We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lovely pool and garden” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Phoenicia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Phoenicia
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely pool and garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Phoencia for 3 nights -we very much enjoyed the location- just outside the walled old city of Valletta. Also, right outside the hotel is a major bus turnaround as well as taxis stands and the hop on hop off tourist buses stop here-so a great location to see Malta from. You don't need a car as its a perfect base for seeing Valetta and surroundings on foot, by short ferry rides or bus.

The hotel is an older style hotel, elegant lobby, lovely garden and outdoor pool. Staff were uniformly pleasant. We didn't try the afternoon tea-but I would have liked to - as it was a lovely room.

On check-in they noted we hadn't booked breakfast and offered us the discounted rate- we took this for the 3 days- it was a good idea- as there wasn't much close for breakfast and the breakfast was extensive and worth it. Made to order eggs, lots of cold and hot items- all very good- my only minor complaint is the coffee wasn't particularly good ( in fact I didn't find a good coffee in Valetta at all-except for the one at the coffee place at the airport).

One minor concern was the travel desk, where the person claimed to be able to get us tickets to the Hypogeum - I had tried online and they had been booked 6 weeks in advance -- she promised us tickets at a premium price- we paid and then she didn't come through and had to refund us- we got our money back no problem, but were a bit annoyed by the whole thing- as she shouldn't have claimed to have the tickets in the first place- in that quality of hotel, they should be more careful of which travel companies are allowed to man their tourist desk.

Room was spacious-we didn't have a view-but we were not in the room until well after dark anyway.The bathrooms are older style- shower in the bathtub- but everything worked. Bed was very comfortable, temperature control in the room worked very well.

One thing that surprised us was that there was a sign in the bathroom telling us not to drink the water, yet none was provided (except at 4.50 Euro for a tiny bottle in the minibar- which was overpriced, especially since you can get 1.5 liter for 1.5 Euro around the corner from the hotel. They do however provide you with a kettle to boil the water and cups and instant coffee and tea bags-The water isn't actually unfit for drinking-its perfectly safe- it just doesn't taste good- as it is obtained by reverse osmosis from sea water and then heavily chlorinated- so it was best to make tea with bottled water otherwise it didn't taste very good.

All in all for the price we paid through Expedia I think this was a great location, nice staff, great breakfast and nice large comfortable room.

Room Tip: We didn't ask for a view- but they have some rooms with balconies that might be nice Also, if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TW53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Phoenicia, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear TW53,

Thank you for your comments about the hotel and for sharing your experience at the Phoenicia. It is great to read you enjoyed your stay and we were able to meet your expectations in most aspects of your stay.

As you rightly pointed out the tour desk is managed by a third party however we still insist on a level of service in line with that expected from our hotel. We have discuss this with them in order to avoid such incidents in the future. I am pleased however that our staff managed to rectify the situation immediately.

With regards to the tap water, this is potable water which can safely be used with our tea and coffee facilities in the room. We do however provide all guests with a complimentary bottle of water on arrival. I apologise if this was not available in your room on you arrival day.

I do hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Hotel Phoenicia in the near future.

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,256
    636
    164
    53
    21
See reviews for
235
1,357
111
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

The Phoenicia is located just outside the main gate to the old city of Vallette. You reach everything you want to see within 15 minutes walk. And if you plan to rent a car for seeing the rest og Malta (which is highly recommended!), the location is even better, because you do not want to drive within the city walls. Our rooms was spacious, a corner room with splendid views and a balcony. The bed were good, the air conditioning working perfectly, and the bathrooms just fine. The hotel has a large and beautiful garden, which includes a swimming pool. Please note that the pool is close to a hundred yards from the hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The housekeepers, though, seems to be a bit to eager to finish off their work, when they are knocking on your door at 8:45 am on Sunday morning, wondering when you will be leaving the room! The restaurant is very good, and probably one of the best in Valletta. The breakfast includes everything you need - and a lot more!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BPUlvaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Phoenicia, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear BPUlvaer,

Many thanks for the kind words you have shared with us on Trip Advisor. I am very pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay at the Phoenicia.

We highly value your feedback and we will take it on board in order to improve our guest experience.

We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in Hotel Pheonicia in the summer of 2013. The hotel is fantastic in its style, location and luxury.

There is an art deco feel about the hotel and the main circular-shaped lobby area is extremely glamorous place to enjoy a drink. We were lucky to have one of the newly refurbished rooms on the 4th floor, which although small, was very modern and comfortable. Our room was not classed as a room with a view - however, we did have a direct view of the walls of Valletta, and to the left, a view of the harbour.

Although the hotel is right in the centre of Valletta, it feels secluded and private as you walk through the gardens towards the pool. The pool area is right up against the walls of Valletta to one side, with a fantastic view of the harbour to the other side. It is surrounded on the other side by the gardens leading back to the hotel. The pool, and the hotel in general, is more of a relaxed adult area, rather than one for children and families.

The location of the hotel is also brilliant. Floriana is to the right of the hotel when you walk out of the main entrance, and the gate into the city of Valletta to the left. The main bus stop at the central roundabout is about a one minute walk from the hotel, so you can really access anywhere on the island from the doorstep of the Phoenician.

We did not eat in the hotel so cannot comment on the restaurant. There are plenty of good restaurants in nearby Valletta.

Staying in Hotel Phoenicia will add an element of luxury and sophistication to a stay in Malta - a beautiful hotel in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravellingSheep1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Phoenicia, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Travellingsheep1,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us at the hotel and it is particularly rewarding for us to receive such positive feedback. We thank you for recommending us to other Trip Advisor users.

We look forward to welcome you back to the Phoenicia, next time you are in Malta.

Best Regards
Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
327 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

The hotel is set in pretty gardens and stands just two minutes walk past the bus station to the city gate of Valletta old town. As it is just outside the city wall, one is quickly able to access roads leading elsewhere on the island. Although seemingly recently redecorated, the historic hotel looks a bit as if it might feature in an Agatha Christie novel.

The public parts of the hotel were spacious. The 'compact' room was nicely decorated, but felt a little bit tired round the edges. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was fine. There was complementary bottled water provided.


Breakfast was fine, the choice of fare clearly influenced by the island's time as a British colony (or perhaps it reflected the preferences of what seemed to be predominantly British guests). I didn't try the hotel's restaurants, but the menus looked very interesting. The bar was cosy and had a distinctive colonial feel to it with historic pictures of Valletta on the walls. Beyond the foyer, there is a large room for afternoon tea or cocktails etc. A nice surprise was when in the early evening the staff came round with trays of complementary drinks and nibbles. Staff on food/drink service were friendly and helpful enough, but it sometimes took a while to get their attention.

The hotel has off street parking (a big plus here), but access to the car park seemed a bit haphazard: sometimes it was possible to reach the car park by going through the hotel, on other occasions one would find the door providing access to the car park locked and would have to turn round, return to reception and walk round the outside of the hotel to reach it. A minor hassle, but not exactly what one expects from a 5 star hotel.

Overall, the stay was fine. I'd rate the place more as a four star than five.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Phoenicia, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear RobinRatchford,

It is always great to read that our guests enjoy their stay at the hotel. I am glad that you found the hotel’s ambiance and location to your liking and that you found our service to your satisfaction.

For security reason, access to the hotel from the car park is closed in the evening and during weekends. I am so sorry that this has caused an inconvenience to you during your stay. However I would like to point out that we have put a sign at the gate specifying the opening and closing timings for our guests’ information.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Hotel Phoenicia in the future.

Best regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
230 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Before I start, I should say that, overall, we enjoyed our stay at the hotel. It is well located for visiting Valetta. It is just that we were disappointed by a number of minor things starting with the guy on the reception saying that "we have a lovely room for you". Call me a cynic but you just know that he is trying to fob you you off. And so it was. Anyway, we got the original room we had booked albeit the window was so dirty (see photo) that we had to open it to see the view :-). Overall the hotel is in an okay state. The main disappointment was a fairly uninspired staff (it isn't good for staff to argue in front of guests). Finally, the banging of doors as people/cleaners enter/leave their rooms meant that a sleep was impossible. Generally, someone needs to teach the staff to smile! Would I stay here again? Probably, but more due to the lack of alternatives than anything else.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank VeitchB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Phoenicia, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear VeitchB,

I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for staying at the Phoenicia and for taking the time to review your stay on Trip Advisor. Whilst I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us, I have noted your comments about the staff and assure you that your comments will be shared will all the members of staff at the next general manager / staff meeting.

Your comments are much appreciated and are regarded as an opportunity to improve our guest experience.

I hope that the mentioned incidents will not deter you from staying at the Phoenicia in the future.

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is a lovely hotel, well located and a beautiful atmosphere. We stayed here for four nights and upgraded to a room with a balcony and view. Unfortunately the view from the balcony was of a car park and scaffolding covering the city walls. However, the room was quiet, if rather small and the bed was extremely comfortable. Overall we felt the hotel was expensive and that it would have been nice to have had breakfast included in our room rate.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melvy212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Phoenicia, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Elisabeth T,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hotel Phoenicia with other Trip Advisor users. I am glad to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and found our services to your satisfaction.

We are continuously looking at how we can add more value for our guests. Our bed and breakfast rates offer a discounted rate for our full buffet breakfast when pre booked. As from this year we are also giving free wired and wifi internet access in all guest bedrooms and all public areas. In this way we are not only more competitive but we also continue to offer better value for money.

I hope we shall have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Phoenicia next time you are in Malta.

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

This was our second visit to this hotel and we will be back again, The best features of the hotel are its location, the food, the understated staff and the calm atmosphere which pervades the entire place.The hotel is right by the bus station so for 1 Euro 50 you can go anywhere on the island.The food was amazing and not a microwave in earshot; everything freshly cooked and totally delicious, the fish dishes are to die for. The staff are polite and unobtrusive at all times. The general air of the building is peaceful, a little tatty in parts but still charming. The room we had overlooked the Floriana side of the hotel and was clean, comfortable and functional.
The down side? The toilets down by the pool are tatty and do not seem to be regularly cleaned throughout the day. The service out on the terrace in the evening can be a little erratic sometimes. We waited ages for our main course one evening, it seems we had been forgotten but we were offered profuse apologies and a complimentary glass of wine which compensated for this.
We really like this hotel as we are not looking for non stop loud entertainment, nor a dining room like a fast food outlet. the Phoenicia is a great hotel for peace, tranquility and a restful holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The2Hoopers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Phoenicia, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear The2Hoopers,

Many thanks for leaving a review following your recent stay at the hotel. I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay.
We highly appreciate your feedback which offers us a learning opportunity to improve our guest experience.
Thank you for choosing us once again and for recommending us to fellow travelers, we hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kindest regards
Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#4 of 13 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,620 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 13 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#3 of 13 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#5 of 13 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palazzo Consiglia
Palazzo Consiglia
#7 of 13 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Phoenicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Phoenicia

Property: Hotel Phoenicia
Address: The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Phoenicia 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star luxury in Malta’s historic Art Deco hotel. Hotel Phoenicia, one of the leading 5 star hotels in Malta, is located at the City Gates of Valletta, Malta’s capital city and UNESCO heritage city. Just 50 meters from city gate, it is perfectly placed for discovering the historic walled city, feasting on Caravaggio’s paintings and exploring the magnificent harbours. The hotel also boast magnificent 7 acre garden. The island's central bus terminus is just meters away civing the possibility to explore the whole island by bus. A stay at the Hotel Phoenicia is an unforgettable experience. Our charming staff will ensure your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Phoenicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Valletta
Phoenicia Hotel Malta
Hotel Phoenicia Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing