We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most welcoming Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Phoenicia Malta
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A most welcoming Hotel”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We have been visiting Malta for some 15 years and this is our first visit to the Phoenicia. The staff are very attentive and there is a very relaxed atmosphere in the hotel, despite it's position so close to the heart of Valletta.

Room Tip: Rooms with a Harbour balcony on the 1st and 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Trevor W,

Thank you for your comments about the hotel and for sharing your experience. It is great to read you enjoyed your stay and that you were not disappointed. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Phoenicia in the future.

Kindest regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,319
    655
    168
    53
    22
See reviews for
248
1,408
114
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (618)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Visitors to Malta for just a week who do not want a resort type hotel would be hard pushed to make a better choice than the Phoenicia in Valletta. It is in an ideal position next to the bus station which offers one of the best public transport systems we have experienced anywhere in the world for just 6.5 Euros for a week's pass. The hotel is also ideally located for those wishing to walk into the city and sample the many excellent restaurants. The staff at the hotel are generally very cheerful and the facilities are excellent.

There are, however negative points .We had booked a deluxe harbour view room which is described on their website as having a sublime view of the harbour. We were assigned Room 301 which is large, refurbished and has a dual aspect. The view of Grand Harbour is exclusively of the freighter terminal which was anything but sublime and the other window overlooked the bus station. We couldn't sleep with the air-con on as it pushed a draft over the bed yet with the window open we were woken early by the buses revving up. Twice we asked to be moved but on both occasions were told this was not possible. Unfortunately the view from the windows was also diminished by them being desperately in need of a clean (as was the screen around the main restaurant patio). I know building work was taking place next door but a 5* hotel should respond to that. It was surprising that chips on the bath had been cheaply covered up by white paint and in a hotel of this class paper napkins at breakfast and cheap paper towels in the public toilets are not up to the world standard experienced elsewhere. We had a card to place on the bed if we wanted fresh bed linen but this was ignored on the first occasion. The bed in the room was extremely comfortable and there was a good choice of pillows.

I may have been unlucky by approaching the man at the concierge desk mid-evening on the Saturday, especially as I didn't see this chap again but he kept trying to sell me a round the island cruise I didn't want and had no information at all on the bus services. As I was considering further questions, he started talking to a Maltese friend who had just entered the hotel so it was clear he did not want to offer any more assistance to me!

Despite the negatives above, I would still recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Not 301 if you want a sublime harbour view and open windows at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Valerchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Valerchris,

I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for having chosen the Hotel Phoenicia and for sharing your experience with other Trip Advisor users. I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay at the hotel and found most of our services to your satisfaction.

During your stay we were running at high occupancy levels and changing of rooms had to be done in the morning in order to get the rooms prepared for people arriving. When you asked for the room change, we tried to contact you to get this done to no avail, we were unable to keep the room till later and therefore the room move was cancelled. I am sorry that this inability to get in touch with you has prevented your room change.

I am sorry for your experience with our concierge, we are highly against hard selling, and whereas our concierges are expected to give advice to our guests about things to do, pushing the one tour over the other or forcing guests into something they are not sure about falls very far from our standards. I apologise for this behavior and please rest assured that the person involved will be reprimanded.

Your feedback is highly appreciated, I have already forwarded your review to the relevant heads of department so they may take your feedback on board and improve our guests’ experience.

I hope we shall have the pleasure to welcome you to the hotel Phoenicia in the future.

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Just back from a week at the Phoenicia where we have nothing but praise for the excellent staff at this hotel. We booked it because of the good reviews and its position across the road from the bus station. On arriving at the hotel we were immediately met our suitcases taken and check in was a breeze. Our room was all we wanted it to be, spacious and with plenty of storage. We took breakfast each morning on the delightful terrace and the choice was excellent with very good coffee. We had one dinner at the hotel when they had a Maltese buffet with unlimited wine for 39 Euros, very good value and with a very good guitarist supplying background music. The Palm Court lounge is a beautiful room with a bar where you can enjoy the pianist or other musical entertainment in comfort. The gardens of the hotel are delightful and through which you walk to reach the spacious pool area where we were always able to find sun loungers without a problem. It was so easy each morning to stroll over the road to take a bus to another part of the island. 2.20 Euros for a 7 day pass ! yes that was 2 Euros ! Dozens of lovely restaurants are also just a stroll from the hotel. This was our first visit to Malta and we loved it, will hopefully return and definitely to the Phoenicia and their so friendly staff. John, West Suissex.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear John W,

Thank you for your comments about the hotel and for sharing your experience. Great to read you enjoyed your stay and that you were not disappointed.

We look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Malta in the future.

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This hotel is ideally situated just outside the City Gate of Valletta, and just about 100 metres from the bus station - giving guests access to Valletta and, via the efficient bus services to the whole of the island. The hotel's atmosphere is one of peace and calm and is a positive delight to return to after a busy day's sightseeing. Staff are friendly and attentive and often go out of their way to fulfil any request you make. They also make every effort to address you by name - this is all staff in all areas;- reception, restaurant, bar, housekeeping etc. Entertainment is provided on some evenings in the lounge - this is gentle piano or guitar music and is never intrusive.The hotel pool is reached by a delightful walk through colourful gardens and is not overlooked from the bedrooms. Hopefully we will be able to return to this hotel again next year for our fourth visit!

Room Tip: All rooms offer a peaceful night's sleep. Some have balconies and some have views across the har...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Jean R,

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review about your recent stay with us. I am glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

I look forward to welcome you back for your fourth visit in the very near future.

Kindest regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThetaSigma
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My wife and I went back for a short stay to relax after a busy spring. Malta in spring is much like England in summer, except that the temperature drop at night was only a few degrees; wind permitting, short sleeves are quite reasonable, while the sun lacks its midsummer ferocity and the mosquitoes don’t seem to be about yet. In short, there’s nothing significant wrong, and so much that’s just right!

The service at the Phoenicia remains as good as on our previous visit; there are a few new hands, who are still learning the art to the high standard the place sets, especially so early in the season. The breakfasts remain excellent, while the restaurant menu seemed to vary somewhat in its creativity, though everything we sampled remained of very good quality – missing a course is missing a treat, so bring an appetite each evening! However, it is worth noting that with simple choices the a la carte menu can work out slightly cheaper than the table d’hote, even over three courses.
The hotel restaurant also faces increasing competition; there are more restaurants to be found in Valletta, and the best of these are very good, though the hotel restaurant offers comparable value, so prospecting of an evening can be rewarding indeed, though there is no need to go out if you don’t feel like it.
The Phoenicia is a grand old lady among hotels, which is to say that it has just enough dignity to feel special without being stuffy. The bathroom fittings are veterans, but they work just fine – the shower in our room was a bathtap mixer, which would normally fill me with foreboding, but proved surprisingly easy to balance and commendably vigorous. It may not be all gleaming chrome and glass, but it does all work as you’d hope (and we greatly prefer this approach to rooms with modern showers, peculiar taps and no bathtub!).
The gardens leading down to the pool are still lovely, and evidently well-cared for with some replanting going on.
Note: the free wifi is described as being only in the lounge, but was also accessible in our room – a very welcome development which shows how seriously the quality of service is taken here – certain other hotels feel free to take note – charging for wifi is definitely out!

The afternoon tea we had was good, but the pattisserie was distinctly varied; the scones were okay, the apricot frangipane was phenomenal, but several of the other items were a bit dry, bland, or both. A little excess of experimentation, perhaps?

Unless I’m mistaken, the pool snack bar menu has shrunk; they no longer seem to do pizzas, but what they do remains good (the tuna ftira was excellent), and entirely adequate between the substantial delights of the breakfast and evening selections (and if you can get an excess of any cuisine in Malta, it’s pizza, so we missed it only because it used to be so good!). Also note that, while the pool bar does a fine range of non-alcoholic drinks and smoothies, even the “mocktails” are noticeably and surprisingly absent from the main hotel bar menu. That said, when my wife requested something of the kind, she was given an impressive fruit juice cocktail, with garnish - Carmen Miranda in a glass!

This exemplifies the helpful service, as does the seamless organisation of transfers and activities which the concierge was kind enough to coordinate for us before we even arrived. It is this combination of service, food and civilisation which makes a stay at the Phoenicia relaxing and unforgettable.

Room Tip: Only the first and second floor rooms have balconies; the higher floors have longer views, but a bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ThetaSigma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear ThetaSigma,

Thank you for such a detailed review of your experience at the Phoenicia. I am so happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and that we have been able to meet your expectations. Your comments are highly appreciated.

I look forward to welcome you back to the Phoenicia in the near future.

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Before talking about the hotel itself, I have to congratulate the management on having such friendly and helpful staff : from the concierge, housekeeper, bar men and receptionists, somone was always on hand to provide the information or help we needed.
We had a corner room with a balcony on each side - when the sun was too strong on one side we could sit in the shade on the other balcony - very pleasant, especially in the mornings.
The kingsize bed was very comfortable and the room was of a reasonable size and furnished in a simple style and had sufficient hanging and drawer space for our one week stay. In the bathroom there was a long shelf - very convenient for spreading out our everyday necessities, and one small but most important point the hot water was hot immediately, which is not the case in all hôtels.
The choice at the breakfast buffet was one of the best we had ever seen : from the hot buffet room supplying the full English breakfast to the cold buffet including all the usuals as well as Maltese specialities and home-made cakes.
We didn't eat in the restaurants but we did have some good snacks in the Palm Court lounge, which has a quiet relaxing atmosphere.
The gardens are just beautiful and it's a real pleasure to stroll around them.
Last but by no means least, is the location of the hotel - on Valletta's doorstep with buses and taxis just outside and even the Hop On/Hop Off buses stop in front of the hotel.
If in Valletta this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room (away from the noise of the buses early morning)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LizzyMEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear LizzyMEB,

It was great to read your feedback, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that you felt the team were all very helpful. I will surely share your comments with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Phoenicia in the future.

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Perhaps the most important thing here - you will get a good night's sleep. My fourth floor room facing the harbor was dead quiet all day and night; the blackout curtains were very effective; and the pillow and bed were exceedingly comfortable. Next most important - the location, which is right outside the Valletta city gate, and right next to the terminus for the buses that are the most effective way to get around the island. Additionally, the showers were very good, the grounds pretty, and the staff friendly. The one thing the hotel gets wrong is the disappointing decor in the rooms - they're generic and dull enough to look like something you'd find in an airport Sheraton, not a luxury European hotel. But, aesthetics aside, this is a really good place to stay in Malta.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AmoryB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear AmoryB,

Thank you for your comments about the hotel and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. It is great to read you enjoyed your stay and that you found most of our services to your satisfaction.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Malta in the future.

Kindest regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,969 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,431 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#4 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,688 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#2 of 15 in Valletta
124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenicia Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenicia Malta

Property: The Phoenicia Malta
Address: The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenicia Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenicia, just re-opened after an extensive renovation programme, is one of the leading luxury hotels in Malta. Located at the City Gates of Valletta, Malta’s capital city and UNESCO heritage city, The Phoenicia is perfectly placed for discovering the historic walled city, feasting on Caravaggio’s paintings and exploring the magnificent harbours. The hotel also boast magnificent 7 acre landscaped gardens. The island's central bus terminus is just meters away giving the possibility to explore the whole island by bus. A stay at The Phoenicia is an unforgettable experience. Our charming staff will ensure your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your The Phoenicia Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Valletta
Phoenicia Hotel Malta
Hotel Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing