass of Sauvignon for €5 can't be bad. I've 'done' Malta in sightseeing terms but this hotel alone will bring me back and stay on my list of 'greats'.

Room Tip: A high floor with a harbour view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear WendyHP,

Many thanks for the kind words you have shared with us on Trip Advisor. I am very pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay at the Hotel Phoenicia. Thank you for your recommendation.

We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,763 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#6 of 15 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#3 of 15 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenicia Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenicia Malta

Property: The Phoenicia Malta
Address: The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenicia Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star luxury in Malta’s historic Art Deco hotel. Hotel Phoenicia, one of the leading 5 star hotels in Malta, is located at the City Gates of Valletta, Malta’s capital city and UNESCO heritage city. Just 50 meters from city gate, it is perfectly placed for discovering the historic walled city, feasting on Caravaggio’s paintings and exploring the magnificent harbours. The hotel also boast magnificent 7 acre garden. The island's central bus terminus is just meters away civing the possibility to explore the whole island by bus. A stay at the Hotel Phoenicia is an unforgettable experience. Our charming staff will ensure your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Phoenicia Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Valletta
Phoenicia Hotel Malta
Hotel Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing