We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's rare I miss a hotel the instant I check out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Phoenicia Malta
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Dublin
1 review
“It's rare I miss a hotel the instant I check out”
Reviewed 17 June 2009

It's rare I miss a hotel the instant I check out but that's the effect the Phoenicia had on me. My stay there was six days of bliss and comfort. The atmosphere is welcoming and hospitable. The staff are attentive but not invasive. There are no pretentions when it comes to dress code, as is the case with many other five star hotels and the facilities are superb. I was particularly taken by the colonial style club bar, reminiscent of a bygone era and the swimming pool with its panoramic view of the port of Valetta. I can't recommend it enough and I'm sure you'r stay there will be as memorable as mine.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,319
    655
    168
    53
    22
See reviews for
248
1,408
114
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (618)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2009

Have been to this hotel every year for the past 10 years and I still cannopt fault the wonderful holidays we have here. The staff are like our family, you could not be made more welcome in this wonderful hotel.
Dinner and breakfast are very relaxed and nothing is too much trouble for the staff there if you need anything. Food is of high standard and the bar is very intimate yet relaxing in the evening after your meal.
The staff make this hotel even more special as they are simply wonderful. We will continue to go every year and have already booked our next trip for sept 2009. 10/10

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeicestershireAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlesGM, General Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, 18 June 2009
Dear Guest,

On behalf of all the staff at the Phoenicia, I would like to thank you for your positive comments following your recent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in September.

Kind Regards,
Charles Azzopardi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2009

i recently stayed in hotel phoenicia for 6 days and had a wonderful experience. i thought the hotel itself was amazing with beautiful gardens and a lovely pool area. i found the staff very helpful but not overly so and they were extremely friendly in a lovely warm way. it was very relaxed and comfortable with all the trimmings of 5 star luxury.

the food was great too lots of different places for dining in the hotel so something to cater for everyone, it would be definitley somewhere i would recommend and visit again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlesGM, General Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, 18 June 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Phoenicia. I am pleased that you enjoyed our facilities and service. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Malta and to the Phoenicia.

Kind Regards,
Charles Azzopardi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winchester
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2009

The Phoenicia is an elegant, stylish hotel on the doorstep of Valletta - in just a few steps we were inside the city gates and close to the shops and the amazing range of historical buildings.
A great feature was the beutifful garden, which we walked through to reach the swiming pool, which overlooks the harbour.
The service is excellent - there is a great Front of House Manager ( Neville) who organised everything for our stay ( we booked independently) and without exception staff were friendly, helpfula and efficient. This was our third visit and we will certainly go again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineWinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlesGM, General Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, 18 June 2009
Dear Guest,

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. On behalf of all the staff (and particularly Neville who was overjoyed with the mention), I thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Charles Azzopardi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2009

We visited Malta last year and stayed at the Phoenicia then to but felt the hotel was in need of a facelift. We then were toying with the idea of a return visit as there is so much to do in malta and when we were looking we saw the hotel and recieved an extensive makeover so we decided to make a return trip... We were not disappointed! the refurbishment of the hotel has been exceptional and they have blended the old and the new very well. The overall service we received was superb, a nice welcome, bags in the room before we were and one of the best breakfast buffets i have seen in a long time each morning. We stayed a week and spent our time relaxing by the pool or visiting one of the many historical sites in Malta. We ate in a couple of times they have two restaurants - both excellent with great food and great service but the terrace at the back of the hotel (also were breakfast is) is the most beautiful setting dinner is worth the sunset alone! They only down side would be the lack of a spa - my wife is a fan! Will we return? absolutely!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelhopper78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gozo
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2009

We regularly stay in five star hotels all over the world. This is one of the friendliest we know, probably because we stay so regularly. The service is very personal. The improvements so far are excellent although my husband is not keen on the new bar in the palm lounge. It is good for the day but lacks any form of atmosphere at night. The Phoenix Restaurant is great since it was re-vamped and the seating much more comfortable. Service generally has improved considerably at breakfast over the past two years as it was very slow before this. When we ate in the Phoenix restaurant yesterday evening we could not fault the service we received - it was very good. We know all the reception staff exceedingly well and they are always so polite, friendly and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble.
We like the Phoenicia for it's convenience to Valletta and St. Paul's Pro-Cathedral as well.
The Gardens and walk to the Pool are a treat for me.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlesGM, General Manager at The Phoenicia Malta, responded to this review, 18 June 2009
Dear Guest,

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found the improvements following the refurbishment to your liking. The new bar in the Palm Court Lounge is indeed attracting a lot more business during the day. It is also getting popular in the evenings so I am sure that there will be an improved atmosphere in the evenings by your next visit.

Thank you for taking the time to write and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Charles Azzopardi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
world
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2009

I have been regularly travelling to Malta for the last few years and for me the only place to stay is the Phoenicia Hotel. The hotel is very conveniently situated just outside the main gates of the world heritage city of Valetta, separated only by the bus terminus (a small wonder in itself) and useful if you feel like exploring further afield.
I always like to ask for the same room where I can sit out on a balcony, relax and enjoy the afternoon sun and the magnificent view overlooking the harbour. As soon as I walk into the Phoenicia, I feel at home again; it’s that warm welcoming feeling given by the staff and the décor, ambience and character that are all so unique to the hotel.
The Palm Court lounge (an awesome central feature of the hotel) has recently been refurbished and is the ideal meeting place for morning coffee, afternoon tea or just simply an evening drink with friends before dinner.
At this time of the year, both breakfast and dinner are served out on the terrace which overlooks the 7 acres of mature gardens and the harbour. A new a la carte menu has just been introduced and the exquisite selections of the menu are all freshly prepared and cooked to order.
I have also had the opportunity to dine several times in the less formal restaurant – the Pegasus Brasserie - where both the food and service are just as excellent.
The one particular reason why I love to go to the Phoenicia is the staff. Wherever you are, from the moment you enter the Phoenicia in the reception and the concierge, to the housekeeping and dining staff, they are all very friendly, efficient, helpful and proud to be part of the Phoenicia.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank World0075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,969 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,431 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#4 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,688 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#2 of 15 in Valletta
124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenicia Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenicia Malta

Property: The Phoenicia Malta
Address: The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenicia Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenicia, just re-opened after an extensive renovation programme, is one of the leading luxury hotels in Malta. Located at the City Gates of Valletta, Malta’s capital city and UNESCO heritage city, The Phoenicia is perfectly placed for discovering the historic walled city, feasting on Caravaggio’s paintings and exploring the magnificent harbours. The hotel also boast magnificent 7 acre landscaped gardens. The island's central bus terminus is just meters away giving the possibility to explore the whole island by bus. A stay at The Phoenicia is an unforgettable experience. Our charming staff will ensure your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your The Phoenicia Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Valletta
Phoenicia Hotel Malta
Hotel Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing