We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Phoenicia Malta
Nearby Hotels
La Falconeria(Valletta)
US$281
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$266
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palazzo Consiglia(Valletta)
US$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Castille Hotel(Valletta)
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Osborne Hotel(Valletta)
US$222
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$211
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Ellul(Valletta)
US$351
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Palais Le Brun(Valletta)
CheapTickets
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,431)
Filter reviews
2,431 results
Traveller rating
1,477
695
181
55
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,477
695
181
55
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub barthe palm courtphoenix restaurantthe businfinity poolgrand old ladyold world charmpublic roomselegant hotelmain restaurantold stylecity gatea harbour view roomstar hotelbuilding workmain gatewithout exception
Filter
Updating list...
2,005 - 2,010 of 2,431 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2009

Arrived to a very warm welcome - Reception staff friendly and efficient.
Our room, a standard double was very comfortable and well-equiped with a view of the harbour and bus terminus. The location next to the bus terminus provided endless opportunities to access the whole of Malta (at 47cents a journey!) in the famous rickety yellow buses.
The hotel was a real haven. The breakfast fantastic, staff always on hand offering and providing service with very good grace. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Malta. Just a few steps to the City Gate and you're in Valletta - a City unlike any other, unique in architecture and history. Packed with museums and galleries, and two beautiful theatres, there's always something to do.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ErnestEaling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2009

I stay at The Hotel Phoenicia quite regularly as it is near to our companys offices in Valletta and had a lovely suprise on my most recent trip this week. I was aware that the hotel was undergoing a refurbishment but was really impressed by the new decor and furnishings
The new colour scheme in the Palm Court Lounge creates a calm and relaxed atmosphere - a perfect place to meet business or leisure associates. I arranged many of my meetings around morning coffee and also afternoon tea sessions which went down really well with my clients.
I also entertained in the newly refurbished Phoenix Restaurant which is now very much at home within this 5* property. It had just the right ambience teamed with the usual high level of service associated with The Phoenicia.
Although I wasn't able to stay in one of the new rooms on the 3rd or 4th floor I was taken to see them as they will be available next week. First impressions on the 3rd floor were made with the super light and airey corridors, having taken the newly restored lifts. The bedrooms are decorated in lovely shades of turquoise and brown. I was fearful that the owners may have chosen the bland corporate minimalistic style that so many refurbishments tend to go for but I was delighted to see that the new colours, decor and furnishings were very stylish and modern but still in keeping with the tradition of the hotel. The new rooms are lovely - a must for my next visit in April!
The Phoenicia Hotel has always been my favourite property on the island because of its location, style and fabulous staff, and now it is looking better than ever!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patsyYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2009

The Phoenicia is a landmark building in Valletta. It is perfectly located at the entrance to the city with the bus station on the doorstep.

As others have mentioned the hotel is currently undergoing refurbishment. Whilst we were there the lobby lounge was re-opened and looks really smart. We were also allowed a look at a 'sample' refurbished bedroom. This room was modern with quality fittings and a big improvement on the 'old' bedroom we stayed in.

The current bedrooms look dated and worn though they are clean and of a reasonable size.

The breakfast, currently served in the brasserie, was the usual hot and cold selection for English or Continental breakfast as you prefer. Guests who preferred eggs other than scrambled had them cooked fresh for them in the kitchen.

The evening meals in the brasserie were excellent and by far the besgt meals we had during our stay in Malta. The 3-course table d'hote menu was 33 euros including coffee with A La Carte also available. The price of wine was comparable to that in restaurants away from the hotel.

My wife and I were struck by the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. It was clear that they took pride in their hotel. It was also clear that a lot of guests were repeat customers who have been loyal to the hotel for a number of years - so they must be doing something right.

The 'old' parts of the hotel are not up to 5 star standard as far as furnushings and fittings go but the 'new' parts are or will be. The standard of service is definitely 5 star.

We hadn't been to Malta for over 30 years. We expect to return sooner this time and wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else in Valletta.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JayBee60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2009

The Hotel Phonecia, Valetta is a real gem of a hotel. Built in grand colonial style this Luzury 5 star property stills retains and element of old-fashioned glamour albeit now a little faded at the edges!

The hotel has already fixed many of the problems mentioned in earlier reviews; new elevators wisk you efficiently to each floor accompanied by the soundtrack of an over-loud guitar loop of music. Bedrooms have also been fitted with double-sets of double-glazed patio doors so even the lightest of sleeper won't be disturbed by the bustle of Valetta City.

Housekeeping is impeccable and the staff are amongst the most helpful I've come across recently. Nothing seems to be a problem.

During out stay the refubishment of the Palm Court, Grand Lobby and Main Resturant were taking place. Although restricted to work hours this was very noisy and it was a huge dissapointment not to have use of these facilities. In the interim the Lounge serves as the bar and has a rather older persons' home atmosphere. The Brasserie serves as the main restaurant. Sadly it retains the limited menu of a brasserie, and the ususally grand buffet was rather reduced and squeezed into this room.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank TruthMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2009

Don't worry about refurbishment. We stayed five days at the Phoenicia in January. The refurb programme had begun, and although a lounge was closed, the work was practically invisible and completely inaudible. If we had not been told about it we would never have known it was happening. As to the rest, it was lovely: nice fluffy towels and nice, calm, comfort. Not at all like the corporate chains, but individual and stylish; if it is a tiny bit frayed this only adds to the charm. Location is perfect, and the bus terminus is a tourist destination in its own right. Cannot imagine staying anywhere else, at least in January when the price is surprisingly affordable.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cautious_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews