We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Phoenicia Malta
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
England
Level Contributor
68 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 4 May 2010

I selected this hotel for its proximity to the walled city of Valletta - a World Heritage Site - and the adjacent bus station, from which a constant stream of ex-British 1960s boneshakers depart to all corners of the island. If you arrive in Malta by plane, a No. 8 bus from outside the terminal will take you straight to the hotel for 50 cents.

The hotel is reputed to be one of the best in Malta and, on the whole, did not disappoint - it is grand and classy with extensive public areas, well-appointed rooms and the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. The cooked breakfast was a disappointment though (congealed buffet food) so if your deal doesn't include breakfast then I suggest you walk the few hundred yards to Caffe Cordina near Valletta's main square, where a far better breakfast can be had for about half the price. One other negative: check your bill carefully when you check out of the hotel, as they tried to sneak a couple of minor extra charges on mine. To their credit, they removed these without argument when I challenged them.

Overall though the hotel was a good experience and I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil of England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,291
    644
    167
    53
    22
See reviews for
242
1,385
113
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (606)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2010

We stayed for a week at the end of April and could happily have stayed for several more!
The hotel was superb in all areas. Our room was ranked as one of the most basic but we found it to be comfortable and luxurious, spotlessly clean.
Service was excellent, all staff were friendly and helpful. As for the breakfast - fantastic - especially after an early morning swim in the pool.
Malta itself was friendly and relaxed, and we were lucky enough to be there for the international fireworks festival - an unforgettable sight.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewDayTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2010

This hotel is a grand old lady and we really enjoyed our visit. It was the staff who made our stay so relaxing and enjoyable: compliments to the housekeeping staff as well as the wait staff in the Brassiere, Palm Court Café and Club Bar, who all greeted us with happy smiles and warmth, every day, all day. We also found the Reception staff helpful, but the Concierges were the ones who went that extra mile to assist.

Our room was booked through an internet booking service and the room turned out exactly like the photo on the hotel website: large, clean, with a tiled floor, simply but well furnished. The bed was huge and firm with soft, feather pillows. There was a trouser press in the wardrobe rather than an iron and board. Although large and well appointed with a toilet plus a bidet, the shower was in the bath and the state of tiling grout let the bathroom down. The hairdryer was secured inside the dresser drawer which made it difficult to operate even when sitting down at the dresser. Our window opened to let in fresh air and offered a good view over tree tops to the other side of Grand Harbour so we only needed the air-conditioning at night (because the bed still had a winter weight doona on it).

The location of the hotel is good too. Built just outside the Fortified Walls of Valetta, it is easy walking to the city’s shopping, restaurants and historical buildings. Wear comfortable shoes and prepare yourself for steep steps and cobblestone streets wherever you go.

It only cost a set price of €15 at 1.00am in the morning for the taxi ride from the airport to the hotel. However, a taxi to Vittoriosa cost us €20 compared to 96¢ (47¢ each) back to the hotel on the No 4 local bus. The island’s bus terminus is right next door, and the two hop-on-hop-off tourist bus services stop here as well (expect to hear the occasional friendly bus horn or two).

We enjoyed our simple dinner in the Brassiere as it was cooked to perfection despite the island wide electrical blackout at 7.45pm (just after we had ordered). The hotel has its own generator and the chefs carried on with little interruption. Lunch in the main restaurant on our final day unfortunately was a little disappointing in comparison. Cocktails may have been on the expensive side: just remember you are paying 5 star prices for the service and surroundings. However, coffee and pastries for breakfast in the Café were relatively inexpensive, fresh and delicious, so we never tried the full breakfast in the restaurant.

The business centre consisted of two PC’s for which we could have purchased either ½ hour or full hour use of. However, the reception staff kindly offered to do our online flight checkin for us during a quiet moment. We didn’t have time to try out the swimming pool or walk around the lovely gardens.

Overall, a highly recommended hotel for those wanting something elegant and peaceful close to historic Valletta or away from the tourist resorts.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McGAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2010

We planned a short break to Malta - our first without our kids for 15 years - in April. What should have been a four day break turned into an eight day break because of the Icelandic ash crisis. The hotel could not have been more helpful and informative. They reduced their rates drastically to help with our cash flow problems and made our extended stay in Malta much easier. The food and standard of cleanliness and helpfulness of all staff was excellent and we could not praise the hotel highly enough for their excellent service. All in all, the Phonecia is one of those rare hotels that manages to exude the five star standards of the best hotels in the world yet still manages to make its guests feel comfortable and at home. The beautiful gardens and the outdoor pool area added to the sense of luxury and we could happily have stayed longer had it not been for the worries of family and work. We will definitely be going back to Malta (one of the friendliest places in the worlds) and when we do, we will be booking in once again to the Phonecia. Thank you to all the staff for a wonderful stay. Angie and Matthew Moore

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angiemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich,Cheshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2010

Superb old fashioned style and service,a memorable experience - stay there !(request room with harbour view - well worth the extra)

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicholas40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2010

We only had a short honeymoon, 2 nights, but staying at The Phoenicia made it so special. We arrived in our room and there was a bottle of local champagne waiting for us! The staff are friendly, the breakfast was lovely and the location is perfect, just outside Valletta's walls and next to the bus terminus. I would definately recommend this hotel, and search the web for a good price (we paid around £60 per night through octopus travel).

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank italianjob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2010

I spend a great deal of the year in hotels for my job and the Phoenicia definetely ranks as the best of the best. What was so nice about it is (apart from the comfort) that the staff are so friendly and welcoming. None of the snootiness one sometimes encounters in great hotels. I can also highly recommend the masseuse. The gardens are beautiful too and the outdoor swimming pool is heated, so it was possible to have a swim in March. The hotel is very conveniently situated too.
The choice at breakfast is amazing. And when I mentioned I was a vegan, I was offered soya milk.
If you do go to Valletta, don't miss a visit to the Casa Rocca Piccola, a five minute walk from the hotel. It is a private mansion full of beautiful and interesting artifacts. We were taken round by the Marquess himself, who had a delightful sense of humour. Right next door is a lovely restaurant, serving 'slow food' at very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoannaPassepartout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,827 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,350 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,534 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#3 of 15 in Valletta
533 reviews
0.2 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#6 of 15 in Valletta
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenicia Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenicia Malta

Property: The Phoenicia Malta
Address: The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenicia Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star luxury in Malta’s historic Art Deco hotel. Hotel Phoenicia, one of the leading 5 star hotels in Malta, is located at the City Gates of Valletta, Malta’s capital city and UNESCO heritage city. Just 50 meters from city gate, it is perfectly placed for discovering the historic walled city, feasting on Caravaggio’s paintings and exploring the magnificent harbours. The hotel also boast magnificent 7 acre garden. The island's central bus terminus is just meters away civing the possibility to explore the whole island by bus. A stay at the Hotel Phoenicia is an unforgettable experience. Our charming staff will ensure your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Phoenicia Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Valletta
Phoenicia Hotel Malta
Hotel Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing