We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Phoenicia Malta
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Osborne Hotel(Valletta)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Castille Hotel(Valletta)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Falconeria(Valletta)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
British Hotel(Valletta)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Ellul(Valletta)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,407)
Filter reviews
2,407 results
Traveller rating
1,458
691
180
55
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,458
691
180
55
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub barthe palm courtphoenix restaurantthe businfinity poolgrand old ladyold world charmpublic roomselegant hotelmain restaurantold stylecity gatea harbour view roomstar hotelbuilding workmain gatewithout exception
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
775 - 780 of 2,407 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The Phoenicia is looking a bit tired & neglected these days - we had room 208 in which the post-colonial rattan furniture which looked so fresh 10 or 15 years ago needs replacing. The ornamental metal balcony railing is rusting away as the sun beats down on that side. As a result the room was like a furnace on arrival as no-one had thought to shut the curtains We wrestled for half-an-hour with the air conditioning before asking for help from reception - man arrived, stared up at it & said We haven't switched it on yet for the season. ( Reception, always inclined to be superior over the years, has got more so.)
Outside, paradoxically, care is lavished on the gardens by a host of assiduous gardeners, the grounds are lovely, & it is a pleasure to walk through them on the way to the swimming pool for an early morning dip. Tip : if you don't fancy a huge breakfast at a price, you may ask for a cup of coffee & a croissant in the huge bar behind the foyer.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fairdos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear fairdos,

Thank you for choosing the hotel Phoenicia and for taking the time to share your experience with other Trip Advisor users. We are very disappointed that we were unable to fully meet your expectations.

We have a central air conditioning system that can either be switched on heating or cooling depending on the weather. The temperature in March was quite mild, too hot for heating and quite cool for cooling, hence the system was switched off when you arrived. The cooling system was turned on as soon as the weather became a bit warmer towards the end of March beginning of April.

I appreciate your comments as the offer us a learning opportunity to improve our guest's experience.

I hope we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Phoenicia in the future.

Best Regards

Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We have just returned from this hotel and we had a great stay, reviews are all correct. We had room 229 which was on the side with a harbour/ town view and it was lovely. Beds are comfy and it was spotless. We only ate in the hotel once which was the buffet meal which was excellent, hot and tasty and as much food and wine as you want for one price of €39 each well worth it as the wine does not stop flowing all night.

We only had one complaint and that was the terrace windows were dirty, we told reception and the same day they were all cleaned... Excellent.

If you hire a car there is a small free carpark at the hotel.

The pool area is lovely and we never had to worry about getting a subbed..great.

If there was one thing we would recommend we would suggest a notice board in reception or by the concierge telling you what is on that week in Valletta, as there were a number of concerts, markets etc that we missed out on because we didn't know they were going on until it was too late.

Other than that brilliant, will definitely recommend this to other people.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DingDongBells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear DingDongBells,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

I highly appreciate your feedback as it serves as a learning opportunity to improve our guest's experience.

We look forward to welcome you back to the Phoenicia in the future.

Best regards

Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We have stayed at the Phoenica Hotel annually for a considerable number of years. The welcome is unsurpassed and both staff and management anticipate your every need-my husband received a delicious chocolate cake on his birthday whilst we were there! Our room on the second floor overlooking the Harbour and gardens had a balcony and had recently been upgraded . The bed was comfortable and the linen and towels were pristine. Toiletries were replaced daily and tea and coffee making facilities were also available. The food is second to none and there is a terrace to enjoy your meal on. The pool area is lovely and the gardens beautiful. There is nightly entertainment by local artists and the Palm Court lounge is a pleasant area to sit and have a coffee or watch the world go by. The hotel is situated just outside the city gate and a few minutes walk from the bus terminus ,so a car is not necessary. Valletta is a pleasant place to walk in the evening and you feel very safe there. Valletta has many beautiful gardens and so many interesting buildings and churches-it is a jewel in the Mediterranean's crown!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Jane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Jane N,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am thrilled that over the years we were able to provide you with excellent accommodations and great service to make your trips in Malta all the more enjoyable.

We are grateful for your high recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Regards

Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Beautiful older genteel hotel. Wonderful location. Within walking distance to old city. One can hear the music from the hotel. We took the hop on, hop off bus which stopped right in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank William Leroy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear William Leroy K,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other Trip Advisor users, I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay and found the ambiance and the location of the Phoenicia to your liking.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards

Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The top two floors are the 'modernised' floors, the rooms with hideous windows. The view is fine but these are not French windows so you have to be standing up to look out, no sitting to admire the view. Sadly, window frames are slide, meaning you can only open one side: this doesn't amount to any view you will remember. These rooms, too, are decorated in 'hotel-ise', i.e. bland and unmemorable and it is hard to envisage the lack of imagination with which these floors have been built. The two lower floors, the older rooms, are much more attractive and individual, with balconies and French windows, living up to the 'deluxe' bit, with character and style.

The restaurant didn't do it for us, being served a meal that was unappetising and tepid, lovely surroundings but poor cuisine. We found much better in Valletta streets.

Generous breakfasts in impressive surroundings though sadly moron music plays continually if you eat breakfast indoors so make for the terrace to escape it.

Good stay and endorse all the comments about the position at the gate but not quite living up to the full price of the stay.

Room Tip: Avoid top two floors. Fine if all you want is to plug into wifi and telly and really stay at home.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VentrisArdenToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear VentrisArdenToronto,

Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts on your recent stay with us. It’s good to know that you enjoyed your stay.

Our goal is to provide our guest with an experience that exceeds their expectations and I am sorry that you encountered a few challenges during your stay with us. We always welcome our guest’s feedback as it gives us a chance to turn things around and improve the quality of our product and services.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Phoenicia in the future.

Best Regards
Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews