We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“old fashioned style and charm.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Phoenicia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Phoenicia
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“old fashioned style and charm.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Excellent in all respects, staff all terrific and helpful.
Food varied and good quality with the breakfast buffet particularly great.
Pool area superb for relaxing.
Hotel very convenient for all Valletta shops and restaurants.
Planning to go again next year so this must be the best recommendation.

Room Tip: go for a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john7897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Phoenicia, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear John7897,

Many thanks for leaving a review following your recent stay at the hotel. I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and that you loved our location and our service.

I highly appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,257
    635
    164
    53
    21
See reviews for
235
1,357
111
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed recently in this very friendly hotel.
It's a stones throw from the city centre,but still a peacefull retreat from the busy town. Beautifull gardens and a super swimming pool.
Rooms are a good size and very comfy, but we were a bit miffed at only haveing 1 bathrobe,staff seemed to think thats all you needed.
We found the bar lounge restaurant the best for us, and the bar was good fun, the barman very imformative and the photographs gave a history of the brave Maltese during the last war, cocktails were good too.
Overall a very good hotel, nice staff and good local food.
There are also very nice walks through local gardens close by, worth a stroll in the evenings.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coliz900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Phoenicia, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Coliz900,

Thank you for sharing comments with travel community. I am very happy to learn that you enjoyed convenience of hotel location, ambiance and you the comfort of the room.

I am so sorry that you did not find enough bathrobes in the room, we normally deliver one bathrobe per person. Your feedback is highly appreciated as it allows us to improve on our guest's experience.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkirkara, Malta
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel stands in an excellent position for having celerations in. Being near the Malta bus terminus makes it easy for guests to get there. Then getting inside makes one immediately feel welcomed. The front office management is extremely welcoming. Everyone of them without exception is ready to see for for the needs of those coming in.

If by the way you are thinking of celebrating a wedding, an anniversary go to these people and experience the excellence with which they will set it up for you.

The place itself is welcoming and the big foyer where you can have a welcoming drink in a quiet environment is more then helpful.

If you are in the vicinity of Valletta a visit to the Phoenicia Hotel is something more than a must.

Keep it up all.

Room Tip: The view over Marsamchetto Harbour and the bastions of Valletta besides the New Renzo Piano Project...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emanuel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Phoenicia, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Emanuel Z,

It’s great to learn that you enjoyed your experience at the hotel Phoenicia and that the location and service were to your satisfaction. We highly appreciate your comments and recommendations.

We will be looking forward to welcome you back for future celebrations.

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Four of us stayed at Phoenicia in February this year. Although a wonderful historic hotel it is showing its age. Of more concern is its position near the bus terminus and poorly lit Mall area. We were pursued by a group of young men on our way back from dinner and one of our party had an object thrown in his face even though we had made it into the hotel's grounds.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FNP1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Phoenicia, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear FNP1998,

Thank you for staying at the Phoenicia and for reviewing your stay. It is very unfortunate that we only get to know about the incident you had outside the hotel 6 months later as we could have tried to do something about this. Malta is one of the safest destinations and we all take guest safety and peace of mind very seriously. I assure you that as unpleasant as it may have been, your incident was an isolated incident.

I would also like to offer our sincere apologies for not fully meeting your expectation on this visit and I do hope that the incident you mentioned does not detract you from visiting our island again in the future.

Kind Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Spent 4 nights here with the family. Everything exactly as described. Didn't really appreciate how good the hotel and location was until we moved to another five star hotel in St Julian's which was like being parachuted into club land.

Biggest pluses are friendly staff, great pool area, Valletta is on the doorstep, and bus terminal too.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Phoenicia, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Richard R,

I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your time with us and that the hotel location was convenient to your needs. We appreciate your review and recommendation and hope to welcome you and your family back to the Phoenicia, in the near future.

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
185 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is the perfect hotel if you wish to stay in Valletta and have the comfort of not needing buses or taxis as it is right at the main entrance to the city. Loved this hotel. The rooms were lovely, the cleaning was efficient and thorough. The hotel has lovely facilities, the bars and restaurants were lovely, the staff very friendly all the time.

I have to say I loved the gardens and pool so much, I spent at least half a day there each day.
The hotel is very reasonably priced for its status and its history.

Room Tip: Room 414 looks straight out to the Grand Harbour. Lovely room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank conorbuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Phoenicia, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Connorbuggy,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to learn that you have found our services, ambiance and location to your liking. We highly appreciate your comments particularly those about the staff.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Perfect location, lovely Hotel providing ambiance suitable for holidaying on this beautiful island. We have no reservations about recommending this Hotel & would undoubtably return here on a future visit to the Maltese Islands!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marcial H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Phoenicia, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at the Phoenicia with other Trip Advisor users. I am delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

I thank you for recommending us to other travelers and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Best Regards
Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#4 of 14 in Valletta
3,694 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 14 in Valletta
296 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
3,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#3 of 14 in Valletta
507 reviews
0.3 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#6 of 14 in Valletta
1,021 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Phoenicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Phoenicia

Property: Hotel Phoenicia
Address: The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Phoenicia 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star luxury in Malta’s historic Art Deco hotel. Hotel Phoenicia, one of the leading 5 star hotels in Malta, is located at the City Gates of Valletta, Malta’s capital city and UNESCO heritage city. Just 50 meters from city gate, it is perfectly placed for discovering the historic walled city, feasting on Caravaggio’s paintings and exploring the magnificent harbours. The hotel also boast magnificent 7 acre garden. The island's central bus terminus is just meters away civing the possibility to explore the whole island by bus. A stay at the Hotel Phoenicia is an unforgettable experience. Our charming staff will ensure your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Phoenicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Valletta
Phoenicia Hotel Malta
Hotel Phoenicia Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing