We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A grand setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Phoenicia Malta
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Just returned from a week at this hotel. We arrived at 4am and as the only guests still up and wanting a cigarette before retiring, Francis, the lovely concierge made us a coffee and covered seats in towels incase there was nightime moisture and covered a floodlight so we werent blinded by light and was so accommodating. It took me a couple days to settle in to the hotel, it was constructed in the 1930's and therefore different to the modern hotels built now and designed for optimum convenience. The pool is located though the gardens right at the bottom of the premises and is a good two minute walk away from the building so if you forget anything when you get there, it could make you cross! The pool setting is lovely, surround by flowers and plants, wonderful view, a breeze, soft music, plenty of sun loungers and a bar area serving food too with friendly staff. Our classic bedroom was a good enough size and the air conditioning was absolutely fine. Not totally enough storage space for both our clothes, we still used our suitcases. The shower was great and the bathroom roomier than average hotels. The bed was extremely comfortable, fabulous! We didn't have a balcony or juliet windows, which was greatly missed by us, a downside of the age of the building as only a proportion of the rooms have them and they are more expensive rooms. It was the one thing that may distract us from returning again for a week or more, but would not put us off staying for a short break. We visited the hotel before the refurbishments and they have done a wonderful job, the two main lounges and bars are sympathetically dated to the period of the building and most comfortable and pleasant ot relax in. Finally the staff, we found all the staff we met to be polite, professional and friendly and a great credit to the hotel.

Room Tip: A high floor gave us great views but only rooms on the first two floors have Juliet windows or balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Sarah H,

It is always great to read that our guests enjoy their stay at the hotel and find the location, and ambiance to their liking. I am also glad that you found the team members to be very courteous. Thank you for recommending us.

I look forward to your future visits.

Best Regards
Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

724 - 730 of 2,314 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

I stayed here a week while on holiday and overall had a pleasant stay The positives include a comfortable room with good water pressure and soft bed. The pool is a 5 minute walk from the main building through gorgeous gardens. The concierge was very helpful and the station was staffed most of the time. Best of all was the location.Close walking distance to Valleta and perfect for using local or tour bus pickup. Then only real negatives was that the bartender at the pool was terrible. I truly had the worse cocktail ever So save your money there However the main bar club was great with a wide variety of cocktails and live music in the evening. The breakfast was pricey although varied I chose to skip it after the first day.

Room Tip: View of the water and gardens was very special
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lillyindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Lillyindy,

Many thanks for the kind words you have shared with us on Tripadvisor. I am very pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay at the Phoenicia.
We try to make sure that we improve the quality of services & maintain the high standards therefore your feedback is very much appreciated.

We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Best Regards
Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We chose this hotel mainly for the location, breakfast and gardens/pool. We were mainly very happy with our choice. Our room was on one of the middle floors, not the refurbished upper floors, so was a little tired in some respects such as the stiff balcony sliding doors but that is reflected in the price difference. It was big enough and the beds was very comfortable. The middle floor rooms do have balconies but we rarely usedours except for taking photos. Our room was at the side of the building and overlooked the city walls, but with a nice side view of the harbour (and the bus station, but that was not a big issue). There was some restoration work on the city walls but the work did not go on late in the afternoon and we were out all day anyway. The balcony windows shut out most noise. Aircon is quiet and effective, with controls in the room.

Staff - almost all members of staff were friendly and helpful.
Breakfast - very good, not quite the best we have ever had but still very good. Freshly cooked eggs and proper sausages and bacon are real treats, as were local breads and daily offerings of taster items, and it is nice to eat on the terrace. I suspect some reviewers did not discover the separate room where hot food can be found. You can also order cafe lattes etc.
Garden/pool - lovely for a walk and a swim during the day. Never crowded - it was always possible to find sunloungers and umbrellas (late June)
Location - excellent. A short walk to Valletta and the bus station

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sauna_Boss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Sauna_Boss,

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review about your recent stay with us.
I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and I thank you for recommending us to fellow travelers, I hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kindest regards

Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

My family of 5 stayed here for 4 nights and couldn't have been happier. The location is unbeatable for visiting the old town of Valletta as it is located right at the city wall. The concierge was incredibly helpful, organising car hire and even securing impossible-to-obtain tickets to the hypogeum. If you want flashy and modern this is not the hotel for you but it is lovely and old worldly, straight from an agatha Christie novel.
We dined at the restaurant from the full menu and it was lovely but the Maltese buffet night was uninspiring. Breakfast on the terrace, and sitting by the pool, were lovely parts of each day.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felicity R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Felicity R,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us at the hotel and it is particularly rewarding for us to receive such positive feedback. Following your comments on the Maltese Buffet, our Executive Chef is looking into ways of improving this.

Thank you you for your feedback, we look forward to welcome you and your family back .

Best Regards
Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We spent a weekend here in June on the way home from a week in Gozo. Having visited Malta previously we wanted to return to Valletta and chose this hotel based on its location and what we hoped would be its charm.

We were not disappointed. It is an ideal base for Valletta and has a really nice feel about it. We booked a harbour view room and requested and were allocated a balcony. The balcony was delightful - just big enough for two chairs and a drink! It faced the gardens as well as having the harbour views and got the sun right up to sunset. It was also great for sitting out on after dark watching the fireworks in the distance and listening to the music from the bar below. The latter did go on until midnight on Saturday so the first floor may not be ideal for a light sleeper. The room was comfortable though not particularly spacious and had been freshened up recently. A few things still felt a bit dated but nothing that bothered us at all for a weekend. The breakfast terrace was lovely and the staff were also charming.

The hotel has large grounds which makes it feel like a cool oasis on the edge of Valletta.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Crellins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Crellins,

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review, I am so grateful that you took the time to share your experience with others. Your feedback is highly appreciated and is taken as a learning opportunity.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to the Phoenicia.

Best Regards

Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

As always,everyone in the hotel was extremely helpful and contributed to our wonderful holiday.
I cannot praise this hotel to reflect our gratitude. \thanks to all the staff and management - you all did so well.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excelent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeOff186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear GeOff186361,

Thank you for taking the time to tell fellow travellers about your experience at the Phoenicia. The team and I are happy to see that once again you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for recommending our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards

Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We cannot praise this hotel enough from the minute we arrived to the day we left. Efficient friendly staff. Any problems were resolved with courtesy and speed. Neville at reception made us feel so welcome and any arrangements requested dealt with professionally by the concierge. Our room was air conditioned with breath taking views over the harbour and gardens completing our comfort. Rooms were serviced with a smile from the cleaning ladies every morning. We were very impressed with the standard of service offered by this hotel from all staff working there. The bar area is delightful and relaxing. Afternoon tea a real must, as were the cocktails. The bar staff at the pool were again up to the same standard as the main hotel, walking through the gardens to the pool area a real picture. Breakfast in the hotel was superb the choice immense we loved breakfast on the terrace it was a peaceful and relaxing start to the day. We left very early on our last day 5.45am and the night staff were so friendly offering us coffee before we left a truly unique hotel with so many charms and the staff such an asset to the smooth running of this grand old lady. Valletta is a wonderful city with so many historical thing to see. The people in Malta are so friendly and caring we travelled many places over the island by local buses and hop on hop off buses and everyone made us feel so welcome. I will definately return to Malta and most of all to The Phoencia Hotel. The little personal friendly touches makes such a difference, this is what makes this hotel unique. A truly lovely holiday all around please don't change it is perfect. Until the next time!

Room Tip: Third floor overlooking the gardens have good air conditioning and so quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drekkly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Drekkly,

Thank you so much for your great comments on the staff and service, your support of the hotel is hugely appreciated and we look forward to welcome you back to the Phoenicia in the near future.

Best Regards

Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
577 reviews
2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
365 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#2 of 15 in Valletta
182 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenicia Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenicia Malta

Address: The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range: £105 - £290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenicia Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenicia, just re-opened after an extensive renovation programme, is one of the leading luxury hotels in Malta. Located at the City Gates of Valletta, Malta’s capital city and UNESCO heritage city, The Phoenicia is perfectly placed for discovering the historic walled city, feasting on Caravaggio’s paintings and exploring the magnificent harbours. The hotel also boast magnificent 7 acre landscaped gardens. The island's central bus terminus is just meters away giving the possibility to explore the whole island by bus. A stay at The Phoenicia is an unforgettable experience. Our charming staff will ensure your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Phoenicia Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Valletta
Phoenicia Hotel Malta
Hotel Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing