We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A most memorable stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Phoenicia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Phoenicia
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Gomersaluk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A most memorable stay”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

It was our golden wedding anniversary this year and my wife and I took, our two daughters and their partners and our grandchildren to the Phoenicia for a weeks holiday at the end of June and early July, Everyone of our party commented on the exceptional standard of service we received and how friendly and obliging the staff were. Nothing seemed too much trouble, everyone smiled and all went out of their way to give that little bit extra.
The hotel is so well located, handy for Valletta and so easy to visit the rest of Malta with the bus station just a few minutes away.
The gardens, the outdoor pool and the dining area were quite idyllic, Both our daughters and their partners fell in love with the hotel and rated it highly with the comment 'this is the only place to stay in such a beautiful island'
If we are lucky enough to reach another milestone anniversary there is absolutely no doubt the Phoenicia is where we will go.
Breakfast was a most special time for us all as we prepared for our day and the choice of food available was almost awesome, our 16 year old grandson claimed he had never seen such a wide variety of food at one sitting.
Thanks to all at the hotel who made our golden anniversary truly golden

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the fourth floor, these give a better view from the windows, whichever way they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenlee68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Phoenicia, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Kenlee68,

Thank you for your wonderful words and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We are all happy to learn that we have helped in making your Golden Wedding Anniversary celebrations memorable.

We look forward to your and your family's next visit

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,257
    635
    164
    53
    21
See reviews for
235
1,357
111
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Our second visit to Malta in 12 years was greatly enhanced by the choice of Hotel Phoenicia. Staff were excellent, at all times extremely courteous and professional. Aspects of the hotel need refreshing, but none that interfered with our overall enjoyment. Common areas eg foyer. Lounge, dining room and pool area were most attractive and our room was excellent for our package. Valletta is a fascinating and accessible location, with good transport facilities and we will return, and unhesitatingly chose the Phoenicia as our central location.

Room Tip: Any room which overlooks the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daved0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Phoenicia, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Daved0g,

Thank you for writing such a glowing review of your recent stay with us. Your wonderful comments are greatly appreciated and will serve as a wonderful motivator for our team.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to the Phoenicia!

Kind regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Arrived late evening to a warm welcome. As soon as we entered the hotel it brought a smile to our faces. Checking in we met Neville, a charming ,friendly, helpful man, professional and an asset to the Phoenicia .show to our room by Simon also very professional. Corner room on third floor,good size room huge bed,most comfortable ever had every bit five star. Breakfast hot or cold excellent.,staff couldn't do enough to see to you're needs.just to the left of the main doors going out of the hotel is a desk and behind it sits one of the most fascinating ladies we have ever met. Need a car or too book an excursion, this woman loves her job and can tell you almost everything there is to know about Malta,I say almost because once asked about the location of a certain cemetery, bearing in mind there must be hundreds,she didn't know, but does now. Go and ask her anything and the lady will captivate you she will have you grinning from ear to ear , a real asset to the hotel . very much like a young Barbara striesland,a real star.Catherine thank you.we would love to come again and definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Phoenicia, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Allan S,

I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Phoenicia. Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Phoenicia in the future.

Kind Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just returned from an excellent week , the staff couldn't have made us more welcome or special. Everyone, from reception, waiters, bar staff. kitchen staff to chambermaid were all very polite, took time to talk to you and were always interested in what you had to say. Our room was exceptional, on the top floor, with two large window enjoying a view of the Grand Harbour from one and Manoel Island/ Sliema from the other. The bed is large and comfortable, tea/ coffee making facilities, mini bar ( not used), large a spacious bathroom with shower over the bath. Water pressure very good. Hotel facilities are very good, large foyer/ lounge serving drinks , afternoon teas etc., great bar ( reminded us of a scene from Ice Cold in Alex), and lovely dining room with outside terrace. There is also another A La Carte restaurant but this trip we did not eat there. There is also a small shop and a tourist information desk.The buffet breakfast is amazing, so much choice, fruits, cold meats , cheeses, smoked salmon, a huge selection of breads and pastries ( even some that are gluten free), as well as the hot buffet with a chef cooking eggs & omelettes to order. We ate twice in the evenings and again there was plenty of choice and the quality was excellent. They use their own vegetables and herbs from the hotel gardens.
The pool is about a 5 minute walk through the lovely gardens, is very clean and the all the staff friendly and helpful, plenty of towels are provided, with plenty of room on loungers both in or out of shade. The food here is good, but perhaps a little pricey.
The location could not be better, with the main bus terminus just outside, however the noise does not effect the hotel unless you open your windows, but as the Maltese drive erratically there is a lot of horns being sounded!! Valletta itself is about a 3 minute walk to the main entrance, with all its wonderful sites, shops, and restaurants. If you want to eat out, there is too much choice.
As we have stayed here before, it was a trip rekindling many memories and the Phoenicia never disappoints. We intend to visit again as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Rooms on 1st & 2nd floor have small balconies to sit out on, higher floors have better views but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 13Woodys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Phoenicia, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear 13woodys,

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review, I am so grateful that you took the time to share your experience with others. Thank you for choosing us and for recommending us to fellow travelers, we hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford Upon Avon
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Another fabulous week at this hotel. Very comfortable and spacious room. Excellent facilities throughout. Pool area very relaxing. All staff gracious,friendly and eager to please. Lovely grounds. Hotel vegetable garden particularly impressive - we saw chefs seen picking fresh ( organic) veg and herbs, for use in hotel kitchens, every day. Food delicious - vegetarians well catered for.
Tip - pool sun lounger cushions are available if requested ( they are stored out of sight behind pool bar)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Iman321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Phoenicia, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Iman321,

Thank you for taking the time to tell fellow travellers about your experience at the Phoenicia. The team and I are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for recommending our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a week in June 2014. It was our first visit to Malta and we were really pleased with the location and facilities at the Phoenicia. We spent quite a lot of time in the hotel enjoying the room, the foyer and pool areas, which were all really pleasant and made for a relaxing stay.
The breakfast buffet was very good - a wide range of options including hot and cold food, with particularly good smoked salmon. The service at breakfast was definitely hit and miss though - trying to get someone to bring tea was difficult on some days and the tables weren't cleared fast enough for people to re-use them. Staff were generally very pleasant and helpful although there were a few occasions when senior serving staff were clearly giving the more junior staff a telling off in the midst of all of the breakfast tables. While I don't speak Maltese the tone of voice made it very clear what was going on, and that isn't appropriate among customers.
The rooms were a little tired, but were spotless and very well looked after during our stay. We had a minor leak at one point which was resolved within a couple of hours while we enjoyed the pool, and the housekeeping staff were very good. The bathroom needed improvements - broken tiles, leaky taps and a cheap shower curtain let down the hotel's overall quality, but the beds were very comfortable and the room sizes were generous.

We would definitely stay here again. The one improvement I would like to see would be a much better tourist information offer. The people at the desk in the reception area seemed determined to just book people onto as many organised trips as possible. We just wanted a bus timetable and map but were steered towards the Hop-on-hop-off bus quite strongly - completely the opposite of what we actually wanted (at 17 euro a day a complete rip-off compared to the 1.50 euro all day bus ticket on the regular buses). There was limited information available on the attractions of the island that weren't associated with expensive tours. The concierge was much better and very helpful.

Room Tip: If you are staying during the Isle of MTV event (end of June usually), make sure that you are not fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ljm706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Phoenicia, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Ljm706,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor, I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and found the location and the hotel ambiance to your liking.

I am glad that you have found our breakfast to your satisfaction and I apologise if the service was not always up to your expectations. I have also discussed the incident you mentioned with correcting a member of staff during service with our Food & Beverage manager in order to take the necessary corrective action and avoid such incidents in the future.

We highly appreciate your comments as there offers us the opportunity to improve our guest’s experience. Your feedback is very valuable and has been taken on board.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Just returned from a week at this hotel. We arrived at 4am and as the only guests still up and wanting a cigarette before retiring, Francis, the lovely concierge made us a coffee and covered seats in towels incase there was nightime moisture and covered a floodlight so we werent blinded by light and was so accommodating. It took me a couple days to settle in to the hotel, it was constructed in the 1930's and therefore different to the modern hotels built now and designed for optimum convenience. The pool is located though the gardens right at the bottom of the premises and is a good two minute walk away from the building so if you forget anything when you get there, it could make you cross! The pool setting is lovely, surround by flowers and plants, wonderful view, a breeze, soft music, plenty of sun loungers and a bar area serving food too with friendly staff. Our classic bedroom was a good enough size and the air conditioning was absolutely fine. Not totally enough storage space for both our clothes, we still used our suitcases. The shower was great and the bathroom roomier than average hotels. The bed was extremely comfortable, fabulous! We didn't have a balcony or juliet windows, which was greatly missed by us, a downside of the age of the building as only a proportion of the rooms have them and they are more expensive rooms. It was the one thing that may distract us from returning again for a week or more, but would not put us off staying for a short break. We visited the hotel before the refurbishments and they have done a wonderful job, the two main lounges and bars are sympathetically dated to the period of the building and most comfortable and pleasant ot relax in. Finally the staff, we found all the staff we met to be polite, professional and friendly and a great credit to the hotel.

Room Tip: A high floor gave us great views but only rooms on the first two floors have Juliet windows or balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Phoenicia, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Sarah H,

It is always great to read that our guests enjoy their stay at the hotel and find the location, and ambiance to their liking. I am also glad that you found the team members to be very courteous. Thank you for recommending us.

I look forward to your future visits.

Best Regards
Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#4 of 14 in Valletta
3,694 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 14 in Valletta
296 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
3,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#3 of 14 in Valletta
507 reviews
0.3 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#6 of 14 in Valletta
1,021 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Phoenicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Phoenicia

Property: Hotel Phoenicia
Address: The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Phoenicia 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star luxury in Malta’s historic Art Deco hotel. Hotel Phoenicia, one of the leading 5 star hotels in Malta, is located at the City Gates of Valletta, Malta’s capital city and UNESCO heritage city. Just 50 meters from city gate, it is perfectly placed for discovering the historic walled city, feasting on Caravaggio’s paintings and exploring the magnificent harbours. The hotel also boast magnificent 7 acre garden. The island's central bus terminus is just meters away civing the possibility to explore the whole island by bus. A stay at the Hotel Phoenicia is an unforgettable experience. Our charming staff will ensure your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Phoenicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Valletta
Phoenicia Hotel Malta
Hotel Phoenicia Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing