We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,539)
Filter reviews
2,539 results
Traveller rating
1,557
718
185
56
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,557
718
185
56
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub barthe palm courtphoenix restaurantinfinity poolthe busgrand old ladyold world charmpublic roomsmain restaurantelegant hotelcity gateold stylestar hotela harbour view roommain gatefourth floorbuilding work
Filter
Updating list...
1,935 - 1,940 of 2,539 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2010

The Phoenicia is an elegant, charming and comfortable hotel.

This is also reflected in the hotel staff who are also charming, efficient and appear to be proud of their work.and surroundings.

The hotel is quiet but busy and an ideal place to holiday, take a break and/or get married.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guy_wickham_brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2010

If you can afford it go for a harbour view room with a balcony. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to one.
Classy hotel in Floriana not Valletta but right at Valletta city entrance.
All you would expect from a five star with the plus of glorious gardens and outdoor pool area plus that harbour view! Fantastic dining at breakfast on terrace with that view again.
This has to be THE place to stay in Malta.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dominiesabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2010

Do you want to feel good about spending your hard earned money while on vacation in Malta? "Yes, of coarse". Then my wife and I would like to invite you to discover a diamond in the rough, the remarkable Phonecia Hotel, located just outside the gates to Valletta the Capital City.

From the time you walk through the highly polished brass revolving door, the staff welcomes you with smiles and a friendliness that makes you feel as though you have been there before. Every staff member you come into contact with appear to have been schooled on how to focus on you their guest. They genuinely want you to be satisfied at every level of service they are offering.

Yes, we could go on about the wonderful amenities, the fabulous view, the inviting garden area that leads you to the pool, the impeccable housekeeping, the excellent shower water pressure, the wonderful breakfasts, dinners and last but not least the fantastic burgers and cold, cold Cisk at pool side served with a genuine smile every time.

When we met the General Manager, Charlie Azzopardi who is a warm, friendly head of the hotel's family, you clearly realize that the smiles, the eagerness to serve didn't happen by mistake. The staff have such a high regard for this gentleman that they will do whatever it takes to ensure that your stay with them meets a standard that will satisfy your every expectation.

We have been back in Canada for four weeks and have had many conversations with friends and family about our experiences in Malta. What really stands out in our minds and reflected in our stories, is the fantastic TEAM the hotel's management has assembled.

You will ultimately ask yourself the question. "Would we want to go back to that spot"?

The answer is an unequivocally "Yes! of coarse".

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maltawellbeback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

Hotel in perfect location - main city and not the real touristy part. Plenty to see here. Our room was clean and comfortable but not yet refurbished like top two floors , still comfortable. Requested matress was changed due to its softness - not a problem staff helpful and polite. Guests invited to drinks reception with canopies - lovely! Breakfasts were super and plenty to choose from. A real Miss Marples old style hotel with excellent old style service difficult to find these days. Would return to stay there in a minute!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sembleleap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

I attended a wedding near Valletta. We looked at this hotel and the Xara Palace. We wanted a 5 star hotel with pool and character, not to big and commercial like the other places in St Julian’s. We were also with a 3 year old and 6montth old and 4 other couples (without kids). We could not find anything that worked (Xara had no pool and not that kid friendly). We booked the Phoenicia (Suite) our friends took the Harbour room views with balcony.

1. having read the reviews below we noted one comment that it was great in the 60's when the Queen E2 visited but needed some updating (very true) so we were pleasantly surprised. Its ok, nothing amazing. The staff were excellent and try. the Pool is very nice, with a great view of the harbour. The grounds are very pleasant. The hotel is also kid friendly in a subtle way [(though we were the only ones with kids) in that there is a special kids menus, play area in the grounds and a kids pool etc].

2. has a bit of an 80s/ 90s retro feel to it: crazy gold course, bedrooms have that a little bit of the 80s Laura Ashley feel and bathrooms fairly Spartan (we were in the modern wing).

3. The clients are manly old brit couples, but were with a group of friends and not in the hotel that much (save for the poll) so we were less sensitive to this issue. There were no package tours there and people generally respected the peace and quiet ambience.

4. the rooms are also ok 3/4star quality. The old wing (were a friend stayed) is like something from the 60s but very charmingly done. The new rooms were adequate (the old rooms actually had a lot more character) though the bathrooms might annoy some.

5. The food and wine was very good - very new resto downstairs which is in complete contrast tot he rest of the hotel - but sensible addition. Clearly upped there game there to attract non resident custom.

6. Breakfast buffet was not very good but expected. Nice to eat outside

7. Walk to the pool, along the ground floor shows lots of signs of plaster missing from the walls, carpet needs replacing. very poor, and has not been maintained. Again this is in small section of the hotel but should not happen; can imagine that being an issue for some

8 . For a 5 star place the massage room was a cupboard - joke. But the masseuse was very good. I can imagine this annoying a lot of people. i got over it but again this was part of the theme - not 5 star and missed out on the detail.

9. We booked harbour room views with balcony in the new building. only some of the rooms had balcony and some had views. No explanation: poor management.

10. They charge you for WIFI in the room even in the suite. The wifi that is free is super slow.

The pool and the grounds are the best thing and in summary despite the above I gave this place 4 star: We knew what we were getting, it wasn’t that expensive, rooms were ok, but we chilled by the pool and our kids enjoyed the gardens. In summary this is a 3/4 star hotel by most standards but don’t let that put you off. and some had views. No explanation: poor management.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N5beachcomber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews