We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hmmmmmm.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Phoenicia Malta
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Essex
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hmmmmmm.....”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We had an interconnecting room that compromised our privacy, the evening food at 33 Euro's was a let down, and at 6 Euro's for a Pint, these negative elements did over ride the excellent qualities that the Phoenicia had to offer. The rooms are nice (Not fantastic), the breakfasts are great although you only get mushrooms twice a week?! And the location is convenient if you like to be in a Bus/ Taxi/ Horse and Carriage Depot... The Pool is a good temperature, although not large. The crazy golf is fun but somewhat delapidated. . . I guess I expected more for my money, and would get it in other countries, but if Malta is your chosen destination- this is what you'll get.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the harbour with a balcony... Some are the complete opposite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burntspam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,316
    655
    168
    53
    22
See reviews for
248
1,406
114
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (618)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed 5 nights at this hotel in May. I have never written a review before but use reviews all the time. This hotel was exceptional. The location is perfect for wandering into Valetta. The gardens and pool make you feel like you are in the country. But what makes this place remarkable is the service. The concierges, as a group, were knowledgeable, and went out of their way to be helpful. Mario was especially helpful, but they all added to our experience. And the breakfasts were sublime. The rooms comfy, not the most modern but well serviced so no complaints. Would definitely return to this hotel.
Ruth G.

Room Tip: Try for a harbour view room with or without balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ruth g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear ruth g,

It was great to read your feedback, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that you felt the team were a real asset. I will surely share your comments with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Phoenicia in the future.

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

When you are in a tour group you don't expect to be put into the best rooms,but you do expect your room to be clean.
Our bathroom tiles had mouldy grouting and I don't think the floor was washed in the two days we were there,the wooden mouldings on the back of the bathroom door were covered in dust. The furniture was very tired and the two chairs in the room,had lost all the cushioning in the seats.
Although the lounge/bar area is a grand space,the furniture is very tired too . It is all more than ready for a big face lift.
One group dinner eaten in the hotel was not up to the standard we experienced elsewhere.
It is in an excellent position though,right at the entrance to Valletta.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Pat M,

Whilst thanking you for staying at the Hotel Phoenicia during your recent visit to Malta and for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor, I would like to immediately offer my sincere apologies for the issues encountered.

The state of cleanliness of the bathroom was not up to our normal standard and we have put the room out of service until all has been fixed by our maintenance and housekeeping team. Cleanliness is paramount to us and it is imperative that this does not happen again for any other guest.

I have also passed your comments about the meals to our Executive Chef as the tour group you were part of is very important for us and we want to make sure that improve our standards for the rest of the series.

I would like to once again sincerely apologise for failing to meet your expectations. Your comments are very valuable for us as these give us the opportunity to learn from our mistakes and improve the quality of our product and services.

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We have been visiting Malta for some 15 years and this is our first visit to the Phoenicia. The staff are very attentive and there is a very relaxed atmosphere in the hotel, despite it's position so close to the heart of Valletta.

Room Tip: Rooms with a Harbour balcony on the 1st and 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Trevor W,

Thank you for your comments about the hotel and for sharing your experience. It is great to read you enjoyed your stay and that you were not disappointed. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Phoenicia in the future.

Kindest regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Visitors to Malta for just a week who do not want a resort type hotel would be hard pushed to make a better choice than the Phoenicia in Valletta. It is in an ideal position next to the bus station which offers one of the best public transport systems we have experienced anywhere in the world for just 6.5 Euros for a week's pass. The hotel is also ideally located for those wishing to walk into the city and sample the many excellent restaurants. The staff at the hotel are generally very cheerful and the facilities are excellent.

There are, however negative points .We had booked a deluxe harbour view room which is described on their website as having a sublime view of the harbour. We were assigned Room 301 which is large, refurbished and has a dual aspect. The view of Grand Harbour is exclusively of the freighter terminal which was anything but sublime and the other window overlooked the bus station. We couldn't sleep with the air-con on as it pushed a draft over the bed yet with the window open we were woken early by the buses revving up. Twice we asked to be moved but on both occasions were told this was not possible. Unfortunately the view from the windows was also diminished by them being desperately in need of a clean (as was the screen around the main restaurant patio). I know building work was taking place next door but a 5* hotel should respond to that. It was surprising that chips on the bath had been cheaply covered up by white paint and in a hotel of this class paper napkins at breakfast and cheap paper towels in the public toilets are not up to the world standard experienced elsewhere. We had a card to place on the bed if we wanted fresh bed linen but this was ignored on the first occasion. The bed in the room was extremely comfortable and there was a good choice of pillows.

I may have been unlucky by approaching the man at the concierge desk mid-evening on the Saturday, especially as I didn't see this chap again but he kept trying to sell me a round the island cruise I didn't want and had no information at all on the bus services. As I was considering further questions, he started talking to a Maltese friend who had just entered the hotel so it was clear he did not want to offer any more assistance to me!

Despite the negatives above, I would still recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Not 301 if you want a sublime harbour view and open windows at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Valerchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Valerchris,

I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for having chosen the Hotel Phoenicia and for sharing your experience with other Trip Advisor users. I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay at the hotel and found most of our services to your satisfaction.

During your stay we were running at high occupancy levels and changing of rooms had to be done in the morning in order to get the rooms prepared for people arriving. When you asked for the room change, we tried to contact you to get this done to no avail, we were unable to keep the room till later and therefore the room move was cancelled. I am sorry that this inability to get in touch with you has prevented your room change.

I am sorry for your experience with our concierge, we are highly against hard selling, and whereas our concierges are expected to give advice to our guests about things to do, pushing the one tour over the other or forcing guests into something they are not sure about falls very far from our standards. I apologise for this behavior and please rest assured that the person involved will be reprimanded.

Your feedback is highly appreciated, I have already forwarded your review to the relevant heads of department so they may take your feedback on board and improve our guests’ experience.

I hope we shall have the pleasure to welcome you to the hotel Phoenicia in the future.

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Just back from a week at the Phoenicia where we have nothing but praise for the excellent staff at this hotel. We booked it because of the good reviews and its position across the road from the bus station. On arriving at the hotel we were immediately met our suitcases taken and check in was a breeze. Our room was all we wanted it to be, spacious and with plenty of storage. We took breakfast each morning on the delightful terrace and the choice was excellent with very good coffee. We had one dinner at the hotel when they had a Maltese buffet with unlimited wine for 39 Euros, very good value and with a very good guitarist supplying background music. The Palm Court lounge is a beautiful room with a bar where you can enjoy the pianist or other musical entertainment in comfort. The gardens of the hotel are delightful and through which you walk to reach the spacious pool area where we were always able to find sun loungers without a problem. It was so easy each morning to stroll over the road to take a bus to another part of the island. 2.20 Euros for a 7 day pass ! yes that was 2 Euros ! Dozens of lovely restaurants are also just a stroll from the hotel. This was our first visit to Malta and we loved it, will hopefully return and definitely to the Phoenicia and their so friendly staff. John, West Suissex.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear John W,

Thank you for your comments about the hotel and for sharing your experience. Great to read you enjoyed your stay and that you were not disappointed.

We look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Malta in the future.

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This hotel is ideally situated just outside the City Gate of Valletta, and just about 100 metres from the bus station - giving guests access to Valletta and, via the efficient bus services to the whole of the island. The hotel's atmosphere is one of peace and calm and is a positive delight to return to after a busy day's sightseeing. Staff are friendly and attentive and often go out of their way to fulfil any request you make. They also make every effort to address you by name - this is all staff in all areas;- reception, restaurant, bar, housekeeping etc. Entertainment is provided on some evenings in the lounge - this is gentle piano or guitar music and is never intrusive.The hotel pool is reached by a delightful walk through colourful gardens and is not overlooked from the bedrooms. Hopefully we will be able to return to this hotel again next year for our fourth visit!

Room Tip: All rooms offer a peaceful night's sleep. Some have balconies and some have views across the har...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Jean R,

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review about your recent stay with us. I am glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

I look forward to welcome you back for your fourth visit in the very near future.

Kindest regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,963 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,425 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,680 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#3 of 15 in Valletta
122 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenicia Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenicia Malta

Property: The Phoenicia Malta
Address: The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenicia Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenicia, just re-opened after an extensive renovation programme, is one of the leading luxury hotels in Malta. Located at the City Gates of Valletta, Malta’s capital city and UNESCO heritage city, The Phoenicia is perfectly placed for discovering the historic walled city, feasting on Caravaggio’s paintings and exploring the magnificent harbours. The hotel also boast magnificent 7 acre landscaped gardens. The island's central bus terminus is just meters away giving the possibility to explore the whole island by bus. A stay at The Phoenicia is an unforgettable experience. Our charming staff will ensure your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Phoenicia Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Valletta
Phoenicia Hotel Malta
Hotel Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing