We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel, excellent location, excellent staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Phoenicia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Phoenicia
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Purley, Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, excellent location, excellent staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Having asked for a harbour view, we were disappointed to find that we were overlooking the industrial harbour rather than the picturesque harbour of Marsamxett. The staff could not have been more accommodating and arranged for us to change rooms as soon as another became available - the next day. A minor inconvenience to enable us to spend the rest of our holiday enjoying the view we wanted. Food was of a very high standard throughout, the main restaurant providing a good choice every night on the set menu and also an a la carte option. We also ate in the more informal poolside restaurant on one evening which was lovely.
Both rooms we saw were well appointed, clean and comfortable. the service staff were friendly and helpful at all times.
The hotel is located within easy walking distance of all of Vallettas sights and historical buildings. It is very close to the bus terminal allowing good use of the excellent local bus services. The hop-on hop-off bus stops right outside.
We will certainly return to this lovely hotel in the future.
Thank you to all the staff we met - you made our holiday something special!

Room Tip: higher floors, ask for harbour view of Marsamxett harbour - views over grand harbour not as pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wadeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Phoenicia, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Wadeh,

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review, I am so grateful that you took the time to share your experience with others. Sorry to hear you had a few minor issues, and I am very pleased our team reacted so positively and ensured that these were sorted out in a timely manner allowing you to enjoy your stay.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to the Phoenicia.

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,256
    636
    164
    53
    21
See reviews for
235
1,357
111
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Level Contributor
131 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We booked via bookings.com a 4 night stay in a harbour view room. Disappointed on arrival that our room had a glimpse of it. Great view of the staff entrance and rubbish bins. Friends joining us for one night had an amazing room with a balconied outlook and 180 degree harbour views made us jealous. Meet and greet with drinks and canapes was a lovely touch. Moved the next day, on request by a very charming member of staff to a room with both a better view and superior air-con made our stay much more comfortable. Fireworks nightly totally made our trip...hours of fun. Only one bathrobe was efficiently sorted by housekeeping. Wierdly the hairdryer is in the desk drawer.
Breakfast daily on the terrace was excellant. Buffet self serve.
The pool is a decent size and loved the loungers and bar. Many happy hours spent pool side and it's a lovely bourganvillia walk to get there.. Location wise you can't do better.....for dinner/drinks cross the round-a-bout and head up Republic St. Recommended. P.S. We did sneak in after check out for a last dip before we boarded.....thank you Phoenicia.

Room Tip: harbour view request and follow up on it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clarebelleuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Phoenicia, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Clarebelleuk,

Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts on your recent stay with us. It’s good to know that you enjoyed hotel location, the service and our rooms.
Our goal is to provide our guest with the experience that exceed their expectations and I am sorry that you encounter few challenges during your time here. We always welcome our guest’s feedback during their stay as it gives us a chance to turn things around as well as improve our services. It’s good to know that our team members were able to resolve these challenges in a timely manner and that this experience did not negatively influence your stay
I do hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Phoenicia in the future.

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Had a 4 night stay at this hotel after a 10 night stay at another 5* on the island how disapointed were we arrived at 1pm no one on hand to help with luggage had to ask at front desk who appeared very offish passed on to another member of staff who was pleasant but just booked us in explained how to use the phone and where breakfast was sereved.got into our rooms pleasant enough stayed in better travel lodges(thay provide a better service)tired 1920's style throughout the hotel shabby bathrooms stained and rusty no special touches in room realy realy small not enough power points that is if you can find them we had 2 one of which did not work one we had was used for the plastic travel kettle which was in a cupboard with no point in it even for the drinksfridge also every time we required ice we either got it from the bar or was expected to phone house keeping.walk to the pool expected with no problem pleanty of beds got realy busy in afternoon bar staff rude and not at all helpfull and in need of smartening up.best part of the hotel was the bar brill bar man didn't catch his name youngish with glasses saved the day brill service always enjoyed a chat and knew all about customer care shame can't be said for the rest.breakfast was ok good choice nice outside seating area chose to sit inside after first morning as seating was damp and after asking then to be changed by a senior waiter who begrudgingly changed them only to be no better we chose to sit inside.so glad this was only for 4 nights and at the end of our holiday thank god we had 10 previous nights in Le Maridian St julians far far superior sorry Phoneicia realy disapointed.

Room Tip: Don't stay if expecting 5*
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alcoll15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Phoenicia, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Alcoll15,

Whilst thanking you for staying at the Phoenicia and for your review, I would like to offer our sincere apologies for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay.

Such feedback and comments are very important to us as they make us try harder and help us improve our guests’ experience. The issues you encountered have already been discussed with the heads of departments concerned and I assure you that action has already been taken to rectify the situation.

I thank you for bringing these matters to our attention.

Kind Regards
Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Excellent in all respects, staff all terrific and helpful.
Food varied and good quality with the breakfast buffet particularly great.
Pool area superb for relaxing.
Hotel very convenient for all Valletta shops and restaurants.
Planning to go again next year so this must be the best recommendation.

Room Tip: go for a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john7897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Phoenicia, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear John7897,

Many thanks for leaving a review following your recent stay at the hotel. I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and that you loved our location and our service.

I highly appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed recently in this very friendly hotel.
It's a stones throw from the city centre,but still a peacefull retreat from the busy town. Beautifull gardens and a super swimming pool.
Rooms are a good size and very comfy, but we were a bit miffed at only haveing 1 bathrobe,staff seemed to think thats all you needed.
We found the bar lounge restaurant the best for us, and the bar was good fun, the barman very imformative and the photographs gave a history of the brave Maltese during the last war, cocktails were good too.
Overall a very good hotel, nice staff and good local food.
There are also very nice walks through local gardens close by, worth a stroll in the evenings.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coliz900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Phoenicia, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Coliz900,

Thank you for sharing comments with travel community. I am very happy to learn that you enjoyed convenience of hotel location, ambiance and you the comfort of the room.

I am so sorry that you did not find enough bathrobes in the room, we normally deliver one bathrobe per person. Your feedback is highly appreciated as it allows us to improve on our guest's experience.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkirkara, Malta
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel stands in an excellent position for having celerations in. Being near the Malta bus terminus makes it easy for guests to get there. Then getting inside makes one immediately feel welcomed. The front office management is extremely welcoming. Everyone of them without exception is ready to see for for the needs of those coming in.

If by the way you are thinking of celebrating a wedding, an anniversary go to these people and experience the excellence with which they will set it up for you.

The place itself is welcoming and the big foyer where you can have a welcoming drink in a quiet environment is more then helpful.

If you are in the vicinity of Valletta a visit to the Phoenicia Hotel is something more than a must.

Keep it up all.

Room Tip: The view over Marsamchetto Harbour and the bastions of Valletta besides the New Renzo Piano Project...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emanuel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Phoenicia, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Emanuel Z,

It’s great to learn that you enjoyed your experience at the hotel Phoenicia and that the location and service were to your satisfaction. We highly appreciate your comments and recommendations.

We will be looking forward to welcome you back for future celebrations.

Best Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Four of us stayed at Phoenicia in February this year. Although a wonderful historic hotel it is showing its age. Of more concern is its position near the bus terminus and poorly lit Mall area. We were pursued by a group of young men on our way back from dinner and one of our party had an object thrown in his face even though we had made it into the hotel's grounds.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FNP1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Phoenicia, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear FNP1998,

Thank you for staying at the Phoenicia and for reviewing your stay. It is very unfortunate that we only get to know about the incident you had outside the hotel 6 months later as we could have tried to do something about this. Malta is one of the safest destinations and we all take guest safety and peace of mind very seriously. I assure you that as unpleasant as it may have been, your incident was an isolated incident.

I would also like to offer our sincere apologies for not fully meeting your expectation on this visit and I do hope that the incident you mentioned does not detract you from visiting our island again in the future.

Kind Regards

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#4 of 13 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,628 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 13 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#3 of 13 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.2 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#6 of 13 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Phoenicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Phoenicia

Property: Hotel Phoenicia
Address: The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Phoenicia 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star luxury in Malta’s historic Art Deco hotel. Hotel Phoenicia, one of the leading 5 star hotels in Malta, is located at the City Gates of Valletta, Malta’s capital city and UNESCO heritage city. Just 50 meters from city gate, it is perfectly placed for discovering the historic walled city, feasting on Caravaggio’s paintings and exploring the magnificent harbours. The hotel also boast magnificent 7 acre garden. The island's central bus terminus is just meters away civing the possibility to explore the whole island by bus. A stay at the Hotel Phoenicia is an unforgettable experience. Our charming staff will ensure your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TravelUp and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Phoenicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Valletta
Phoenicia Hotel Malta
Hotel Phoenicia Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing