We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Phoenicia Malta
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Phoenicia for nearly 2 weeks in July. Such a fantastic hotel.
Elegant and stylish without being stuffy. Cannot speak highly enough of the service we received. Will definitely return, loved it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank Maryanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Maryanne B,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and we met your expectations in terms of facilities and the service we provided.

I look forward to welcome you to the Phoenicia in the near future.

Best Regards
Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

654 - 660 of 2,311 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

In the heat of the day we went for a drink in the bar and were served a wonderful glass of Pimms that was amazing. The decor was fantastic, very 1920's.
The staff were friendly, kind and very professional. We were so impressed that we are going to book a room on our next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
4  Thank Dorothy113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Dorothy113,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Phoenicia with other Trip Advisor users. I am happy to learn that you found our service and the hotel's ambiance to your liking.

I am looking forward to your next trip to Malta, when we will have the pleasure to welcome you at the Phoenicia.

Best Regards

Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My wife and I spent five nights here at the end of a month long trip to Europe. The old world charm of the hotel combined with excellent service and wonderful restaurants made this a memorable stay.

We dined at all three restaurants. The price for three courses plus wine for two people was about 90-100 euros per meal. Given the high quality of the food and the attentive service of the wait staff, this was an appropriate cost.

The location of the hotel is also excellent. It is a two minute walk from the main bus terminal, a five minute walk from the main street of Valetta and many of the main sites, a short walk to the Upper Baracca Gardens, and a 10 minute walk to the harbour where there is a good selection of restaurants on the wharf. There are excellent views of the main harbour from the hotel.
Many English tourists made good use of the pool, spa, deck chairs etc.

The décor of the hotel is such that Hercule Poirot would approve. In fact, we almost expected him to walk in.

There was quite good live entertainment on two of the evenings we stayed at the hotel.

Our room was spacious and looked out over Valetta.

We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Jill40Jill40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Jill40Jill40,

Thank you so much for your review. I am very happy to know that you are satisfied with your stay, and that the hotel location as well as the restaurant were to your liking.

I do hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Phoenicia in the future.

Best Regards

Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We chose Hotel Phoenicia for a 5 day break from London. It is ideally situated, close to the Malta city gates, has old world charm with modern facilities. The pool is beautiful, with plenty of lounges and shade if you would prefer. The breakfast was fantastic with lots of variety and choice, and the ambiance of the breakfast area was lovely, on an outdoor balcony with spectacular views. Our booking was fantastic value for money.
We have already decided to return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Graham F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Graham F,

Thank you so much for your review. I am very happy to know that you are satisfied with the value of your stay and that the hotel location, ambiance, as well as the restaurant were to your liking. I hope that if you decide to visit Malta again you will once again choose the Phoenicia.

Best regards

Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

The Phoenicia brings a traditional admosphere for a great stay in a beautifull environment like Malta. Phoenicia provides a very good service in comfortable building. The rooms good use an upgrade with respect to space.

Phoenicia is ideally situated so close to the center of Valletta, the bus station and the great restaurants at Waterfront.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Fred_de_Goede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Fred_de_Goede,

Thank you for sharing your experience on your recent stay with us. It’s good to know that your stay was overall a pleasant experience and that hotel location was convenient to your points of interest. I hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Phoenicia in the future.

Best regards

Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My partner & I stayed here at the end of July for a week. The Phoenicia hotel is fantastic, all staff are friendly and can't do enough for you, from the reception staff to the waiters/waitresses. Our room was beautiful on the 4th floor, only downside was that we didn't have a balcony. Pool is a short walk through the hotel gardens, always able to get a sun bed. The hotel is situated in a fantastic location, 5 minutes from Valletta & 2 minutes from the bus terminal, where you can go anywhere in Malta for €1.50 for a day ticket. Breakfast in the hotel was superb, where you could have anything from fruit, pancakes, eggs, omelettes, cereal, breads/cakes, tea/coffee & fruit juices. As it was our 3rd anniversary, we came back to our room on the first night to find champagne and chocolates, which was a lovely surprise. Would definitely go back to this hotel & would highly recommend it to others :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Melissa B,

Thank you so much for your great comments on the staff and service, your support of the hotel is hugely appreciated. I am glad that you have enjoyed your anniversary surprise and I thank you for having chosen to celebrate such a special occasion at the Phoenicia.
We look forward to welcome you back to the Phoenicia in the future.

Best regards

Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We would highly recommend this hotel. This is our 3rd visit to Malta and the hotel is the best one we have stayed in. The location is great. The staff are friendly and nothing is to much trouble. On our previous visits we stayed at The Raddison Blue Hotel and the Excelsior in Valeta. The Phoenicia is by far the better one and we will return next year.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank dave_heaven1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Pavanello, Guest Relations Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear dave_heaven1,

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review about your recent stay with us. I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and I thank you for recommending us to fellow travelers.

I look forward to welcome you back very soon.

Kindest regards
Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,183 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
576 reviews
2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
364 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#2 of 15 in Valletta
180 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenicia Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenicia Malta

Address: The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range: £105 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenicia Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenicia, just re-opened after an extensive renovation programme, is one of the leading luxury hotels in Malta. Located at the City Gates of Valletta, Malta’s capital city and UNESCO heritage city, The Phoenicia is perfectly placed for discovering the historic walled city, feasting on Caravaggio’s paintings and exploring the magnificent harbours. The hotel also boast magnificent 7 acre landscaped gardens. The island's central bus terminus is just meters away giving the possibility to explore the whole island by bus. A stay at The Phoenicia is an unforgettable experience. Our charming staff will ensure your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Phoenicia Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Valletta
Phoenicia Hotel Malta
Hotel Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing