We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top quality hotel in Valetta”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Phoenicia Malta
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Everything was top rate. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly and the hotel atmosphere breaths relaxation and quality. We had our rooms attended several times in a day.

Only drawback was the food by the pool which we would rate at tops average (but we are picky when it comes to food).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 512Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear 512Peter,

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Phoenicia and for sharing your experience with other Trip Advisor users. I am delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments are highly appreciated as they offer us a learning opportunity to improve our guests' experience.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards
Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

707 - 713 of 2,311 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

The exterior of the Phoenicia Hotel has a faded grandeur with a stunning entrance. All the public rooms, including the main bar are beautifully furnished & decorated. However, the same cannot be said of the bedrooms & bathrooms - these are definitely not 5 star standard! I appreciate that it is an older hotel but this is no excuse for a very poor standard of bathroom, the grouting & sealer round the bath were in a very poor state, along with rust marks in the bath,chrome legs on the washbasin were pitted, cheap plastic stool and wastebin. This could not be described as 5 star in any way, shape or form. The bedroom on the 4th floor, did have a wonderful view of the harbour but we had to pay extra for this room, as we were first allocated one on the 3rd floor with a view of a flat roof! So before the holiday started it cost us a further 450 euros (after negotiation from 70 euros per night - we stayed 9 nights.) The room's furniture was adequate but again not of a 5 star standard. We always stay in 5 star hotels and can honestly say that this room did not meet the standards we have come to expect. Pool area was fine but the toilets & showers located there were terrible, they did not appear to be checked during the day & frequently were swimming in water. Door locks did not work properly and during our stay quite a few people got stuck in the toilets. When reported to pool/bar staff, they seemed to find this very amusing (but not for the people concerned!) All the hotel staff were helpful and polite, especially on the reception desk and the cleaning staff. So to sum up, if you want to stay in an historic hotel and don't mind a basic bedroom & bathroom, then the Phoenicia will be fine for you. However, if you normally stay in a 5 star hotel and are used to a luxurious standard, then give this one a miss.

Room Tip: 4th floor is a 'must' and request a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Second visit in 3 yrs. We love this hotel. It understates itself. Service is fantastic. Pool a delight. Restaurants perfect. I cannot recommend this hotel enougth. The staff are so helpful and being at the gates of valletta so convenient for shopping ,eating out and transport.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank androidpreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Androidpreston,

Thank you for your lovely words about your experience at the Phoenicia, I am delighted to see that your third visit was as pleasant as the ones before it. Your comments are highly appreciated and a great motivator to all of us.

We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards

Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Too often we hear the mission statement in the service/hospitality industry that the desire is to "exceed the customers' expectations" - but in this case, the Phoenicia achieved just that. Quietly classy without being aloof, professional yet caring and personal. Buffet breakfast is out of this world - the temptation to over-indulge proving hard to resist due to the sheer variety on offer, especially with the cooked breakfast option as well. Room (4th floor) was well appointed, clean and very quiet - previous reviewers have complained about views not being as expected, but to be honest, there is more to a stay in the Phoenicia than gazing out of the bedroom window. Equally, some guests have criticised the amble through the gardens to the tidy pool area in the shelter of the city wall - that was very much part of the pleasure for us. Staff were all very friendly and helpful - even the trainees at breakfast who were clearly being brought up to speed in time for the summer period but at no detriment to the overall professionalism of the team. Reception and concierge team were brilliant and catered for special arrangements to ensure my in-laws' Golden Wedding celebrations were as perfect as they could be. Pool side prices were a little high, but then this is a five star hotel and so not out of character with the settings and high level of service. All in all, our stay couldn't have been better and when checking out, the only complaint I had was that I couldn't have stayed longer. Well done to Charles Azzopardi and his team and thank you once again for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Karter44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Karter44,

Many thanks for the kind words you have shared with us on Trip Advisor. I am very pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay at the Phoenicia.
We make sure that we do our best to improve the quality of services & maintain high standards and your comments help motivate us further.

We hope to welcome you and your family back in the very near future.

Best regards

Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

A friend had said when looking at the exterior of the Phoenicia that it looked like Raffles i.e. the colonial style and the first impression of the Palm Court area as you enter,so unfairly perhaps, I wondered just how it did compare - unfair because clearly a lot of money had been spent on Raffles in the last 20 years, and by comparison clearly nothing like that has been lavished on the Phoenicia, but it has that faded grandeur of times gone by that has a charm of its own,which we liked. Inside the bars and the ballroom and restaurant areas had that old world charm out of an Agatha Christie novel and the gardens felt you were in a different era, which for us was a positive.

The weather in June was a real plus as it was almost guaranteed warm and sunny, which always helps! We had requested a balcony room on the form, but were not given one when we first arrived, so this review would I feel be very different if the management had not found us a balcony room the following day! Although positive about their willingness to change the room, I didn't get the same vibe that the standards of service were of a 5 star hotel - perhaps because of the great service we had had the year before at the Conrad on the Algarve, I wouldn't have rated this hotel's management to be anywhere near first class - there were some excellent exceptions in various areas - the pool area staff & the cleaners were really good but the others didn't come over at all compared with the Conrad.
The overall experience however was very good and the closeness to the main Valletta facilities was a big plus - literally 2 minutes walk away to the Grand Harbour area, with excellent views from the Upper Barrakka Garden; the beautiful Cathedrals and churches; museums and the Aubergs were historically very interesting and the squares around the key areas of interest were excellent.The hotel is next to the main bus terminus, so can travel literally to anywhere in Malta, cheaply!, from just outside the hotel.
These reviews don't always give credit to the local and national agents who helped us secure this very good holiday, so I'd like to thank 'holidays please'- the UK agent, and 'Classic Collection holidays' in Malta, for their exceptionally good service.

Room Tip: we were first put in an inside room when we first arrived and we didn't like it at all - we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank GRAHAMMMCFARLANE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Last stayed here ten years ago. Good to see that it has retained its charm, but has improved its facilities - even has free WiFi! Super location for access to Valetta of course. Staff are all friendly and approachable. The hotel even laid on a drinks evening for guests.

The Palm Court lounge/bar off the entry hall is a beautiful and light room, which sets things off to a good start - particularly when they offer you a drink if your room is not quite ready.

Breakfast is also in a beautiful room and is very generous. Excellent range of food, with usual continental offerings plus everything for a solid cooked breakfast, complete with the usual 'live' cooking facility for eggs and omelettes etc. And for those in need of a morning uplift a supply of sparkling wine - as the frequent pops of corks testified.

Rooms have clearly been upgraded since our last visit - bathroom was improvement on the Hilton where we'd stayed the previous week.

Gardens are really impressive, luxuriant and varied plant life is sustained despite the Maltese sun. Pool area obviously can't compete with with the spread at the Hilton but that's not the idea. But then the Hilton hasn't got the gardens.

The rebirth of Valetta is an epic process, which is transforming and upgrading the city, but we felt it is being achieved without losing its character. Obviously with the City gates being just a few yards from the hotel's door, the Phoenicia offers a tremendous opportunity to explore the city, and also offer nearby respite for a rest from walking, climbing eating, drinking and the sun, if needed.

We look forward to returning in the winter.

Room Tip: We booked via an agent. Tip: If you want a room overlooking the Grand Harbour, be careful when you b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank SouthseaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear SouthseaR,

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review, I am so grateful that you took the time to share your experience with others. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us at the hotel and it is particularly rewarding for us to receive such positive feedback.

We look forward to welcome you back to the Phoenicia.

Best Regards

Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

6 of us stayed at the Phoenicia for 5 days in early July for a long weekend birthday treat.

Hotel's location is excellent for all of Valletta and only 15 minutes taxi ride from the airport. Check-in was easy and rooms were bright and well equipped (mini bar, safe, hairdryer, robes, tea & coffee etc.) with decent air-con.

Breakfast is a buffet style with hot and cold section, choice was fantastic and honestly one of the best hotel breakfasts i have had.

Only had one evening meal in the Hotel at their Maltese Night which was great value for money and a good selection of local dishes to try, entertainment was a guitarist who was really good.

Pool area is fantastic a real sun trap, nice pool. good bar and pool restaurant.

The outstanding memory for me is the staff and service which was friendly and efficient. Yes there are some parts of the hotel that could do with a refurbishment but this is a grand old lady of a hotel and has character.

Overall cannot wait to return to Malta and would not even look at other hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Cerbra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Cerbra,

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review about your recent stay with us. I hope that we do have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Phoenicia in the near future.

Kindest regards

Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,182 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
576 reviews
2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
364 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#2 of 15 in Valletta
180 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenicia Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenicia Malta

Address: The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range: £105 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenicia Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenicia, just re-opened after an extensive renovation programme, is one of the leading luxury hotels in Malta. Located at the City Gates of Valletta, Malta’s capital city and UNESCO heritage city, The Phoenicia is perfectly placed for discovering the historic walled city, feasting on Caravaggio’s paintings and exploring the magnificent harbours. The hotel also boast magnificent 7 acre landscaped gardens. The island's central bus terminus is just meters away giving the possibility to explore the whole island by bus. A stay at The Phoenicia is an unforgettable experience. Our charming staff will ensure your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Phoenicia Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Valletta
Phoenicia Hotel Malta
Hotel Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing