We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should have stayed longer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Phoenicia Malta
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Having longingly looked at the Phoenicia on previous visits to Malta, this time we bit the bullet price wise and stayed for one night prior to a cruise. It didn't disappoint. The wonderful Palm Court bar was only exceeded by the fine a la carte dinner in the Phoenix restaurant. Breakfast, too was an impressive spread with freshly squeezed orange juice on tap. Rooms were of a reasonable size and nicely furnished. Staff were friendly, helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank William035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear William035

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. I am very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and found most of our services to your satisfaction. I thank you for your lovely comments especially the ones about our team members.
We look forward to welcome you back to the Phoenicia for a longer stay, next time you are in Malta.

Best Regards
Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

733 - 739 of 2,345 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

We were considering this Hotel to celebrate our Civil Marriage, so we decided to go and have a dinner, just to try food and service. First our impression was wow! We really liked the place and everyone was offering help. We spoke to two people about our plans and we asked for management, but no one was available at that time. We set outside and ordered our dinner. At one point I asked a waitress to provide me with a bowl of hot water, as I needed to worm some milk in ''bagno maria'' for our 6-DAYS old baby. The waitress offered that she will do it for me. I advised her that the milk has to be only worm a little. She came back after few minutes with the bottle half empty saying that the kitchen chef put it in the microwave (!!!) and the milk boiled over (!!!) so they put some cow's milk (!!!!!!) boiling hot (!!!!!!) In the meantime our baby was hungry , our dinner cold, and they came to ask if we'd like some cheese over the pasta...... We were shocked, we ate, paid and left for ever!!!!!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Monika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Being familiar with Malta, we chose the Phoenicia for the location by the City Gate and for its reputation. We had planned a 2-city break, spending 3 days each in M'dina and Valetta, to give some variety and to avoid the need to hire a car.

We had booked a "Deluxe Harbour View Room" with a balcony on the (smoking permitted) 1st floor, but on arrival we were upgraded to an "Executive Harbour View Suite" on the 4th (top) floor. It was a delightful suite, spacious and clearly recently refurnished, even if it wasn't quite what we'd wanted. Suite 432 occupies the entire end of the hotel wing, offering a triple-aspect view over Valetta with distant views of parts of Grand Harbour and Marsamxett Harbour, and a close-up view of the Bus Station. Whilst the latter did create a bit of noise if the triple-glazed windows were opened, the constant coming and going (until around 2230) gave an interesting overview of the busy transport hub.

Reception: charming, helpful and efficient.
Room cleaning: efficient, helped by the attention of a supervisor who checked things were done properly. Anna spotted that one of our coffee cups wasn't properly cleaned, and rushed off to get a replacement!
Breakfast: a very good offering of both hot and cold dishes/plates, although perhaps the range of cold meats and cheeses was a little narrow.
Staff: charming and efficient.
Suite: spacious, well furnished and comfortable. The air conditioning was a little noisy, even on the lowest output setting, but then we are both rather sensitive to noise when trying to sleep. Others may have no problem at all. As noted by Janet B, we also had chrome legs on the washbasin that were pitted, otherwise the bathroom was fine and provided with good toiletries.

Apart from breakfast, we always ate out in Valetta so I can't comment on the two in-house restaurants. Valetta offers so much choice for eating out that we simply had to go and explore the options, and of course the hotel's location makes that very easy.

We strolled through the pleasant gardens to the pool area on one occasion. Sorry, but that's not our sort of thing - a fairly small rectangular pool and dozens of sun loungers/umbrellas on a concrete surface was rather "municipal" and unappealing.

Room Tip: The higher the better, unless you really want a balcony in which case it's 1st or 2nd floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank The_Old_Brits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear The_Old_Brits,

Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts on your recent stay with us. It’s good to know that you enjoyed hotel location and our rooms. Our goal is to provide our guest with the experience that exceed their expectations and I am sorry that you encounter few challenges during your time here. Please know that we always welcome our guest’s feedback as it gives us a chance to turn things around as well as improve our services.

I do hope we shall and the pleasure to welcome you back to the Phoenicia during your next visit to Malta.

Best Regards

Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Everything was top rate. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly and the hotel atmosphere breaths relaxation and quality. We had our rooms attended several times in a day.

Only drawback was the food by the pool which we would rate at tops average (but we are picky when it comes to food).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 512Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear 512Peter,

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Phoenicia and for sharing your experience with other Trip Advisor users. I am delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments are highly appreciated as they offer us a learning opportunity to improve our guests' experience.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards
Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The exterior of the Phoenicia Hotel has a faded grandeur with a stunning entrance. All the public rooms, including the main bar are beautifully furnished & decorated. However, the same cannot be said of the bedrooms & bathrooms - these are definitely not 5 star standard! I appreciate that it is an older hotel but this is no excuse for a very poor standard of bathroom, the grouting & sealer round the bath were in a very poor state, along with rust marks in the bath,chrome legs on the washbasin were pitted, cheap plastic stool and wastebin. This could not be described as 5 star in any way, shape or form. The bedroom on the 4th floor, did have a wonderful view of the harbour but we had to pay extra for this room, as we were first allocated one on the 3rd floor with a view of a flat roof! So before the holiday started it cost us a further 450 euros (after negotiation from 70 euros per night - we stayed 9 nights.) The room's furniture was adequate but again not of a 5 star standard. We always stay in 5 star hotels and can honestly say that this room did not meet the standards we have come to expect. Pool area was fine but the toilets & showers located there were terrible, they did not appear to be checked during the day & frequently were swimming in water. Door locks did not work properly and during our stay quite a few people got stuck in the toilets. When reported to pool/bar staff, they seemed to find this very amusing (but not for the people concerned!) All the hotel staff were helpful and polite, especially on the reception desk and the cleaning staff. So to sum up, if you want to stay in an historic hotel and don't mind a basic bedroom & bathroom, then the Phoenicia will be fine for you. However, if you normally stay in a 5 star hotel and are used to a luxurious standard, then give this one a miss.

Room Tip: 4th floor is a 'must' and request a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Second visit in 3 yrs. We love this hotel. It understates itself. Service is fantastic. Pool a delight. Restaurants perfect. I cannot recommend this hotel enougth. The staff are so helpful and being at the gates of valletta so convenient for shopping ,eating out and transport.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank androidpreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Androidpreston,

Thank you for your lovely words about your experience at the Phoenicia, I am delighted to see that your third visit was as pleasant as the ones before it. Your comments are highly appreciated and a great motivator to all of us.

We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards

Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Too often we hear the mission statement in the service/hospitality industry that the desire is to "exceed the customers' expectations" - but in this case, the Phoenicia achieved just that. Quietly classy without being aloof, professional yet caring and personal. Buffet breakfast is out of this world - the temptation to over-indulge proving hard to resist due to the sheer variety on offer, especially with the cooked breakfast option as well. Room (4th floor) was well appointed, clean and very quiet - previous reviewers have complained about views not being as expected, but to be honest, there is more to a stay in the Phoenicia than gazing out of the bedroom window. Equally, some guests have criticised the amble through the gardens to the tidy pool area in the shelter of the city wall - that was very much part of the pleasure for us. Staff were all very friendly and helpful - even the trainees at breakfast who were clearly being brought up to speed in time for the summer period but at no detriment to the overall professionalism of the team. Reception and concierge team were brilliant and catered for special arrangements to ensure my in-laws' Golden Wedding celebrations were as perfect as they could be. Pool side prices were a little high, but then this is a five star hotel and so not out of character with the settings and high level of service. All in all, our stay couldn't have been better and when checking out, the only complaint I had was that I couldn't have stayed longer. Well done to Charles Azzopardi and his team and thank you once again for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Karter44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Karter44,

Many thanks for the kind words you have shared with us on Trip Advisor. I am very pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay at the Phoenicia.
We make sure that we do our best to improve the quality of services & maintain high standards and your comments help motivate us further.

We hope to welcome you and your family back in the very near future.

Best regards

Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,234 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
587 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#2 of 15 in Valletta
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
367 reviews
2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,971 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenicia Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenicia Malta

Address: The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range: £117 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenicia Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenicia, just re-opened after an extensive renovation programme, is one of the leading luxury hotels in Malta. Located at the City Gates of Valletta, Malta’s capital city and UNESCO heritage city, The Phoenicia is perfectly placed for discovering the historic walled city, feasting on Caravaggio’s paintings and exploring the magnificent harbours. The hotel also boast magnificent 7 acre landscaped gardens. The island's central bus terminus is just meters away giving the possibility to explore the whole island by bus. A stay at The Phoenicia is an unforgettable experience. Our charming staff will ensure your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Phoenicia Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Valletta
Phoenicia Hotel Malta
Hotel Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing