We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,536)
Filter reviews
2,537 results
Traveller rating
1,556
717
185
56
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,556
717
185
56
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub barthe palm courtphoenix restaurantinfinity poolthe busgrand old ladyold world charmpublic roomsmain restaurantelegant hotelcity gateold stylestar hotela harbour view roommain gatefourth floorbuilding work
Filter
Updating list...
1,931 - 1,936 of 2,537 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2010

lovely stay, fab breakfast and very helpful staff.
We stayed a week and I always think its hard for a hotel to be good for a whole week but this one was.
Staff very helpful and knew for good places to eat too

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CRJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

After saving a sizeable amount of our hard-earned roubles by opting to fly as "human cargo" with Ryanair we thought we'd splash the cash we saved swanking it up at one of the better hotels in Valletta. (We had also got a good deal with the hotel price on t'internet)
You can't really beat this place for location, situated at the entrance of Valletta it means a short walk to the shops/bars/restaurants which are generally of the "chill out in the sunshine" variety. If you like to get out and about it is a 2 minute walk to the bus terminal which is a sight to behold. The transport is efficient considering the age of the vintage buses but get ready for a dose of white knuckles as " in accordance with the highway code" is not a phrase you're likely to hear on the financially agreeable public transport. If you like Alton Towers though you'll love it.
While we were there the 3rd and 4th floors were being / had been renovated but we were on the 2nd floor where our room, while clean and tidy, was a bit dated. Nothing major required other than a spruce up with a coat of paint. Air con was working thankfully as it was a bit sticky overnight.

Plus Points - Great Location, View From The Pool, Walk To The Pool through the gardens.
Minus Points - Dated Furnishings and most importantly BAR PRICES !
Now I'm not unfamiliar with hotels charging a bit more than bars but I'm not overly enthused about only getting a beer and a lemonade for a crisp 10 euro note.
That was a mistake I only made once.
Solution : Take 2 minutes of your time to wander over to the bus rank and pick up a few chilled cans of Cisk (Maltese Lager) and some lemonade. Get yourself a cool bag and conceal it under your sun lounger. There are better things in Malta to spend your money on so make the effort of being just a little bit naughty.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fonz73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

The Phoenicia is an elegant, charming and comfortable hotel.

This is also reflected in the hotel staff who are also charming, efficient and appear to be proud of their work.and surroundings.

The hotel is quiet but busy and an ideal place to holiday, take a break and/or get married.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guy_wickham_brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2010

If you can afford it go for a harbour view room with a balcony. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to one.
Classy hotel in Floriana not Valletta but right at Valletta city entrance.
All you would expect from a five star with the plus of glorious gardens and outdoor pool area plus that harbour view! Fantastic dining at breakfast on terrace with that view again.
This has to be THE place to stay in Malta.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dominiesabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2010

Do you want to feel good about spending your hard earned money while on vacation in Malta? "Yes, of coarse". Then my wife and I would like to invite you to discover a diamond in the rough, the remarkable Phonecia Hotel, located just outside the gates to Valletta the Capital City.

From the time you walk through the highly polished brass revolving door, the staff welcomes you with smiles and a friendliness that makes you feel as though you have been there before. Every staff member you come into contact with appear to have been schooled on how to focus on you their guest. They genuinely want you to be satisfied at every level of service they are offering.

Yes, we could go on about the wonderful amenities, the fabulous view, the inviting garden area that leads you to the pool, the impeccable housekeeping, the excellent shower water pressure, the wonderful breakfasts, dinners and last but not least the fantastic burgers and cold, cold Cisk at pool side served with a genuine smile every time.

When we met the General Manager, Charlie Azzopardi who is a warm, friendly head of the hotel's family, you clearly realize that the smiles, the eagerness to serve didn't happen by mistake. The staff have such a high regard for this gentleman that they will do whatever it takes to ensure that your stay with them meets a standard that will satisfy your every expectation.

We have been back in Canada for four weeks and have had many conversations with friends and family about our experiences in Malta. What really stands out in our minds and reflected in our stories, is the fantastic TEAM the hotel's management has assembled.

You will ultimately ask yourself the question. "Would we want to go back to that spot"?

The answer is an unequivocally "Yes! of coarse".

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maltawellbeback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews